We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Barcelona Sky

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Barcelona Sky to your Saves list
Melia Barcelona Sky
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Pere IV, 272-286, 08005 Barcelona, Spain (Poblenou)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
up to -15% MeliáRewards
Ranked #300 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Just a weekend and highlight the amazing job from front office and Alfredo Martinez ( experience manager). Honestly, we'll come back. Highly recommendable. We stayed at the level and it was really worth. Yolanda very attentive. Good work!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaSky, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Barcelona Sky, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Wekelee,

First of all I would like to thank you for having taken a few moments of your valuable time to express your satisfaction about the services of our Hotel during your recent stay with us.

At Melia Barcelona Sky our aim is to exceed the expectations of our guests and it is most inspiring for all members of our team, to know that we succeeded in our effort. Your delightful comments will indeed be passed on to our team and I am sure that specially Alfredo will be thrilled to know that his service was highly appreciated.

I would like to thank you again for your incredible feedback, and I look forward to welcoming you back to Melia Barcelona Sky in the near future,

Warm Regards,

Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    414
    214
    109
    64
See reviews for
118
614
44
221
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johns Creek, Georgia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We liked this hotel. It was very modern & cool. There was even a DJ in the lobby Saturday night near the bar. Our room was awesome & the view was amazing. We thought the automatic blinds and towel warmer was a nice touch. We did the double-decker tour & there's a bus stop 10 minute walk away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaSky, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Barcelona Sky, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear Tbug731,

First of all I would like to thank you for having taken a few moments of your valuable time to express your satisfaction about the services of our Hotel during your recent stay with us.

At Melia Barcelona Sky our aim is to exceed the expectations of our guests and it is most inspiring for all members of our team, to know that we succeeded in our effort.

I would like to thank you again for your incredible feedback, and I look forward to welcoming you back to Melia Barcelona Sky in the near future,

Warm Regards,

Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I booked this hotel as part of a surprise trip to Barcelona for my partner’s birthday and panicked when I saw some of the bad reviews of this hotel.

The bad reviews caused me unnecessary stress before arriving at the hotel but once we had arrived all that stress was relieved.

We were dealt with by Sergio a welcoming and friendly member of staff in the level lounge check in. You get private check in when you book an executive room. My partner sat down with some free drink and food whilst I checked us in.

Our room was gorgeous! Views of the sea and floor to ceiling windows to get the full benefit. There was a beautiful message written to my partner on our bathroom mirror which really made my partner smile.

We went to the level lounge in the evening where we drank and ate for free - this is also part of the executive experience. Lovely tapas and any alcohol you can think of including champagne.

When we returned to our room a free bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries were waiting for us. What a lovely end to a beautiful day.

Thank you Melia for such a wonderful stay and making my partners birthday extra special.

A note to add is that the breakfast buffet could do with improving as the food doesn't match the standards of the hotel. There should be a better system in place for teas and coffees as we didn't get our drinks until after our breakfast. To any future guests please know that the breakfast is still lovely (maybe 3 star) and you can grab orange juice whilst you wait for tea and coffee.

Room Tip: Book executive suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaSky, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Barcelona Sky, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear directing...,

First of all I would like to thank you for having taken a few moments of your valuable time to express your satisfaction about the services of our Hotel during your recent stay with us.

At Melia Barcelona Sky our aim is to exceed the expectations of our guests and it is most inspiring for all members of our team, to know that we succeeded in our effort. Your delightful comments will indeed be passed on to our team and I am sure that specially Sergio will be thrilled to know that his service was highly appreciated.

I would like to thank you again for your incredible feedback, and I look forward to welcoming you back to Melia Barcelona Sky in the near future,

Warm Regards,

Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Hotel views and service were amazing! We stayed in The Level, and although I am glad we paid extra for it, the rooms were a little tired. not quite what I would expect from 5*. The Level staff were wonderfully helpful and friendly, although the buffet took a little while to be replenished. The Spa was a bit of a disappointment due to staff friendliness and helpfulness, which for us let the experience down. But overall this is a lovely hotel and should definately be an option, if for the views alone!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaSky, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Barcelona Sky, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for your constructive review 12KMS!

We are terribly sorry to read that we have not exceeded your expectations and we would like to apologise for the inconveniences that we may caused to you during your visit. You can rest assure that we will follow up on your comments to ensure that such incidents do not repeat in the future.

On a more pleasant note I sincerely hope that the incidents occurred throughout your stay at Melia Barcelona Sky do not prevent you from returning in the future. It would be a great pleasure for you to allow us to demonstrate what would be Melia Barcelona Sky’s normal, yet exceptional service.

For any future reservations simply contact with our Guest Experience Team directly and we will take care of all the special details.

Looking forward to welcome you back!!

