We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Del Mar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Del Mar to your Saves list
Hotel Del Mar
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza Palacio 19, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (Sant Pere - Santa Caterina i la Ribera)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #325 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This hotel was in a perfect location, I stayed for 4 nights and saw all of the sights that I wanted to see without getting public transport once! Rooms are small fairly clean and fairly modern however beds weren't to comfortable and the Staff on reception were rude and not very helpful. Make sure you request a roof terrace because we had a great view and it was a perfect sun trap! this doesn't cost extra either. The hotel was less than a 10 min walk to the gothic quarter and to the beach best of both worlds! would highly recommend just for the pure fact that the location was Brilliant. Great food and bars near by the port with great views and had a nice feel to it. Great for the price! had brill holiday!

Room Tip: Request a roof terrace room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    109
    50
    14
    7
See reviews for
29
102
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Clean, relatively new rooms. Modest but tasty breakfast.
Ideal location - 1 minute walk to the subway, 5 minutes to the beach, 5 minutes from the Rambla. Located right at the cute Born district, which is full of restaurants, cosy cafes and shops. Wandering here is much more pleasant than walking around Las Ramblas' crowd. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Very pleasant city centre hotel. Set in a lovely square on the edge on the Gothic quarters and two minute walk from the marina. The location gives easy access to all of the main attractions in the old town area of Barcelona. Barcelonetta Metro is two minutes away. We requested a room on the fourth floor as these rooms have their own private terrace with views either across the town or the marina. I'd would stay here again for sure. No English speaking TV channels, but we were not bothered about that. We read several people stating that the felt threatened after dark in the Gothic quarter, we spent every night of our 5 night stay in the Gothic Quarter and never felt threatened at all, we may have just been lucky!

Room Tip: Request a fourth floor room, these have their own terrace with table and chairs. Nice views across t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

My husband requested a room with a balcony, it had a very nice view of the area. I wish we would have had more time to use it. Everything in the room was clean and the room was renovated and nice. My only complaint was that, even though there was an abundance of food for breakfast, it was not fresh. It was obvious that the food that the food had either been reheated or out for too long.
The location is great, walking distance to many restaurants, shops, and to the marina.

Room Tip: Corner room has a huge balcony, with awesome view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I've stayed in this hotel at three different ocations, 2009 and 2010x2. Every time we've stayed on the top floor( level 4) where most rooms have a large roof terrace with a great view of the citys coastal quarters. You should definitlybtry to get one of theese rooms.

The hotel is conveniently located at the big harbour plaza close to the water. This way you can easily access the beach, Barceloneta, and the old town, Barre Gothic where a lot of nice restaurants and bars are located. This hotel is great for holidays with a lot of beaching and siteseeing. The Hop-on Hop-Off buses stop right outside the hotel.

Service: ok, but no more. I've found he staff a little bit quiet...
Breakfast: ok, but nothing out of the ordinary.

Location: this is where this hotel shines! At least from a tourist perspective.

No bar in the hotel.

I would use this hotel for my next stay once again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We enjoyed our two night stay at the Del Mar. The location in Barcolenetta area was convenient for transport, had a nice outlook and proximity to beach and marina. Our room was spacious, clean, and suitably appointed. It was clean and reasonably priced, and the staff were friendly and helpful. The included buffet breakfast was also very good. There were a huge number of nearby restaurants and bars to choose from.

Room Tip: An upper level terrace view room (preferably with outlook to the marina or adjacent square) would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I and my wife have 7 weeks holiday per year and we travel a lot all around the world.
I can say that this was the worst hotel experience I have ever had.
It was totally a rip off.
I always book my hotel after reading many reviews and make sure that hotel is perfectly located according to my requirements.

I booked my flight for a 48 hours weekend trip from Amsterdam to Barcelona. Then started looking for hotels.
I wanted to stay somewhere between the beach (Barcelonette) and Gothic District with walking distance to these areas.
I made my search accordingly on the map and found out Hotel Del Mar, read reviews on web and checked the agency sites to make the booking.
As all frequent travelers now different agencies may give different prices for the same hotel, I made my search and booked the hotel for two nights between 12 - 14 July 2013 (Friday and Saturday nights)

As an experienced traveler I also contacted with the hotel via mail to confirm my booking for not having any overbooking surprise at check in.
When you make booking with an agency better to double check with hotel to avoid surprises.

I informed the hotel about my late flight on 12/07/2013 Friday night and I told them that I will check in late around 10:00 PM to make sure they keep my room ready.
I had the mail exchange 2 days before my arrival date.
They did not mention about system problem and just replied they will note it.
If there was a real system problem they would reply me that they do not see my reservations in their system and they do not have available room for me but they did not.

On 12/07/2013 Friday evening around 22:00 I reached hotel and asked to check in.
The young guy at the reception started telling about the failure in their system in the last day and they were unable to arrange my room because there is overbooking.
I told about the mail exchange we had two days ago and told them why they did not inform before.
The guy had no clue about my mail exchange.
I asked for Hotel Manager to speak someone with authority, managed to get the manager after waiting 10 minutes.
They offered me another hotel which was far away from the beach comparing to Hotel Del Mar.
I knew that I had no chance to find another hotel at this time in Barcelona so I did not have a chance.
I asked compensation from the hotel for their failure.
Hotels creating such problem make gesture to client to avoid dissatisfaction and this is common fact in the tourism business.
The manager first told they will pay for the taxi from Hotel Del Mar to the other hotel and this will be their gesture.
I thought he was kidding and my tension raised more.
Actually I wanted for them to pay at least one night fee for their failure to cover unpleasant situation.
I responded them very dissapointed about their offer and asked for more for make it up.
They offered me the taxi ride to the other hotel (6 eur fee) cover city tax(2,5 eur each per person), and free wifi access during my stay. (used wifi for 1 hour and cost 2 eur)
After half an hour discussion with high tension I gave up with huge disappointment and asked them to call a cab to go to the other hotel they arranged.

It is the most annoying thing for me to stay hotel where I did not search, decide and book myself.
The hotel I relocated was closedby but it was one of the oldest hotel I have ever stayed.
The furniture in the room was coming from 70s & 80s, rooms was very small. Sound isolation was disaster.
Location was more far away from the beach comparing to Hotel Del Mar.
It was just next to Metro station entry and I woke up around 6-7 am in the morning because of the noise coming from outside.
The sound isolation was awful and I could hear anything coming from outside.
I can not pass without mentioning about it. Saturday and Sunday morning we woke up around 6-7 in the morning and could not sleep more.
Because there was 40-50 people group outside next to metro entry and our hotel and they kept signing with guitar, probably had their after party there and waiting metro to open.

In summary I could not sleep in the hotel I got relocated, I could not stay in the hotel which I specifically selected for its location.

I simply got ripped of even I had mail exchanges with hotel just after booking to double check my booking.

I believe the hotel sold my room to someone they can get more money at the day I was checking in late.

If there is a system problem why did not you inform me two days ago when I sent you my reservation mail.
There is no sensible explanation for the situation.

I paid 1000 eur for 48 hours Barcelona trip including flight hotel etc.
Just wanted to have a good time with my wife.

But Hotel Del Mar messed up my holiday.

Awful hotel management I have ever seen.

Thanks to them, I will never forget this experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Del Mar

Address: Plaza Palacio 19, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Sant Pere - Santa Caterina i la Ribera
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #325 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Del Mar 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Mar Hotel
Del Mar Barcelona
Hotel Del Mar Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.