We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous farm-to table!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Montiel

Restaurant Montiel
C/ Flassaders 19, 08003 Barcelona, Spain (El Born / La Ribera)
+34 932 68 37 29
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 6,673 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $59 - $76
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: El Born / La Ribera
Description: Local food. Fresh ingredients. Intimate.
New City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fabulous farm-to table!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Let me start by saying that my wife and I are "foodies" and love to scope out the top restaurants on our travels. That said, several of Barcelona's supposed finest are closed on Sunday and Monday, so we asked the concierge at our hotel, The W, for his recommendation for a Monday night. Montiel Restaurante, located in the "old city" section of Barcelona, proved to be one of our finest meals...anywhere! A tiny gem serving the freshest of ingredients--fish literally was delivered in wooden crates right thru the front door while we sat, and later wound up on our plates! The restaurant presents a choice of two different tasting menus, no a la carte. Every course, fully explained by our attentive, charming waiter/owner Marco, was a taste sensation! Very reasonably priced selection of wines (our 2009 Clos Martinet was drinking beautifully), though you can opt for the wine pairing as well. Marco even accompanied us around the corner and up the block to a point where we could find a cab--how's that for service?! Montiel is a true find, don't miss it! D. Slater, New City, NY

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,575 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,204
    231
    80
    39
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
la
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“best dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

food was prepared with care. presentation was immaculate. waiting staff was on top of it. every dish on the chef's pairing menu was excellent

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Taster menu and wine pairing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We travelled round Spain in June 2013 starting in Barcelona. We have visiting Barcelona a few times so have our favourite places to go to but also try out new places. We had the taster menu and wine pairing. I'd recommend having the wine pairing. The waiter was very friendly and explained each dish and wine. All the wines were from local vineyards. As we had the taster menu and wine pairing it did end up being quite pricey but worth it. Would go back if we go to Barcelona in the future.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Took Forever”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I would like to write a better review for this restaurant because the food was OK, everyone was super nice and we were not the easiest table. Unfortunately we had a group of picky eaters and a set menu may not have been the best choice. That being said it took 3 1/2 hours to eat dinner, so no matter what the menu we would have been frustrated. At times there were 30-40 minutes between courses, not acceptable, even in Spain. Really a lovely place, but go on a weekday when it is less busy so the service is better.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“SUPERB”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Three of us visited Montiel last Friday night...it had been highly recommended by a friend of mine in Barcelona. It really was fantastic. From the very start Marco and his team were top class. The wine selection by Marco was incredible [a white wine from the Priorat region famous for its reds]- so good we drank 2 bottles. The food was first class, 7 courses in total, ranging from Tuna Tartar to poached egg, red mullet and some exquisite baby lamb. Not cheap but good value and you would pay alot more for lesser meals in many famous restaurants. Montiel is a real star on the Barcelona map and I will be returning as soon as possible.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Montiel also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Restaurant Montiel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Montiel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.