We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice apartment” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AinB Gothic-Little Jaume

AinB Gothic-Little Jaume
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barcelona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
AinB Gothic-Little Jaume
Save
You added AinB Gothic-Little Jaume to your Saves list
Dagueria 18, 8002 Barcelona, Spain (Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #597 of 723 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Barcelona
1 review
“Nice apartment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Nice apartment located right at the heart of the city. Very comfortable room with good kitchen. The place is a little bit hard to find, and the stairs is narrow. However, I will recommond this room for you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quim b, Manager at AinB Gothic-Little Jaume, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all, let us wish you a Happy New Year, full of accomplishment and great travel destinations! We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Be sure you contact us next time you’re in Barcelona, as we are preparing some surprises, especially for the clients who write directly to us.

Thanks a lot for taking the time to write such a good feedback! We promise we will do our best to keep up and even better our services!

Kind regards,
Apartments in Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
1
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We relied on this website prior to booking! Imagine our 'despair' when we found other reviews complaining about the property. I am so glad we relied on your rating. The apartment was lovely, clean, spacious with an abundant supply of hot water and towels. It was our first visit to Barcelona and we would happily return to this apartment. The reception staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful as were the cleaning staff. We felt very safe and secure. The apartment is a very short walk from the main office where you collect the keys and yes it is in a quiet alley but there was nothing to cause any concern. We did not need the earplugs recommended by another reviewer! Perfect base to explore Barcelona as much of what we wanted to see was within walking distance and there were no shortages of places to eat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quim b, Manager at AinB Gothic-Little Jaume, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your opinion about your stay with us. We are extremely pleased to know that the quality of the accommodation we offered reached your expectations. There is no bigger reward for us and for our staff than a satisfied client. We mentioned your comment to our employees in the reception and in the housekeeping department and they were also very happy to know that their work was appreciated.

Hope to have the chance to welcome you again and offer even more and better services, as we are working on developing some new projects that would make exploring the city a more complex activity. Don’t miss it!

Kind regards,
Apartments in Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Excellent location, but it is not a hotel or apartment. In the best case it is a hostel for very young and rich people. Stairs to 2 or 3 floors can use only a very thin and young people. The room is quite dirty, drain in the shower does not work. TV also does not work.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

My Mom, Aunt and I stayed at the apartments on October 2nd, 2011. We were in town one night before embarking on a cruise and thought it would be nice to see a little of Barcelona. We arrived about 2 hours before check in and were hoping to store our luggage so we could go sightseeing. The entrance to the lobby is separate from the entrance to the rooms, so I watched the luggage while my aunt inquired about checking in. Security is tight, the lobby area has a sliding glass door that only opens with a remote and the apartments require a key to the entrance as well as the rooms. The man at the front desk told my aunt that we couldn't check in yet but could store the bags while we went sightseeing, but when we brought our bags in he miraculously had a room available (we had a lot of bags, overpacked a little). He helped us to our room, which took a few trips because the elevator is tiny. The room was very clean and it looked like the bathroom had recently been updated. The room had a bathroom with a nice glassed in shower and modern sink, a small kitchenette with a mini fridge, a double bed, a rollaway bed, two end tables, a small wardrobe and two balconies. The view from the balconies were amazing, we could see the gothic cathedral from one of the balconies.

There were only a couple of problems that we encountered. First, the beds are extremely hard. It literally felt like we were sleeping on wooden boards. Second, the front desk is sometimes hard to get ahold of. They left no information in the room about check out time or how to call, and when we went to inquire at 9 am no one was in yet. We decided to go sightseeing anyway, and returned later to check out. Checkout was easy, and they called a cab for us to take us to the cruise terminal when we were ready to leave. We were able to store our bags while we continued to sightsee, and we felt it was safe to leave our bags in their care.

One important thing to note is that Barcelona is a petty crime ridden city, and it seems as if the location of the hotel is especially bad for petty thieves. One of the shopkeepers next to the building warned us to watch our bags when we were waiting to check in, and when we were leaving the front desk person made us keep our hands on our bags at all times while waiting for our taxi. She said many people have had their bags stolen right in front of their eyes.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

We initially booked Hotel Ample Apartments(do not go there seriously rubbish no windows adjoining doors to other occupied rooms and not 24 hr reception as described) After complaining to Thomas Cook they then moved us to this company/apartment. It is near all the best areas(Ramblas and Ports) and a 10 minutes walk from Placa Cataluna ;the bus stop where you would get off from Airport. Metro only 1 minutes walk. The staff are polite and looked after us. The only downside is that you have to walk up a lot of stairs to get to the apartment which could be an issue for the elderly or wheelchair users. highly recommended and a thumbs up for Thomas Cook for sorting out the Bitter taste from Hotel Ample.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2009

We had read reviews of the appartment all saying it is small and the spiral staircase is a nightmare with luggage. This is true, (although the hotel staff carried our luggage up for us so it was not a problem).
We arrived considerably earlier than the 15:00 check in time and called them on the off chance we could check in. They said it was not possible but arranged for us to leave our luggage so we could go and explore.
The room was modern and clean everthing was in good working order and the beds were comfortable. The staff asked when we would like our bedding and towels changed and if we required any extra blankets.
The kitchen area is not really subtable if you want to cook full meals but the fridge and kettle were all we really used.
The location was fantastic, right in the middle of the gothic quarter. Plenty of bars and restraunts within easy walking distance. Most of Barcelona could be explored by foot or tube from here easily.
The room overlooked the street and even at weekend we were not bothered by street noise.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to AinB Gothic-Little Jaume? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AinB Gothic-Little Jaume

Address: Dagueria 18, 8002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #597 of 723 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments in Barcelona Little Jaume have a great location. The studios are in the Gothic Quarter all within walking distance of tourist attractions such as Las Ramblas, the Cathedral and the city of Barcelona.All studios are fully renovated with stone walls and high ceilings, preserving is rustic and gothic in the area. The studios have a bathroom and kitchen.It is easily accessible by public transport. The metro stop Jaume I is a few meters. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
AinB Gothic-Little Jaume Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AinB Gothic-Little Jaume, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.