We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nice Spice

Nice Spice
Pujades 207 bis, 08005 Barcelona, Spain
933089548
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Nice Spice is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,572 of 6,036 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $19 - $26
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good food and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Of the 4 days we have been in barcelona, we visited this place 3 times. It's been a long 3 week trip of italy and spain so my indian roots kept calling and I had to eat curry.

We ordered various curries including chicken tikka masala, lamd vindaloo, palak paneer, madras chicken, chicken biryani. All the curries were very good. The garlic naan also was very good.

The biryani was just ok and that's expected. It's hard to make a great biryani. We ordered chaat (snack) and it was not that good. Ordered mango lassi twice and the quality was different the two times.

I ordered 1/4 litr house wine that was only 3.25 euros.

Ove rall a very good place if you order curry and roti or rice instead of biryani.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    18
    8
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“More like BUSH TUCKER TRIAL!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend came to Barcelona for a few days and after reading all the great reviews on here I thought this place would be the perfect place to visit, as we got there we ordered our food and had our starter. Then the main arrives my girlfriend was scooping the rice onto her plate (other than scraping it like I would have) and found a black hard seed like thing, and told me she wasn't eating there I took a quick glance and said it was the spice they put inside but after closer inspection we turns it over to reveal little legs and and face, it was a dead roach, I was disgusted and called the waiter over and he offered to switch it, needless to say I left emediatly and refused to pay, I understand that to have so many good reviews this was probably a one off but we couldn't eat for the rest of the night just the thought of if I'd have gone for the rice first, I'd have covered it in curry and been none the wiser!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Decent Indian food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

We are Indians so asked them not to be scarce on the spice and they obliged. We had some kebabs which were ok, a chicken curry which was good and a kulfi for dessert which was quite bad. But over all the meal was decent and we'll go back for the curries again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Barcelona
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic little Pakistani in Poble Nou”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Delicious food, served efficiently and unpretentiously. The menu is well-stocked with all your favorites. Make sure you order the bread. The Papadams are exquisite, the Nans (garlic, onion, cheese and plain) are made on the spot and can't be beat. The staff is friendly and helpful. Naturally, you can specify your level of hot. The lamb dishes are probably the signature courses. For two people your best bet is to order three or four of the main dishes and share.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Veg and non-veg alike...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

While the restaurant is ostensibly Pakistani in nature, the decor is pure Punjab and a Punjabi vibe permeates the place, along with nice spices. The set menus vary by time of day, doubling in price for dinner from €9,95 to €19,95 but the selection is good and the waiter allowed for substitutions for early dinner (which, in Spain, means anytime before 10 PM).

Set menus include either water or wine, but not both, and the bottled water isn't outrageous in price. Nice Spice also takes American Express, as well as mag-stripe Visa cards, which is a blessing for US travelers with limited cash on hand. It's also not too far off Avenue Diagonal, so it's accessible from either the closer metro stop or the Glories stop (the one near the, umm, "bullet" building that rises like a phoenix above Avenue Diagonal. ... but we digress).

Samosas were excellent, as was the chicken tikka and the lamb rogan. I like spicy, and I can definitely say it was calliente in the spice department.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nice Spice also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Nice Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nice Spice, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.