We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth visiting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sant Pau Recinte Modernista

Sant Pau Recinte Modernista
Sant Antoni Maria Claret, 167, 08025 Barcelona, Spain (Horta - Guinardó)
+34 935 53 78 01
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 288 Attractions in Barcelona
Type: Architectural Buildings, Landmarks
Attraction details
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Well worth visiting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We booked a walk with an English speaking guide to make the most of our visit to the Hospital de la Santa Creu I Sant Pau. This is a most beautiful group of buildings designed by Lluis Domenech I Montaner in classic Catalan Art Noveau style. Wonderfully restored by UNESCO it is definitely well worth visiting. Our guide was very informative but even without a guided tour there is plenty of information available about the history of the buildings and the restoration work if you just want to wander around by yourself. A really special place that will soon be one of the major tourist attractions in this great city.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    372
    189
    31
    11
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Hospital de la Santa Creu i Sant Pau”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

To all visitors of the Sagrada Familia in Barcelona would recommend them to walk the 500 meters between this temple and another fantastic work of modernist architect Lluís Domènech i Montaner, the newly rehabilitated Hospital de la Santa Creu I Sant Pau. Although my opinion is not very objective because I have trained as a physician in this hospital grounds, I'm sure the visit will not leave indifferent.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
353 reviews 353 reviews
255 attraction reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Found by Walking Away from Sagrada”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

A beautiful and amazing view outside, we didn't go inside just look and appreciate the beauty of it, just stay and admired also the locals, by looking at them, me and my wife talked about their persistence to be away and independent from Spain, well, we loved these beautiful people with little ones enjoying the good weather, those old ones sitting on the bench that we had the chance to talk and ask where Catalunya Plaza is with our limited Catalan Language, we were very fortunate to be with them, a very proud nation with such great knowledge and ability to create this kind of rate architecture. If you'll see Sagrada don't forget to see this place too.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“should be in the top 5!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Our lovely host told us of this beautiful, tranquil place, a definate must see, if all hospitals looked like this you wouldn't mind going!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 attraction reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Another beautiful creation of Lluís Domènech i Montaner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

I was lucky to get there after a restoration - all the historic pavilions look like they were just finished by Domènech i Montaner))) There is an exibition related to the all the huge work that was made by the restorating team during the last years.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sant Pau Recinte Modernista also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Sant Pau Recinte Modernista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sant Pau Recinte Modernista, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.