We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good overnight close to bus station Barcelona Nord” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Capri by Fraser Barcelona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Capri by Fraser Barcelona to your Saves list
Capri by Fraser Barcelona
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sancho de Avilla 32 34, 08018 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Apsis Porta Marina)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #221 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Halifax, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good overnight close to bus station Barcelona Nord”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Good clean hotel with good sized rooms at value price close to Barcelona Nord bus station and busses to Girona airport. Helpful staff and quiet area .
Wifi worked well - free - and although I stayed only the one night arriving quite late I would recommend the hotel to anyone wanting a good hotel within walking distance of the bus station.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    195
    38
    10
    5
See reviews for
114
116
3
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Westayed here for two nights at the beginning of October. It is a 2 minute walk from the nearest tube. We were pleasantly surprised by the rooms which are quite literally huge!
They are extremely modern and nicely decorated, with a separate bedroom and large bathroom. We had a great view over the city and the hotel's terrace provides another brilliant view over Barcelona which is especially beautiful at night.
Its about a 20 minute walk to Sagrada Familia and Placa Catalunya etc, metro is around 3 stops.

Staff are really helpful, you get a map upon arrival which was useful too. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This hotel was much nicer than expected. The room I stayed in was big with arm chairs and a table, cupboards, safe etc. Overall it was clean and fairly new. Breakfast was good and the variety of the food was good as well. Free wifi was a bonus. The only downside for me was the location, not really a walking distance from the sea or the centre. Staff spoke English and were helpful.

Room Tip: First floor was a little noisy because of traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The location is not the best. Very quiet and industrial almost looks run down. No good restautants near by. Hotel itself was ok, rooms were quite nice in a bland hotel way. Breakfast was also very average. Hard bed and very flat pillows.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki Region, Greece
Top Contributor
391 reviews 391 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
410 helpful votes 410 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The Hotel is located 10' away on foot from Estacio Nord. The rooms were really spacious, we felt like being home. The double room consists of a bedroom and a living room and of course a private bathroom. The breakfast was not included in the price (which of course we knew at the time of booking) and you have to pay 12 euros per person plus 10% tax, which was really expensive so we had not tried it. Since it is a 4 star hotel, we expected every day cleaning but this did not happen. It is a nice hotel in general but, coming again in Barcelona, we will stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrickcg, Director Comercial at Capri by Fraser Barcelona, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
'Since it is a 4 star hotel, we expected every day cleaning but this did not happen'
We cannot understand this matter. We clean the rooms daily. Perhaps that guest left the “do not disturb” all day. Is the only explanation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Just got back from this hotel. The location is a little further away than we had thought but we had a metro cards so that was that sorted.

The room we had was perfect nice beds clean air con that worked and the nicest bathroom your gonna get in a hotel.

The staff were fantastic really helpful and easy to talk to. On checkout we were told to pay for a breakfast we had had which we hadn't but without arguing the girl simply said ok and carried on which was great.

Only downside is the students next door as they can make a bit of noise.

Oh and free wifi was brilliant.

Will be staying again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This hotel is located in a business area in Barcelona, the location may not be the 1st choice for tourists, but there's a metro station within 5 minutes walk and Plaza Catalunya is just 3 metro stops away. You're on the Ramblas in less than 15 minutes.

The room is big, it has a big cupboard for your clothes, 2 lazy chairs and a small desk to work. The bathroom is also big with the shower in the bath. I had a room located on the ground floor and I had to keep the curtains closed as pedestrians could easily look into the room. AC works well, but I turned it off during the night. Bed and matress are good, pillow a bit too soft.

Breakfast is okay, the pastry seemed oily so I didn't eat those.

In the lobby area you can find 2 PC's and a printer. Reception personnel is friendly and helpful. All in all a pleasant stay especially if you want a clean (big) room for a reasonable amount of euro's.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Capri by Fraser Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capri by Fraser Barcelona

Address: Sancho de Avilla 32 34, 08018 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Apsis Porta Marina)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#131 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#156 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#159 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Capri by Fraser Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern hotel and serviced apartment residence is located in Barcelona's trendy 22th business district and 3 Metro stops from Plaza Catalunya. Enjoy the sun and a few cocktails or appreciate a cultural performance at one of Spain's finest theatres. Access to the nightlife of the Olympic port's restaurants, cafes and lively bars is not far. A mere 15 minutes' walk from Barcelona's beaches and the Marina (Olympic village), as to the National Theatre and the Auditorium, are opposite. Our Restaurant features a full continental buffet offering both hot and cold fare. Along with breakfast, the Apsis Porta Marina offers both European and Spanish dishes at its restaurant serving lunch until 4.00 pm Monday through to Friday. In addition, room service is also available. The hotel has a 24-hour front desk with concierge services providing local information, theatre tickets, restaurant and sight-seeing recommendations and even car rental. Apsis Porta Marina offers spacious air-conditioned rooms and apartments with 21-32" flat-screen TV offering multi-lingual channels. Living room offers sofa and seating area with double-glazed windows. There is a mini-bar, a desk, digital safe and bathrooms are equipped with hairdryer and bathroom welcome amenities. In addition, the property offers free Wi-Fi to all guests both in the apartment as well as spacious lounge and Business centre. Private car parking is also available at the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Agoda, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Capri by Fraser Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apsis Porta Marina Barcelona
Capri By Fraser Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capri by Fraser Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.