We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Taste delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Montiel

Restaurant Montiel
C/ Flassaders 19, 08003 Barcelona, Spain (El Born / La Ribera)
+34 932 68 37 29
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 6,910 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $59 - $76
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: El Born / La Ribera
Description: Local food. Fresh ingredients. Intimate.
Lincs.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Taste delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Visited during a trip to Barcelona due to reviews, very intimate dining experience, small restaurant with two tasting menus. We choose the €65 per head and were delighted with a multitude of dishes with a variety of ingredients all of them delicious.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,204
    229
    80
    39
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Gourmet without magic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

€65 gastronomic menu + €30 wine menu. Dishes were creative versions of traditional catalan food and based on local ingredients. Above average but without the touch. Wines were intersting and complementing dishes. The waiters were busy but friendly.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Dear visitors!

This is the best most fancy restaurant I've ever been to! First impression was very average but after they accepted my tight restrictions (could eat only fruit and veggie those times) they had my heart! They also excelled in their service, always told me about the food I was about to eat which btw. looked spectacularly - as in Barcelona everything is very atristic. I loved the ideas of their food and different tastes pairing. Unfortunatelly, I missed wine pairing because of my health issues but I bet it would made my already flawless evening much greater experience. Big thanks to Marcos and Jordini and the chef!!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halmstad, Sweden
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“A fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We booked the Montiel based on Trip advisor reviews and could not have been happier! The food was absolutely fantastic! We took the more extensive menu (€65) and were very satisfied with all the dishes. I have never tasted peas like that! Another favorite was the tunna tartar. The service was friendly and attentative and the setting nice and relaxed. We can warmly recommend the Montiel!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A generous and excellent place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Having eaten a lot of Tapas earlier in our trip, my wife and I wanted to have a 'special' meal before we left Barcelona. However, we didn't have the budget for an all out Michelin starfest so we opted for Montiel, which seemed like it would offer a great experience without breaking the bank.

We were the only people there that evening - a cold night in late February - so I guess it was natural for the staff to spend plenty of time with us. But even given this fact, we felt spoiled by their kindness and attention.

We opted for the 50 Euro tasting menu but we didn't want to have the full wine pairing each as we'd already had a drink before dinner. They kindly let us share a single wine pairing - saving us 30 Euros - but then gave us a lot more than our allocated 1/4 glass each per course!

The food was great. No misses and a couple of standout hits - the lamb in particular, as several others have noted. The wine was occasionally even better than the food, with interesting choices and lots of background provided on each one. We left wishing it were possible to buy several of them to take home (sadly is wasn't - they are from small winemakers that only work with this restaurant).

We really enjoyed our visit and would recommend Montiel to anyone. If you've already had a traditional Catalan meal and plenty of Tapas already in Barcelona, this is something special to add to your list.

Oh - and it's worth saying that Montiel is in a lovely part of the city - get there early and have a stroll around the local streets.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Montiel also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Restaurant Montiel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Montiel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.