We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where someone would go if it was the only place open..” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sichuan

Sichuan
Benedicto Mateo 48-50, 08034 Barcelona, Spain
93 203 6048
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,455 of 6,678 Restaurants in Barcelona
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Where someone would go if it was the only place open..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

by looking at the reviwws on Tripadvisor, my wife and i decided to try this place. The atomosphere was a typical chinese estabilshment you would find in outter suburbs. So we ordered number of menus from fish, meat,dumplibgs, etc. Firstly the dumplings were frozen supermarket food so i asked the staff that it stunk and he just took it away with a frown on his face but no response. The chicken was stale and vegetable was just dumped into a gallen of garlic. Based on the high price the owner could have used fresh ingridient.. A very disappointing place and how i find some of the bloggers saying that this place ia good. It was a waste of time and money.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sichuan_ES, Gerente at Sichuan, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear clients we are very sorry that you didn´t like our food.
We can assure you that all the dumplings are homemadeand that we use fresh meats and vegetables for our dishes and if there is any problem we try to exchange the dish. We ground our garlic twice everyday and the chinese vegetables sauteed with garlic do use a lot of it.

Our english speaking waitress had to take a few days off because of an illness and there seems to have been a miscommunication problem with our staff so we are deeply sorry.

Please come back anytime and we will try to make it right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    12
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Try the Beijing duck!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

It looks like the ordinary Chinese restaurant offering average food in an awfully decorated environment. Well, the decoration is what you would expect, but food is very good and at highly affordable prices (i.e. à la carte meal below 25 € and week-days set menu at 10 €). Try the Beijing duck!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

delicious and abundant. big portions, cooked in a tasty way. different from the usual chinese. good quality/price and a nice location.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Extremely tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We moved to Spain over a year ago and the one thing we have missed since moving has been quality Asian food. Where we lived we were spoilt for choice. We've tried many places in Barcelona and have been disappointed. Well, NO MORE! This restaurant is excellent, ironically situated 200m from where my wife used to live. Their service is excellent, answering multiple questions as our children grilled them on the menu. The value is superb. All food was freshly prepared, the staff very chatty and helping our girls with their spoken Chinese. We had the menu for 2 which was presented well, extremely tasty and way more than enough for 2. Our girls had duck and plain rice which they devoured. Finding good Asian food is difficult in Spain, this place is tremendous. No overloading of salt and everything piping hot. HIghly recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“want some Chinese? Yes please!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

One of the best chinese i've had!
we had it take away, since the interior was bit heavy for us but it does not change a thing cause the potato noodles with those mushrooms uuuw -wii!!! and chicken and shrimp chips as the starter(they gave them for free)......
when i am going to Barca i am definitely going to Si-Chuan cause the menu is pretty big and i need to try those other dishes!
it's not the cheapest option for budget travelers but if you love food...
so far - recommended !

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sichuan also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Sichuan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sichuan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.