We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“0/5 is too good a score...daylight robbery!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Las Ramblas Apartments III

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Las Ramblas Apartments III to your Saves list
Las Ramblas Apartments III
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jonqueres 13, 08002 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #436 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“0/5 is too good a score...daylight robbery!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Good points - location

Bad points - Experienced the same problems as others have mentioned (pictures dont match what it actually looks like, 2 sets of keys per apartment and parent hotel isnt close by). We were there on my brothers stag (2 apartments...13 in party) and werent expecting the ritz by any means, but we had no hot water the entire weekend and there were a few people that had to sleep on the sofa...not a sofa bed...the sofa as there was 2 double beds for a party of 7.
I also had to pay €400 (2x€200) when we arrived and was told this wil be refunded when we departed. I got a phone call the following day telling me I had been charged €340 of this for
3 sets of spare keys (€60)
Additional cleaning (€80)
Police being called (€200)
THIS IS ABSOLUTE DAYLIGHT ROBBERY...the keys I can begrudingly accept but we gave the place a quick clean and left it in an acceptible standard before we left and not once did anyone knock on our door or ring me to tell me that we were making noise let alone the police being called. Also, there was a hen party above us and another stag below so how we got singled out ill never know. When I asked for evidence of the police being called...they could produce nothing to support their accusation...in a nut shell, I got robbed. I cant describe the frustration I have over these people who have flat out refused to repay me any money...do yourself a massive favour and STAY WELL CLEAR...stay anywhere else and enjoy this beautiful city. You dont need the worry of being robbed while you're here.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    17
    13
    8
    10
See reviews for
18
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

Recently been to this place for holiday.Sofa bed & couch needs general cleanup if not buy new one. Curtain rod keeps on falling there is washing machine but no dryer no towel rod in d toilet.air condition not working but good thing theirs a back up electric fan. Kettle and iron needs to be definitely replaced.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Las Ramblas Apartments images on this site are deceiving. The only picture that is true is the lobby area. The apartment served its purpose for putting your head down and then getting back out into Barcelona.
It was kind of awkward as we had to collect keys at another location, which thankfully due to a lovely taxi driver, this wasn't a huge issue.
The apartment was scruffy and could do with a lick of paint to liven it up a bit. The place was clean but in no way would it entice you to spend hours lounging in it, maybe that was a good thing.
Don't expect what you see in the pictures because you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Firstly had a surprise when I stumbled across an email sent to me 48 hrs prior to pick up the key in a separate location. Taxi had difficulty finding the location for the key pick up it and due to a very disinterested person The taxi ride ended up being twice as much. The rooms are in poor-average condition needing a paint job, thin mattresses and a noisy aircon. Also rooms were very dark with poor lighting. Not great value for money. On the upside it's well positioned close to la ramblaa, placa de catalunya Catalonia and the metro

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We asked for an extra set of keys as we were two couples and one single person. We didn’t get anywhere. Two sets of keys for 5 (let alone 8) people just aren’t enough.
The apartment door lock is damaged and the key doesn’t fit all the way in. It takes a skill to unlock and open the door. The door can be locked from the outside, but the lock does not work from the inside, although there is a sign warning guests to lock the door at night. One of us left and locked the door, and the rest of us got locked in and couldn’t get out. This is not only annoying, but also a major safety issue in case of emergency, such as fire. Safety is questionable.
There are three air conditioning units, one in every bedroom, but 5 to 10 seconds after you switch one of them on, the circuit breaker trips and shuts the power off in the apartment. When we complained to the reception at B&B they’ve replied “aren’t there any fans?” The point is we booked a hotel with AC in Spain in August! There were two fans in the whole flat, one of which was so weak, it hardly blew any air. We had to go buy fans to stay cool. A repairman was supposed to come by, but never had, although at the B&B they’ve told us he did. Someone’s lying? After a lot of complaining we asked for a reimbursement and got around 15% of initial payment back.
WiFi kept cutting out every few minutes, constantly.
Fridge was too small, maybe enough for one or two people, not enough space to keep cold drinks or food in hot August for 5-8 people!
Noisy, with no AC we needed to keep the windows/doors open. The street is a busy one way street with a lot of noisy traffic throughout the night.
General condition of the flat looks run down, the walls are filthy, not only around the switches, but all over. The entire look of the flat and floors is grubby. The sofa bed is covered with stains. The shower head in one bathroom doesn’t stay put. Bathroom has mouldy corners.
One day before our check-out, a cleaning lady let herself in at 11 AM and told us that check out was at 11. When we told her our check-out wasn’t until the next day she looked surprised. I mean… what if we were intimate?

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This apartment was absolutely terrible. Beyond the location, it was not a good value for the money. The Air Conditioners did not work. We complained immediately and they said they would send a repairman over. They claimed the repairman came while we were sleeping, but they LIED because someone was home at all times.. We spent the week in Spain without AC and had to buy fans. The walls were dirty, and the bathroom smelled. Additionally, some of the lamps did not work. The bell downstairs does not work so we always had to coordinate so that someone could go downstairs and let in a member of our party. The wifi dropped the signal every five minutes. There were 5 people in the apartment, which they knew about, but only provided two sets of keys and wouldn't provide a third set. The door lock is not working properly and we had to spend 20 minutes trying to get in. Furthermore, the door does not open from the inside if you lock it from the outside. So basically, if one member of your party forgets and locks the door from the outside, and there is a fire, you won't be able to get out of the apartment. They also did not communicate the check-out date so the cleaning lady came one day early and walked in on us early in the morning. I've been to Spain 4 times and this is the worst experience I have ever had.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

nothing like the photos.... terrible damp smell in the kitchen, some dirty dishes in the cupboards, one dirty towel in the suspicious washing machine, no salt or sugar, nothing but a little dishes and washing up liquid, just one sponge, no cloth. The kettle isn't working properly and is dangerous (won't stop automatically most of the time). The shower in one bathroom has no shower curtain, the other bathroom has a bath with curtain but damp on the wall and no bath plug, no soap. The sofa bed, had no proper bedlinen for the "mattress" which was party made of the sofa cushion. One metal bedframe is extremely noisy, and the worse for me was no mattress protector..... just a single sheet on the mattress. Only 2 toilets rolls for 5 for 3 days..... The floor were not very clean and there is nothing to clean the floors but a very smelly mop (responsible for the terrible smell in the kitchen). Only 4 seats at the table when the appartment is rented for 6...Only positive points were the location, it's very handy, and the wireless was working (but cutting a lot) Would definitely not recommend! Worse accommodation we ever had.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Las Ramblas Apartments III? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Ramblas Apartments III

Address: Jonqueres 13, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#196 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Las Ramblas Apartments III 4.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated by Plaza Urquinaona and Las Ramblas, these spacious apartments have 3 double rooms, 2 bathrooms, air conditioning and kitchen making them perfect for families and groups of frinds that want to be in one of the most central places you can stay in Barcelona, right next to Plaza Catalunya.At Las Ramblas Apartments III we have apartments with 2 and 3 bedrooms, all of which have two bathrooms, a fully equipped kitchen and a big living rooms with a wide sofa bed which can sleep 2 people very comfortably. All apartments have central heating and Air Conditioning and free WIFI.SECURITY: All the common areas of the building have security cameras that are monitored and recorded 24 hours a day. Also the building has access control in all of the entrances to avoid any type of problems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Las Ramblas Apartments III reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Ramblas Apartments Iii Hotel Barcelona
Las Ramblas Apartments III Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Las Ramblas Apartments III, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.