We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, comfortable rooms, great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Capri by Fraser Barcelona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Capri by Fraser Barcelona to your Saves list
Capri by Fraser Barcelona
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sancho de Avilla 32 34, 08018 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Apsis Porta Marina)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #220 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
cyprus
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Spacious, comfortable rooms, great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We were a week away from our trip to Barcelona and could not find a room for 4 anywhere! I was desperate. Then a friend suggested this hotel and I emailed them as their site did not show availability. We got an excellent rate for Barcelona but did not have many expectations. We were pleasantly surprised! The staff at Apsis Porta Marina are polite, helpful and ready to answer any questions-- and these are not 'given' in Europe by any means. Our room was amazing! There was the bedroom and then a separate room with a sofabed and a small kitchenette. We had two flat screen TVs (so kids would not fight, wow!), two big beds and often used the microwave and the fridge so even though we did not cook, the kitchen came in handy. Yes, other reviewers are right, there are no utensils but we could still warm up kids milk. The bathroom was perfect for having two small kids with us-- glorious to just lay out everything. We also had free wifi but keep in mind it can be very very slow. The lunch is super cheap here (fixed daily menu) but very good. Also room service is not bad (after lunch you can only get room service) but on Saturday night it took a very long time since the poor woman preparing it was alone in the kitchen. Still good quality though and she was so nice and apologetic about the whole thing, she wouldn't even accept a small tip for bringing it to us. Overall, the staff was very helpful. The only caveat I think about this hotel is that it is not so central, hence my 4 stars. The metro is very close ( 2 stations within a 5 minute walking distance) and las Ramblas is only 2 stops away (the beach is also only 2 stops) but I did not feel so comfortable walking there. This is probably a wrong perception since there were many students walking to the metro stops daily but somehow I felt a bit uneasy about the relatively deserted area... Not residential, more business like, industrial. In any case, taxis are s cheap, this was not an issue at all and we would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone we know. It is such great value and the rooms are amazingly huge for Europe. Also, last thing, we got breakfast from the coffee shop next door which was great and for ten euros our family of four would have a feast. No need to eat breakfast at hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    195
    38
    10
    5
See reviews for
114
116
3
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Nice upscale rooms that are spacious, clean with free wifi. My room towards the back of the hotel was noisy at night from the nightclub activity down on the street level. The sound traveled up the walls. Ask for a room closer to the front of hotel. Would stay here again

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Rooms are nice and clean with couch, table and chairs and mini fridge. We booked a double room but got a room with 2 single beds. Charged over €25 to bring 2 bowls of cereal, tea/coffee and toast to our room , which I brought up myself. Also charged €4 for a carton of milk for baby we had arrived late and could not find a shop close by. Restaurant was only open for breakfast and lunch.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed one night at Porta Marina. The hotel is within a walking distace from Sagrada Familia. Staff was extremely helpful and nice, rooms were large and clean with free Wifi. Breakfast was not included in the price, but there was a very good breakfast for a reasonable price served downstairs. We headed to the port next morning, so worked great for our purposes.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here in Feb 2012. Although not in the centre of Barcelona, the metro stop is so close it's easy to get to the heart of everything. We walked the first day and it's not too bad.

Yes the hotel is close to a couple of funeral homes but unless you're going to sit on the kerb outside and stare at these don't let it put you off!

The room we had was incredibly spacious, modern and the bathroom was gorgeous! My boyfriend chose the hotel as a surprise and knowing how fussy I am, he was worried I wouldn't like it. Needless to say I thought it was great!

Having a fridge in the room is very handy and free temperature control (air con) is always a big plus for me. lots of storage space and safe as well.

Staff were friendly and helpful, rooms were cleaned excellently. The only downside was some noise about 1-2am (fri, sat, sun nights). It didn't last long and from what I gathered there are students nearby so this is likely the cause. It woke me up but not my boyfriend so just depends what kind of sleeper you are.

We'd definitely return to the Porta Marina.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara, Romania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

The hotel is situated closed to the metro station Marina. It is also closed to Zoo and to Agbar Tower, about 10 minutes walking. The hotel is modern, clean and very cosy.
The people from reception are very nice and are able to give useful information.
The room was large, very clean, and modern, with two areas - a bedroom and a living room with a little kitchenette. Unfortunately, in the kitchenette there are no plates and cutlery for short stay. Only the microwaves can be used.
Also the bathroom was large. The room was cleaned every day.

There is free internet.
I recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Capri by Fraser Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capri by Fraser Barcelona

Address: Sancho de Avilla 32 34, 08018 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Apsis Porta Marina)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#130 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#156 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#159 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Capri by Fraser Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern hotel and serviced apartment residence is located in Barcelona's trendy 22th business district and 3 Metro stops from Plaza Catalunya. Enjoy the sun and a few cocktails or appreciate a cultural performance at one of Spain's finest theatres. Access to the nightlife of the Olympic port's restaurants, cafes and lively bars is not far. A mere 15 minutes' walk from Barcelona's beaches and the Marina (Olympic village), as to the National Theatre and the Auditorium, are opposite. Our Restaurant features a full continental buffet offering both hot and cold fare. Along with breakfast, the Apsis Porta Marina offers both European and Spanish dishes at its restaurant serving lunch until 4.00 pm Monday through to Friday. In addition, room service is also available. The hotel has a 24-hour front desk with concierge services providing local information, theatre tickets, restaurant and sight-seeing recommendations and even car rental. Apsis Porta Marina offers spacious air-conditioned rooms and apartments with 21-32" flat-screen TV offering multi-lingual channels. Living room offers sofa and seating area with double-glazed windows. There is a mini-bar, a desk, digital safe and bathrooms are equipped with hairdryer and bathroom welcome amenities. In addition, the property offers free Wi-Fi to all guests both in the apartment as well as spacious lounge and Business centre. Private car parking is also available at the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Agoda, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Capri by Fraser Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apsis Porta Marina Barcelona
Capri By Fraser Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Capri by Fraser Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.