We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere and friendly with average food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of la botiga - CLOSED

la botiga
escudellers 23, Barcelona, Spain (El Barri Gòtic)
93 302 48 75
Improve this listing
Price range: $22 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: El Barri Gòtic
Reston, VA
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere and friendly with average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

This place shows well from the outside and has very friendly staff. We stopped in one night on a whim while walking by. It has a great atmosphere and a nice, well lit modern decor. The food is local in style and was OK. We had a really good seafood paella, which might be there specialty, but the rest of it was average. One nice thing is that they had the option to get side veggies which were good as well as the dessert. Overall, there is plenty of seating inside and outside with good staff and decent food.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    38
    26
    9
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and high quality inexpensive food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We had an excellent meal at this restaurant. Very popular and crowded with people. Choice of tapas including mussels, cheeses and beef. Wine was Marquis de Riscal Reserva at a keen price of €19.20. Brandy Torres 10 year old at €3.65. Total Bill €57.30. Great value and recommended.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Excellent cuisine at reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

I chose to dine 3x at La Botiga as we found the cuisine excellent and the prices very reasonable along with very courteous service. There are several restaurants next to La Botiga which also have outdoor tables on the centre of the roadway terrace ..yes pleasant to be on the terrace but at two of these restaurants very ordinary cuisine. At La Botiga the beef Carpaccio was to die for..we had it twice, and enjoyed the croquettes pernil, escalopines and medallions of beef...beautifully presented and so tasty.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Reasonable food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

I ate lunch here whilst my stay in Barcelona. The ambiance is quite nice and cosy. The service is a bit slow, but the staff is nice, and they are willing to help (they also have English menus). I had fried vegetables (including a half artichaute), and a traditional cod dish, with Spanish red wine (Rioja). The food was tasty and well-presented. The bill was quite reasonable. I would go there again

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymm
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great lunch but popular”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011 via mobile

We popped in here on spec for lunch on a Saturday, ten minutes later it was very busy. Nice ambience and plenty of staff. We both had burgers though these were handmade and cooked a little rare with only half a toasted bun. Mine was drizzled with goats cheese and my wife's has guacamole and salsa on top. All served with some crisps ( chips = crisps here, not fries ). Probably the best tasting urged I have ever had, the herbs and seasoning was superb. Looking at the other meals being served, this was a place where good food was important. Highly recommended.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed la botiga also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage la botiga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.