We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and clean, value for money!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chic & Basic Urquinaona Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Chic & Basic Urquinaona Apartments to your Saves list
Chic & Basic Urquinaona Apartments
Ronda Sant Pere 22, 08010 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #360 of 694 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    11
    1
    4
    3
See reviews for
11
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The apartment was very central and it had everything you would need. The only downside is that there is no reception. Other than that everything was great!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TLV
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

This is not a low-cost apartment. It costs 136 Euro per night, so we had some expectations. We were not looking for luxury, but for a decent place to enjoy our vacation.
First, there are 3 good things that I must say about this apartment:
1. Its location is excellent.
2. The person in charge (Nicolas) has a very nice personality.
3. It is equipped with a very large safe (can accommodate even large laptops)
HOWEVER...
1. The apartment was VERY dirty. The floor was sticky, so we must wear shoes all time. You must take spastic shoes for the shower, because you would not want to have any physical contact with it (everything there is rusty and black).
2. The maintenance is poor.
3. The furniture and equipment are of the lowest possible quality.
4. The hot water is sufficient only for 2 showers, and then you have to wait for a few hours. The water temperature fluctuates during the shower.
5. The equipment is minimal. No shelf to place the soap in the shower, so you must keep it in your hand all time.
6. The apartment is noisy. Noise comes from the street (all night), even with closed windows. It also comes from the corridor, as closing the doors cannot be done in a quet way.
7. The bedroom window is useless, as it faces an inner yard, which is very-very ugly and smelly (from all the toilets of the building).
CONCLUSION: If you want to stay in the middle of the city and can tolerate the above problems, then this is the right place for you.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Everything works as described: we called from the airport and were met at the time we stipulated. The apartment was clean and bright and had all the useful kitchen items in adequate amounts. Everything worked, the beds were comfortable, the neighbors were quiet. (There is street noise when the windows are open, but nothing unusual.) The neighborhood is central and safe feeling, the front door of the building locks automatically. There are several large grocery stores within walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

This apartment has a unique location (super centric), but this turned to be the only good thing of it. It was dirty and certain parts were almost falling apart (please check our pictures). We travelled to Barcelona on December and the apartment was quite cold, when we tried to switch on the warm airco, it started to do a really loud metallic noise.
The extra bed was not opening and the blankets were not enough for 3 people. Some furniture was falling a part and you almost had to close your eyes to have a shower...so much dirt!
We are aware this is not an expensive apartment, but this is far below the minimums of quality and, most important, healthiness.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, OR
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

We had a 3 week long trip to Europe & visited several cites (& countries) & stayed in several hotels/apts. I used trip advisors a lot in my decision making and it has been helpful, thus I would like to share my experience with other trip advisor users. We were quite happy with this apartment. The apt was clean and the location was excellent. The staff was helpful too. Overall, this apt is more than basic.

Room Tip: Great location, great price & good apt
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2009

This was our first time staying with chic and basic in their apartments and we will definitely return. We had to call the reception from the airport for them to meet us at the apartment, and they were very helpful with directions on how to get to the apartments and were already waiting for us when we arrived.
The apartment itself was wonderful, clean and blue and white. The kitchen was basically equipped, enough for some simple cooking.
Also, the apartment had lovely views of the city. A bonus was the internet that was included.
The staff were wonderful, very attentive and friendly. One of the staff members, Renato, who checked us in was especially great and provided us with excellent advice about what to do and where to go in the city. He also gave us the names of a handful of great restaurants including a lovely traditional Catalan place.
All in all great value for what it is and a great experience.

  • Liked — the location, the staff
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chic & Basic Urquinaona Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chic & Basic Urquinaona Apartments

Address: Ronda Sant Pere 22, 08010 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #360 of 694 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish, contemporary apartments located on the sixth floor lieing just off the main square of Placa Catalunya. These apartments are situated on Placa Urquinaona, surrounded by the classy streets of the city centre's Eixample district. From here you can easily walk to attractions such as the Gothic Quarter, Las Ramblas and Passeig de Gracia in only a few minutes. Full of natural light, each recently renovated apartment comes with chic, minimalist decor. They all include well-equipped kitchens, allowing you to enjoy an independent stay in the beautiful Catalan capital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Chic & Basic Urquinaona Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chic & Basic Urquinaona Apartments Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chic & Basic Urquinaona Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.