We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very modern but location isn't great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Barcelona Sky

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Barcelona Sky to your Saves list
Melia Barcelona Sky
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Pere IV, 272-286, 08005 Barcelona, Spain (Poblenou)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
up to -15% MeliáRewards
Ranked #300 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Very modern but location isn't great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

With the quality of the rooms, staff and service I'd normally give this hotel a 4 star rating but it loses one due to its location, which is quite far from the main tourist sites, with little activity nearby. Luckily taxis are quite cheap and the beach is only a 10 minute walk away. All the staff were very friendly, helpful and spoke good English.

The room was reasonably spacious, very clean and had the usual minibar, safe, flatscreen TV and even a "Love pack"!

One thing to bear in mind though - we went on a work trip and there were several incidents with theft, including inside the hotel, so take extra care with your belongings at all times.

Would I stay here again? Probably not as I'd prefer to stay walking distance to at least some of the main sights, but taxis are quite cheap and the metro and tram stops are very close by, so that may be enough to persuade you to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEbarcelona, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Barcelona Sky, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
First of all I would like to thank you for having taken a few moments of your valuable time to express your satisfaction about the services of our Hotel during your recent stay with us.

About the theft problems I would like to apologise for any inconvenience but I'm glad to inform you that the theft band was luckily catch when they were attempting of robbery in another hotel close by.

Thanking you again for your time and your comments, and looking forward to hearing from you soon.

Warm Regards,

Aura Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    414
    214
    109
    64
See reviews for
118
614
44
221
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My partner and I stayed here in September. Very pretty hotel with really helpful and professional staff; however the hotel itself isn't worth 5*, perhaps 4.
The location is quite far out of the city centre so I recommend purchasing travel cards (you can get them from the airport) the nearest metro station is a two minute walk away. A slow ten minute walk to the beach.
We booked a double room, however we were allocated a twin bedroom. It did niggle at me but didn't want to complain so we just pushed the beds together.
Our room had a lovely view of the ocean and was beautifully decorated. The only real problem we had with the room was the huge glass window showing into the bathroom which meant no privacy with whoever you're sharing a room with, you'll either love or hate it.
The staff on reception were very helpful whenever we asked for personal recommendations on places to visit or to eat. We were advised to try a little place just off La Rambla (near Santa Maria del Pi) which was a small courtyard around a church with amazing food and atmosphere. Half the price of what you would actually pay on La Rambla for much better food.
When we checked out of the hotel, we were asked to pay for drinks we had taken from the mini bar in the room. We had specifically not taken from the mini bar due to the prices. I said we had done no such thing in a polite way and they apologised for the error and taken the items off the bill. We really did appreciate this, after all mistakes are made and they did rectify the error.
All in all a nice stay, however next time we visit Barcelona we would prefer to stay closer to the city.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEbarcelona, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Barcelona Sky, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
First of all I would like to thank you for taking your time to comment on our hotel and the services rendered during your last stay at Me Barcelona. Critical yet constructive feedback like yours only helps us to continuously improve on our errors and ensure that such incidents do not repeat in the future.

On a more pleasant note I sincerely hope to welcome you back so we can surprise you with a fantastic room, please contact the Experience department so we can take good care of you.

Warm Regards,

Aura Exerience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Booked a v good deal on Priceline (£400 for 5 nights) and it was worth it for that price. This is not a 5*, it looks good but it doesnt have the goods to back it up.

The hotel described on the website doesn't really exist. I upgraded to a suite for an extra 160e per night and just felt ripped off, I wasn't given access to the facilities I was supposed to (according to the me website) and basically everything was going to cost me more. My room on 22 floor was amazing, but the dirty windows meant that I couldn't see the view I had paid for.

Overall, the rooms are ok, location is not near anything and I wish I would have listened to tripadvisor and stayed somewhere else!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEbarcelona, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Barcelona Sky, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
First of all I would like to thank you for taking your time to comment on our hotel and the services rendered during your last stay at Me Barcelona. Critical yet constructive feedback like yours only helps us to continuously improve on our errors and ensure that such incidents do not repeat in the future.

I would like to inform you that being a Level Guest you have the access to our Level Lounge and all our outlets in the hotel included except the treatments in our Yhi Spa. I will follow up on your comments to prevent incidents like ours to repeat in the future

On a more pleasant note I sincerely hope to welcome you back so we can surprise you with a fantastic room, please contact the Experience department so we can take good care of you.