Warm Regards,

Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geneva
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

If you want to stay in a sky scraper this is your chance. Not high by Asian or American standards it is still one of the highest buildings in Barcelona but it is not for everyone. It is not exactly a luxury hotel and not as modern as it looks. It is geared towards business travelers.
We arrived early and did not expect to be able to check in. The receptionist told us that the system was down but could she have our credit card anyway. We refused especially as we had heard of skimming stories. See one the earlier reviews. The porter was very helpful though and kept our bags for us and gave us directions. When we returned the afternoon reception staff knew nothing about a system down, and gave us our room forthright. We had been upgraded. Fantastic. And our room was almost on the top floor with an amazing view of Barcelona.
The room was boutique style, well designed with a small bathroom which you look into through glass from the room. There is a big sliding door that opens on one side to the shower and another side to the clothes cupboard. Dangerous if one of you is exiting the shower as the other is getting something from the cupboard. There is a big Tv which we did not use and a very comfortable bed and a small lounge chair. The room is lit by a complicated electronic control panel which we could not figure out. Like wise the air conditioning could not be turned down . Eventually a technician came to clean the filters and it immediately worked better. The fittings are all quite cheap for a 5 star hotel but they work and the room looked good. What makes it special is the incredible building itself and the view and all that glass.
Breakfast was good but the design restaurant where it was served was not to my taste. The gym was adequate if a little small. The small Yhi spa was very refreshing and relaxing at the same time. The pool looked clean and inviting but we did not use it. The hotel is away from the tourist area but if you do not mind walking to the nearest metro it is in a good position for anywhere in the city.
When we checked out we had the original receptionist again. This time the computer was not down and we paid by credit card. She took the card quickly into the back. We checked with our credit card company and apparently two attempts were made to withdraw money. Of course we cannot prove anything but apparently card skimming at hotels is becoming quite common.
But don't let it spoil your stay in the sky scraper. We certainly did not. The highlight of our stay was treating ourselves to the culinary delights of the Dos Cielos restaurant, a gourmet restaurant of exceptional standing situated in the hotel.

Room Tip: The best view s are on the top. You can also upgrade to The Level and have exclusive entrance to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaSky, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Barcelona Sky, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your constructive review Chris P!

We are terribly sorry to read that we have not exceeded your expectations and we would like to apologise for the inconveniences that we may caused to you during your visit. You can rest assure that we will follow up on your comments to ensure that such incidents do not repeat in the future.

On a more pleasant note I sincerely hope that the incidents occurred throughout your stay at Melia Barcelona Sky do not prevent you from returning in the future. It would be a great pleasure for you to allow us to demonstrate what would be Melia Barcelona Sky’s normal, yet exceptional service.

For any future reservations simply contact with our Guest Experience Team directly and we will take care of all the special details.

Looking forward to welcome you back!!

Warm Regards,

Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Hotel a little run down, could do with freshening up! Staff don't listen and are very slow. We had a young baby with us and our room was over an hour late on check in, they used a number of excuses why it wasn't ready

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaSky, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Barcelona Sky, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Catherine B:

We are terribly sorry to read that we have not exceeded your expectations and we would like to apologise for the inconveniences that we may caused to you during your visit. You can rest assure that we will follow up on your comments to ensure that such incidents do not repeat in the future.

On a more pleasant note I sincerely hope that the incidents occurred throughout your stay do not prevent you from returning in the future. It would be a great pleasure for you to allow us to demonstrate what would be Melia Barcelona Sky’s normal, yet exceptional service.

For any future reservations simply contact with our Guest Experience Team directly and we will take care of all the special details.

Looking forward to welcome you back!!

Warm Regards,

Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Very nice hotel for sure but with some flaws that need to be solved.
The hotel is so much focused on conference guests but forget about leisure guests.
Swimming pool was nice but so difficult to get some snacks, drink or lunch.
My first room was without WIFI, or better to say the WIFI isn’t working well. And no bath, If I can remember I must have a bath with the room I booked. Doesn’t matter about the bath but WIFI is essential for me.
It was solved, we got another room now with bath and working WIFI. And we also got a free breakfast! Thank you for that Melia

xoxo

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaSky, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Melia Barcelona Sky, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your constructive review Fashiongentrix!

We are terribly sorry to read that we have not exceeded your expectations and we would like to apologise for the inconveniences that we may caused to you during your visit. You can rest assure that we will follow up on your comments to ensure that such incidents do not repeat in the future.

On a more pleasant note I sincerely hope that the incidents occurred throughout your stay at Melia Barcelona Sky do not prevent you from returning in the future. It would be a great pleasure for you to allow us to demonstrate what would be Melia Barcelona Sky’s normal, yet exceptional service.

For any future reservations simply contact with our Guest Experience Team directly and we will take care of all the special details.

Looking forward to welcome you back!!

Warm Regards,

Guest Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Barcelona Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Barcelona Sky

Address: Pere IV, 272-286, 08005 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Poblenou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#166 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Barcelona Sky 4.5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Architecture that staircases the sky; a beacon watching over an energetic cityscape-ME Barcelona Hotel offers a new interpretation to contemporary design, international cuisine, and the urban experience; fusing personal and professional into one emblematic hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Melia, Booking.com, Splendia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Melia Barcelona Sky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Me Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Sol Melia Barcelona
Me Hotel Barcelona
Melia Barcelona Sky Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Barcelona Sky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.