We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Indian Test” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rani India

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Rani India
C/ Bailen 61, 08009 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)
+34 932 440 576
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Rani India is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,841 of 5,883 restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $15 - $22
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Eixample
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
“Authentic Indian Test”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I have eaten a lot of indian food in my life - some good , some better ..however, never have I eaten a curry that was as tasty as the chiken curry I had here. It Was Just Wow!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    7
    19
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I ordered takeaway, the food very very dry and tasteless and basically full of salt. the chicken was touch and not very fresh. the rice was hard and under cooked. the nan bread was not nan bread it was chapati. Terrible, I will not return.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordoba, Spain
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“From regular customers to never again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

I agree with some of the previous commenters that the overall service and quality at Rani has been going down the pan over the last few years.

When we first discovered it, which was purely by chance while strolling around, we were quite pleased with the cosy environment, the nice presentation and the *relatively* good food.

Each time we returned, however, we noticed the relentless shrinking of portions which is funnily enough parallel to the rise in cost and pathetic penny-pinching techniques. However, enough is enough, because there's no way a restaurant can treat customers like that in the 21st century.

To start with, when you ask for Poppadoms (plural), do check the amount you are given. Now, once can be an accident, twice an unfortunate coincidence, thrice sheer bad luck, but the thing is, each single time we asked for poppadums, they would be served with a whole one at the top and segments of half a broken one at the bottom. How stingy can you be, to penny pinch and fob people off on poppadoms????

That said, the food -as far as Indian restaurants in BCN are concerned- is quite alright, except that the portions are increasingly a joke, more and more resembling the size of a happy meal at McDonalds.

The final thing that put us off for good was the infuriatingly endless wait for your change after you've asked for the bill. No matter if you've handed a €50 note to pay for, say, €32-50... the staff will make you wait for ever, even after you've reminded them that you've been waiting 20 minutes to get your own money back.

In brief, a not even subtle attempt to try and twist your arm into leaving a tip.

Bear in mind, the service is quite prompt all along, from initial acknoweldgment, to drinks, bill and the rest. Magically though, the waiters turn into invisible entities, more slippery than an eel when it's simply a matter of delivering your change back to your table.

Pathetic.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baden-Baden, Germany
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Good Indian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Go there for the very good Indian food. There is an interesting menu for two and more persons. So you can test various plates for a fair value for your money relation. The service was polite. Decoration and interior are a little used.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brit in Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A good Indian restaurant in Barcelona”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

I've been to RANI quite a number of times (I work with Indian companies whose directors come to visit clients), and we have selected this as the best Indian food-wise. It may not be much to look at, but the food is good, the evaluation having been made by at least four different company managers from India. I've seen criticisms of the food, but from my point of view, if Indians like it, it can't be bad. I've rarely had a badly cooked meal there (evidently they don't make the dhal daily and it can't always be excellent) and in general it's pretty consistent. Service with a smile, prices not excessive and now they're expanding from 30 to 60 places, the problem of the door may be less acute.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rani India also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Rani India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rani India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.