We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice hideaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Denit Barcelona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Denit Barcelona to your Saves list
Hotel Denit Barcelona
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Estruc 24 - 26, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“a nice hideaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

superb little hideaway hotel, location down a quiet little street may make you feel a little put off booking this hotel, i would say not to worry as there is plenty of street lighting, for what you pay do not exspect the ritz but i found to be very good value for money, and most important i felt at home and relaxed

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    483
    102
    20
    8
See reviews for
149
633
69
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

In early November we stayed at Hotel Denit for only 1 night before a cruise. We arrived mid-morning from our US flight, and waited about an hour until they had our room ready. We were very grateful to be able to take a nap after the overnight flight. The young lady at the front desk spoke excellent English, was very friendly and accommodating.
We loved the location of this hotel! It was in sort of an alley--no traffic and the street dead-ended into a busier street full of shops and places to eat. We especially wanted to visit the Palau de Musica Catalanya--it was just a few blocks walk away. (BTW this is not to be missed--gorgeous stained glass everywhere. Take the tour)
The Denit looks very old outside, and very clean/modern inside. All white decor. The medium room was larger than some European rooms we have stayed in--very adequate for the 2 of us--it had a window overlooking the street. The shower was wonderful--one of those “rain” showers from the ceiling--I had to use it twice--it felt so good. The bed and pillows were comfortable.
The location couldn’t be better if you like to wander the little streets of the Gotic area. The price was excellent.

Room Tip: Our street-view room was fine--no noise since the street had no traffic, and only a couple of busine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Just returned from a 4 night stay at this hotel.After reading all the good comments about this hotel on Trip ad,we decided on this.we booked through a travel firm,and was given a choice off small,medium,or large room.We booked a medium room ,as we thought this would be adequate. We checked in,a very nice friendly lady. When we opened the door to our room I was shocked at the size!! It was like a box,to me a small single with a small double bed. I looked out of the window,and whilst I did not expect a panoramic view in the centre of Barcelona,I did not expect to look at dirty dirty covers over balconies,and dirty washing!!
I went to reception to ask if all medium rooms were so small.,and was told our room was an economy room . On our booking form it said double medium room,no mention of economy.The young man at the desk showed me on the hotels web site,that all details were there. Well we did not book privately,so had no knowledge of this.When i mentioned our view,I was told,"well we are in the dirty part of Barcelona"!
I felt quite upset,and told him ,I was disappointed as we had booked for 4 nights.This was our first time in Barcelona.
The facilities in the room were basic,modern,and good.Also very clean.The bed was comfortable,and soft pillows.Unfortunately for us because the bed was so small,in our case uncomfortable!
Breakfast was good,also good coffee(nespresso machine).
The hotel is in a very good location.Convenient for everything,shops,bars ect. Aerobus stop,only minutes away.Also not far from the old quarter.The Cathedral there is beautiful,also at the moment a Christmas market.You can visit the other famous Cathedral.,but be prepared to queue,or book over internet. The big park is also nice.Take bus no 24.It takes about 40 mins to get there. The cable car down by the harbour is good.it goes across to a restaurant.There you have fantastic views of the city. 11 euros one way.Food market half way down Las Ramblas ,on the right hand side. Very interesting.

Room Tip: make sure to book a large room,as the rooms are small in size
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordi E, Manager at Hotel Denit Barcelona, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Mr. / Mrs. PollySwitzerland,

We would like, first of all, thank you for having posted on TripAdvisor your experience at Denit Hotel and also for giving some good tips and directions.

Thank you for your nice comments about the staff upon check in, room facilities and design, breakfast and hotel location.

If I have understood well, you didn´t know the room size before reserving. I kindly ask you to send me an e-mail to rooms@denit.com. If you could tell me the name of the travel agency would be helpul, just to make sure they have the correct information regarding room squared meters.

Regarding the comment about the Gotic quarter, appologize, what he meant is that we are located in the old part of Barcelona.

