We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tourist trap... 10 bread rolls= 40 Euros” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Can Costa

Can Costa
Passeig Joan de Borbo, 70, 08003 Barcelona, Spain (La Barceloneta)
+34 932 21 59 03
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4,233 of 6,425 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $31 - $61
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: La Barceloneta
Description: Can Costa history dates back to the end of the 20s. Now, almost 100 years later, still owned by the same family run by the fourth generation. Our cooking is, at present, like the one made in the "merendero": Our cooking is plain, tasty and of great quality, with fresh products that we daily select. The restaurant, of Mediterranean atmosphere, full of light and cosy, has in the centre a big window facing the kitchen to watch us work the food for the dishes on the menu. The restaurant is divided in two floors, which allows to hold private meals, business meals or family events, always keeping enough privacy.
Kairo
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Tourist trap... 10 bread rolls= 40 Euros”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

We went as a group of 20 to have to have dinner. The paella had hardly any some seafood in it and was burned as well. The bread we ordered turned out to be the biggest item on our bill. For 20 pieces of bread we had to pay 40 Euros. The side order of chips comes in at 6,48 Euro which is only a few cents cheaper than the tiny escalope which comes with a very limited number of fries. Please do not spend your money here.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    22
    14
    15
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
columbia SC
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Tourist trap - huge waste of money - $5 + for butter we didn't order, really???”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

We went to this restaurant near the beach on the advice of a Frommer's guide (08).   Boy, do we wish we hadn't.  With so many great restaurants in Barcelona, the opportunity cost was huge, in addition to wasting $80 at lunch.  The Frommer's recommended seafood paella ... It was dried out, with very little seafood of any type.  Despite the already high price for a prix fixe lunch, which didn't by the way, include dessert ... We asked for bread and they brought two rolls, charged us an extra dollar a piece - ok, but then, there was a four euro additional charge on our bill for something called "various".  We asked about it, and they had charged us for butter!!!   This wasn't at breakfast and we didn't order it.  Rip-off artists.  Talk about leaving a bad taste in our mouths!!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbao, Spain
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Skip it!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011 via mobile

I was by myself, quite hungry and with not much time to go for a great restaurant so I opted for a set weekday menu: Fried little fish, mussels marinière and paella. The fried fish was ok, the mussels were plain steamed mussels (not very well cleaned) and the paella... good taste but undercooked rice. Not nice. My parents have a summer house in Valencia so I've had many good paellas before to compare.

The waiters looked very stressed and not willing to spend much time with the customers. I witnessed a couple from India ordering their food and the waiter took no time to explain or suggest their best dishes. Then they ordered chili flakes to add to their vegetarian paella and they got a bottle of Tabasco. Ouch! I thought the waiter was going to lose it when they ordered a bottle of ketchup!
My suggestion is cross the road and go to the pricier "Barceloneta" with better food and service.
Bon profit!

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Worst dining experience ever!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011 via mobile

I'm not well versed in Spanish cuisine but I certainly know when I am getting cheap, pre-cooked, and poorly prepared food and service. We had the worst Paella ever, and mussels that tasted like they were cooked in campbells tomato soup. The seafood and chicken had not been cooked with the Paella either and was extremely dry. Service was terrible, and the waiter could not be bothered to say more that 2 word sentences to us. Also they serve sangria from a tetra pack, and charge 19 euro for it! Our bill ende up costing the same as our fine dining and delicious experience the previous night, and we were so disgusted we refused to even have desert there. Save yourself the money and don't bother.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Bad overpriced food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Location is probably the only good thing to say about this restaurant. Our 10 dishes ranged from bad to mediocre, and all were extremely overpriced. We were left with a bad feeling after eating at Can Costa. Wouldn't go again, and wouldn't recommend this to anybody. Too bad their location will inevitably keep attracting tourists in Barceloneta.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Can Costa also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Can Costa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Can Costa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.