We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“City Centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amister Apartments Barcelona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Amister Apartments Barcelona to your Saves list
Amister Apartments Barcelona
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Pelai 11, 08001 Barcelona, Spain (El Raval)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 706 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“City Centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great place to stay; quiet even during rush hour. Always felt secure; day or night. Super easy from the airport and return, 10E on the TI/T2 airport buses; we walked with 4 suitcases from the bus drop. Just on the edge of the old city, 1 minute to La Rambla and Placa de Catalunya. 5-10 mins to two grocery stores. Good kitchen, washer and dishwasher(yahoo). Room safe, good staff and free WiFi. The price is right for any city centre worldwide. Not luxurious, but we really liked it. Bed, although new and spotless, could use a bit of an upgrade.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    44
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
56
13
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed at Amister Apartments 11th-16th Feb with my husband and two young children.

They apartment was clean and well furnished and had everything we needed for our stay including tv, cooker, washing machine, dishwasher, iron, microwave etc.

Free wifi was great.

The location was great, five mins from the top of La Rambla and surrounded by restaurants and shops.

The staff were lovely. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed in the apartments Amister with my family in late August. The apartments have an excellent location, two blocks from Plaza de Catalunya and the Ramblas beginning. Despite this proximity does not go into the apartment the noise from the busy area. There is a Metro stop and the MACBA Hop On-Hop Off stop in the corner of the building. All employees were very available to help, just a mail with what we want and they did the best possible to reply with advice or suggestions. They helped me in later transfer from the airport to the apartment. The wi-fi network worked reasonably well. I had no problems connecting.
Two good places to eat within a distance of 50 m: Vienna Restaurant for breakfast and snacks, Calle Pelai, 16 and the restaurant Xaica, c / Jovellanos where you can eat good honest price for a typical Spanish food. The best warm welcome that you can find. Overall was a very nice experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

When I first walked in through a barred door and went up an old-style elevator, I didn't know what to expect. But soon I realized that Carme, the lady who sits at the front desk, made all the difference for my family's stay. This place is not a hotel, as the name indicates, but Carme helped us to make reservations at the restaurants, gave us directions to various places by marking the map, printed the walking directions, and called the taxi for us..etc. The apartments are spacious and clean. The kitchen is very functional. We were able to walk every where from the apartment.
As long as you don't expect a hotel with a restaurant/gym in the property, it should be a very fine place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Just returned to the UK after a very pleasant three night stay in Barcelona (our first time there). Arrived late afternoon, having had an email before our departure advising us of the reception hours, and what to do if we wanted to check in outside those hours. Very pleasant, friendly and helpful staff on reception. Able to advise us on getting around the city, able to make restaurant reservations for us etc. We were just as pleased with the apartment itself. Plenty of room for the four of us (including our 11 and 8 year old boys). Clean, comfortable and modern, all the appliances you would need, plus free wifi. The best feature however, is the location - less than five minutes from La Ramblas and Catalunya Square, and a ten minute walk to the main line train station to the airport. Highly recommended.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
???
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We have been in amister apartment for 5 days and our recommendation is –" don't go to amister apartment hotel.
If you'll come to Barcelona for just one day, you'll enjoy the hotel : : it is very close to placa catalunya , the apartment is very large and well-equipped.

Just keep in mind that if you arrive at the hotel between the hours of 14:00 to 4:00 p.m. or 19:00-0930 no one will be at the reception and you'll need to go to the hotel Amistr at Avenue Rome. As they return you to the hotel in a taxi at their own expense, but you spend a lot of time.
If you think you will enjoy the comfort of the apartment and the luxuries of hotel by paying a lot of money – the price is not cheap (we paid 176 euros per night) you better look for another hotel.

If you want to work during your vacation, you should go to the amister apartment hotel. No one cleans the dishes – use the dishwasher ,nobody arrange the bed,, nobody is changing linens and towels. For this - use the washing machine. Despite the fact that we paid 36 euros for cleaning (for 5 days).
I found out that the money was to pay for the cleaning after we leave the hotel.
We couldn't find a solution what to do with the garbage - the cleaning lady doesn't, empty the trash can every day.( only twice during our stay) It says in the hotel : " do not leave trash bags in the landings or in the entrance" so' what we should do with it? Through it from the window?
When I spoke to the lady receptionist , her answer was : in every appartment hotel in spain - each cleans for itself.
After angry e-mail I got answer that they add to the official website of the hotel
about self cleaning....
In short - there are many hotels nearby, maybe even cheaper and certainly give a much better service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Nice clean apartments in a great location. When you land in the Barcelona Airport take the Bus which goes to Place la Cataluniya which is €5.65 per person and you are 5 minute walk to the apartment, it is that center location. The Tourist buses stop at the end of the road from the apartments which was handy. Due to this central location all the other faults can be tolerated as you can walk into the apartment in the night after a good Sangria and need not worry about the transport back.

The downside is the entrance to the apartments which smells awful, linens were not changed and it is not staffed the whole day. This apartment is for people who do not want to stay there, but in the night for sleep and leave it in the morning to visit the city.

Room Tip: Ask for room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amister Apartments Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amister Apartments Barcelona

Address: Pelai 11, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 706 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amister Apartments Barcelona 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Amister Apartments Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amister Apartments Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Amister Apartments Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amister Apartments Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.