We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel but pool area disappointing ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelona Princess

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelona Princess to your Saves list
Barcelona Princess
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Diagonal Avenue 1-3 | 50 , Eters From the Beach and in Front of the Convention Centre, 8019 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel but pool area disappointing ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed for one night post cruise and overall excellent stay.

Reception and concierge extremely helpful and rooms spotless and differently nice.

The only negative is that the pools - both of them - seemed to get no sun in the afternoon.

In summary, would really recommend this hotel for a city break but, if you are looking for a bit of sunbathing in-between sight seeing, it's not for you.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    863
    770
    205
    66
    38
See reviews for
162
928
68
335
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I recently stayed here during April with my girlfriend along with my parents in two double rooms. I was greatly satisfied with the stay. The location is excellent. It may seem slightly outside of the city but there is a tourist bus stop right at the door along with trams and a subway 2 mins away. It is situated right beside the main shopping centre in a nice rejuvenated area. The agbar building is not too far away. We stayed on a high floor with great views of the ocean while sagrada can be seen from the other side. Neither pools are suitable for length swimming but are a nice addition with style. Rooms are spacious and modern. The showers are also high powered. Beds are comfortable while there is plenty of space and as I mentioned a great view from above. The staff are extremely helpful and the breakfast was to a high standard with plenty of variety. It is a little over priced but we were upgraded to free breakfast which was a nice touch. Cleaning staff are thorough and extremely quick. Room in great condition every day with a new gift bag with toiletries. Door man and concierge are also very helpful. Ask for a high floor if staying here and it really is a great location in a great city.

Room Tip: the higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

My partner brought me here for a birthday treat and Barcelona is beautiful but look at other hotels before you settle for second best (the princess hotel) my partner asked for a double bed we got two singles pushed together which kept moving while we slept.my partner informed the staff at the hotel it would be my birthday abd could they arrange something for him they declined to help, but Raul the waiter on floor 3 saved the day and got me a tealight candle and a chocolate cake which was very sweet and rounded the evening off.Thank you Raul.One of the hotel staff made eye contact and smiled the whole 4 days we were there and the was the concierge.I would come to Barcelona again but not this hotel.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A number of my colleagues and I were attending an event at the CCIB. We made a group reservation with differing arrivals and departures and there was some confusion on my arrival which was quickly resolved (to my benefit as I received room upgrade). My room was very generous, clean, modern and comfortable. The free WiFi was flawless and the minibar is stocked with an assortment of free drinks. I didn't sample the breakfast (coffee and pastries were available at the conference) but did enjoy a nice lunch at the hotel restaurant. The hotel is very close to the convention center (walk around the corner, cross the street and you are on the walkway to the main entrance) and the price was reasonable for such a convenient conference venue. I had a lost passport scare and the bellman was genuinely concerned and very helpful - so I left with nothing but pleasant memories of my stay at the Princess.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Hotel is about 10 min drive from city centre but close to the beaches.

Overall had a good stay but nothing out of this world. The lobby is like a budget hotel and the bar is incredibly small for the size of the hotel.

The room was lovely in terms of design and the view of the sea was good, there were nice touches like electric blinds and the bed was comfortable. The ensuite was all about design and the view made it almost open with a glass wall however it meant the wc cublcle and shower were small small indeed, so they clearly went for design over practicality.

There were some touches such as slippers but the toiliteries were minimal with cheap shower gel and shampoo.

Breakfast I thought was fairly average to poor. For this type of hotel there is nothing wrong with self service but they could atleast deliver coffee instead, even the coffee was from a machine and the quality I thought was poor. The fruit and bakery choices were fairly good but overall I thought it was a mass market average experience that personally I wouldn't choose to repeat anytime soon.

I think the worst part of the princess was the service, no one seemed that happy and this came across in the attitude from one or two people on the front desk to housekeeping. This hotel is basically a beach and conference hotel but they have no ironing boards or irons in the rooms so if you want to iron a shirt you have to ring laundry for them to press the item and charge something like 8 euros. I rang at 3pm and said I needed a shirt pressing but I was going out but could I have it back by 5pm. A fairly grumpy woman basically yes and would send someone up and to leave the shirt on the bed which I did. I came back at 5 to find that someone had come up but instead of pressing the shirt they had just left it with a sheet to fill in and sign. I then had about 40mins to get it rectified. but I couldn't believe someone had come up and just left it. I eventually got it pressed just in time but it came over fairly badly if the woman I had spoken to had told me to fill the form I would have done but she didn't instead someone had just left it.

Overall ok hotel, clean but I wouldn't choose to come back unless I had a business meeting which required me to stay here. I suspect there are better hotels in Barcelona.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel is HUGE, has very spacious rooms, and great value for money! Try their massage service! I went for it as I was coming from Paris via night train & was in great need for a massage & it did NOT disappoint! The location is amazing, close to a mall & metro station!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for 1 week during Mobile World Congress. Room was fine albeit a bit worn down in need of a refresh for sure. Some observations:

1. Ceilings painted black and no real overhead lighting meant room was a bit dark
2. Lots of buttons to do various things (raise/lower curtains etc) not self explanatory not labeled...one button to raise another switch to lower.
3. TV was postage stamp sized and very high up on the wall.
4. No AC and window would not open...had to call Front Desk to open...and repeat everyday as housekeeping shuts the window (and wont re-open unless ordered by front desk due to "security" issues.

Breakfast included in the rate was good coffee was not so good.

Location is convenient to metro and a mall with some decent dining options.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelona Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona Princess

Address: Diagonal Avenue 1-3 | 50 , Eters From the Beach and in Front of the Convention Centre, 8019 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#7 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#73 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#73 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#77 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#105 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelona Princess 4*
Number of rooms: 363
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 4-star hotel located in the Forum area only at 50 meters from the beach. On the 1st of Diagonal Avenue directly across from the CCIB (International Convention Centre of Barcelona) and Diagonal Mar Mall. Excellent public transport options to the city centre, just 20 minutes by metro, Tram or bus, all just 5 minutes walk from the hotel. There is also a Barcelona Touristic Bus stop behind the hotel, you can purchase tickets at the reception and start the tour on the Green Line. Spacious facilities with free access for all guests. Its modern Business Centre with computer use, Internet access and complimentary printing. Two heated outdoor pools, one on the 3rd floor next to the solarium, gym, sauna and massage room available to the customer (massages at extra cost). The other pool is on the 23rd floor with wonderful views over the Mediterranean Sea. In the rooms, modern and comfortable, there are free services such as WIFI and Mini Bar; you can also enjoy spectacular views of Barcelona and the Mediterranean at your feet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Barcelona Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Princess Hotel Barcelona
Princess Hotel Barcelona
Barcelona Princess Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelona Princess, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.