We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Montiel

Restaurant Montiel
C/ Flassaders 19, 08003 Barcelona, Spain
+34 932 68 37 29
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 6,365 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $66 - $85
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Local food. Fresh ingredients. Intimate.
MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“A wonderful dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This was our choice for THE last meal in Barcelona; it had been recommended to us as being very good. We were so glad we went: it was great. You do need to book as its reputation is strong.

The welcome was our first indication that we had made a good choice - enthusiastic without being over-the-top. We were given plenty of information about the choices and chose the option of the tasting menu.

The food was marvellous- a very interesting array of local products cooked and presented to perfection and matched with lovely wine choices. The servers were well-informed and talked about the meals and the wines with knowledge and pride. Nevertheless, there was no suggestion of pretension and we felt the attention and interest was genuine.

I would recommend this restaurant whole-heartedly. It is in a charming area that deserves a good wander also.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,087
    214
    71
    35
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton on Tees
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous experience, well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We recently visited for a special birthday. I consider myself a foodie, and this was a great experience. We had the taster menu with wines,and all courses were fabulous. The restaurant was great in the way it allowed us to change to cater for our parties tastes. The service was fabulous, with each course and wine fully explained. Would definitely recommend. Great cocktail bar at the end of the street, mean Mojitos.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Travelers' Choice® 2012 Winner for a reason!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

as per title, Travelers' Choice® 2012 Winner! Even if the food didn`t take good at all, the service will make you forget everything. Went as a family of 4 with 2 toddlers and they were very accomodating with everything from expressing the dinner (tasting menu) and supplying the kids with paper and crayon(which possibly no other restaurant would do in barcelona) + supplying a high chair. Food wise is what others has rated on this page - fabulous and was accomodating again; on one of the dish (oyster) which I do not eat, they were able to change that to the Iberian Ham which I had a craving - liking during our stay. All in all, a must try!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Pig done right”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

On Trip Advisor, reviewers suggest asking for a table downstairs. We were sat upstairs and didn't see any problems. There was an air conditioning unit and we found it more secluded as you didn't constantly have the door opening and closing.

Montiel does pork right. In North America pork isn't a prevalent meat, but it is very much so in Spain. Our appetizer of cured Iberian ham was some of the best charcuterie I've tasted - paper thin sheets of briny ham that wasn't too dry. It had just the right amount of fat that melted in your mouth and coats your tongue with the most heavenly taste. I especially liked that it wasn't overly salty or waxy like some charcuteries often turn out.

My husband also got pork for his main. I had read Catalan cuisine includes great suckling pig so he ordered the "suckling pig service on the table with seasonal accompaniment". What we received was a leg of fall off the bone pork capped with a crispy exterior and sprinkling of sea salt and pink pepper (?). The skin was extremely delicate, had an excellent crackling texture and appears to be seasoned with a sugary topping so that once roasted the skin took on a slightly sweet brulee coating. The waiter explained that the pork was so tender as it was made from a 2-month old piglet and slow roasted for 8 hours.

The condensed review is included above, for extended reviews with additional mains please consult http://gastroworldblog.blogspot.ca/2012/09/restaurant-montiel-barcelona.html

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Recommendations from the waiter were spot on. El Solomillo was the best one I had in a long long time. Highly recommended.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Montiel also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Restaurant Montiel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Montiel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.