Thank you again and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in a future occasion.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Super Hotel, clean, friendly staff, good continental breakfast, very comfortable 4 day stay and perfect location. We would recommend this hotel. Our room was an XL and was plenty big enough for us. We used the bus from the airport and then purchased a T10 travel ticket from the metro and used this for the buses, lots less walking than the metro. This was our 9th visit to Barcelona and our first at the Denit. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: requested a quiet room at the rear of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordi E, Manager at Hotel Denit Barcelona, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Mrs. BristolAna,

Firstly, thank you very much for taking your time to leave a review about the Denit. It is much appreciated.

It is a pleasure for us to know that you enjoyed your stay and you liked the hotel, its location and service.

As you said, it´s a wise idea to buy a T10 pass for metro and buses, as it´s less expensive than buying a journey each time.

Hope to welcome you again in future occassion.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Great location right in central Barcelona but off the main street. Very clean rooms and helpful staff. I would stay here again it is close to the metro or within walking distance for many sites and sounds of the city

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordi E, Manager at Hotel Denit Barcelona, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Mr. / Mrs. 483vacationer,

Thank you very much for having shared your opinion about Denit Hotel with us and the rest of TripAdvisor members.

We are glad that you thought the hotel is well located, the service is good and the rooms are clean.

Thank you again and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed here both before and after our Mediterranean cruise. We loved it and would stay here again in a heartbeat. The location is ideal for a tourist visit, the hotel was spotless, the staff was very friendly and accomodating, the included breakfast was perfect for us, free wi-fi is a must for us, and the price was right. They also have a small bag room where we could drop our luggage before and after getting on/off the ship while we toured the city and waited for our room to be ready, a very nice plus for those on a cruise. We had rooms on both the front and back of the building and both were quiet at night.

Having said that I know that some Americans might not be as happy here as we were for the following reasons: (1) the rooms are on the small side, we had a large and it was still smaller than a typical American motel room. (2) The decor is very modern, stark white and simple. Think IKEA here. We like it, but not everyone does. (3) The bathroom is only separated from the rest of the room by a glass door. There is definitely less privacy in that regard than a typical American motel room. (4) Only a couple of English language channels on the TV, all news shows. (5) Wonderful European style breakfast with meat and cheese, pastries, fruit, yogurt, coffee and juices. I suspect this is typical or better than most included breakfasts in Barcelona, but be aware if that isn't what you like for breakfast.

As I stated above, we were thrilled with our stay and would love to go back to Barcelona and the Hotel Denit tomorrow, but if any of the above things are issues for you, then you might want to shop around more.

Room Tip: We found our large sized room big enough for the two of us, but wouldn't have wanted a smaller r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordi E, Manager at Hotel Denit Barcelona, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Mr. JimDP,

Thank you very much for having taken your time to write such an accurate and detailed review about Denit Hotel. We are so impresed and really appreciate it, so thank you again.

We are glad that you chose staying at Denit two times, before and after your cruise, and that you liked our breakfast, hotel location and service.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kindest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Hotel Denit is a fantastic place to stay in Barcelona which I would highly recommend.
Firstly, the location of Hotel Denit is great - nearby to the bustling Ramblas but on a pedestrian only side street so it's not noisy at night.
The room we stayed in was spacious, clean and quiet. The bed was massive and comfy, and the walk in shower was great.
But the staff are what made Hotel Denit a real winner. They were always happy to help and spoke great English - this was really helpful as my Spanish is terrible! They went the extra mile to ensure we had a happy stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordi E, Manager at Hotel Denit Barcelona, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Mrs. SophieLou4,

Firstly, thank you very much for taking your time to write a review and share your opinion with us and all the TripAdvisor members.

We are glad to know that you liked the hotel and you had a pleasant stay. Thank you also for you nice comments about the staff.

We hope to welcome you in the future if you ever come back to Barcelona.

Kindest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Denit Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Denit Barcelona

Address: Estruc 24 - 26, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#86 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Denit Barcelona 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Denit Barcelona is located in the heart of the city; in the Gothic quarter and close to Plaza Cataluna and Las Ramblas. It is a hotel ready to offer a new concept in terms of functionality, simplicity, privacy and spontaneity. Designed to offer utmost comfort, our 36 rooms are modern, functional and provide a range of services such as a bar & coffee shop open 24 hours, free Wi-Fi internet connection, iPod dock station and plasma T.V sets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Denit Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Denit Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Denit Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.