Warm Regards,

Aura Exerience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunmow, Essex United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here in June for a weekend and found it was a real Gem. The service was superb as was the quality of the rooms and the hotel in general.

I've tried to think of some aspects that were not so good but really can't.

The bar and restaurant are very modern and offer lovely food and great cocktails for reasonable prices.

The location is slightly off the usual tourist path but near to the beach etc.

I managed to find a great deal to stay here and would highly recommend it and will seek to return when possible.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEbarcelona, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Barcelona Sky, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
First of all I would like to thank you for having taken a few moments of your valuable time to express your satisfaction about the services of our Hotel during your recent stay with us.

At ME Barcelona Hotel our aim is to exceed the expectations of our guests and it is most inspiring for all members of our team, to know that we succeeded in our effort. Reviews like yours stimulate us to improve our services every day.

Thanking you again for your time and your comments, and looking forward to hearing from you soon.

Warm Regards,

Aura Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed at the ME hotel in the beginning of September, whilst visiting some friends in Barcelona for 4 days, had an amazing time and experience!
very trendy and unique hotel, modern design! Very extremely staff with an ¨everything is possible¨ attitude.
My stay consisted of the Level Lounge access, which i highly reccommend. Located on the 25th floor, with an open bar and snacks served throughout the day, was a great place to relax after a full day of sightseeing. The concierge there was also extremely helpful with tips regarding the ins and outs of the city.

Would definitely recommend this hotel and be coming back!

Room Tip: Sea View above the 20th floor and upgrade to gain access to the Level Lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEbarcelona, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Barcelona Sky, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
First of all I would like to thank you for having taken a few moments of your valuable time to express your satisfaction about the services of our Hotel during your recent stay with us.

At ME Barcelona Hotel our aim is to exceed the expectations of our guests and it is most inspiring for all members of our team, to know that we succeeded in our effort. Reviews like yours stimulate us to improve our services every day.

Thanking you again for your time and your comments, and looking forward to hearing from you soon.

Warm Regards,

Aura Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

We had a one night stay here in mid September. The staff were suitably friendly room. The room was effortlessly cool - if a little compact. The views offered at night were fantastic, less so during the day. The only draw back is the location - its quite far from the action - though we discovered a fantastic little street 5 minutes away for drinks and tapas (Rambla Del Poblenou). Would recommend to a friend for a one-off special occasion.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEbarcelona, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Barcelona Sky, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
First of all I would like to thank you for having taken a few moments of your valuable time to express your satisfaction about the services of our Hotel during your recent stay with us.

At ME Barcelona Hotel our aim is to exceed the expectations of our guests and it is most inspiring for all members of our team, to know that we succeeded in our effort. Reviews like yours stimulate us to improve our services every day.

Please inform your friend to contact the Experience Department in order to personalise his upcoming ME Experience!!

Thanking you again for your time and your comments, and looking forward to hearing from you soon.

Warm Regards,

Aura Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

What can I say... They were forced to upgrade us to a suite because they ran out of rooms! It was a huge room really modern and clean on the 21st floor. Great views, really comfortable, with everything we needed! Easy cab ride anywhere downtown for 8-10€. Beach you could walk to if you have a map. Breakfast was included as well and it was great! Would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEbarcelona, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Melia Barcelona Sky, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
First of all I would like to thank you for having taken a few moments of your valuable time to express your satisfaction about the services of our Hotel during your recent stay with us.

At ME Barcelona Hotel our aim is to exceed the expectations of our guests and it is most inspiring for all members of our team, to know that we succeeded in our effort. Reviews like yours stimulate us to improve our services every day.

Thanking you again for your time and your comments, and looking forward to hearing from you soon.

Warm Regards,

Aura Experience Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Barcelona Sky? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Barcelona Sky

Address: Pere IV, 272-286, 08005 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Poblenou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#166 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Barcelona Sky 4.5*
Number of rooms: 258
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Architecture that staircases the sky; a beacon watching over an energetic cityscape-ME Barcelona Hotel offers a new interpretation to contemporary design, international cuisine, and the urban experience; fusing personal and professional into one emblematic hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Melia, Booking.com, Splendia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Melia Barcelona Sky reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Me Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Sol Melia Barcelona
Me Hotel Barcelona
Melia Barcelona Sky Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Barcelona Sky, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.