We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Xu Xu Pastry is Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pasteleria Escriba Gran Via

Pasteleria Escriba Gran Via
Gran Via de les Corts Catalanes 546, Barcelona, Spain
+34 93 454 75 35
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 5,916 restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Dessert
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Dessert
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Xu Xu Pastry is Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I stayed at the hotel next door to this bakery this past June. I heard the bakery was really good so I had to stop by to try something. One of the things I tried was a deep fried, sugar-coated, custard-filled pastry called a Xu Xu.

It was rich and really good! One thing I really liked was that the custard wasn't too sweet. Also the sugar gave it a nice crunch. Yum! It's a little oily since it's fried, but definitely worth a try! I went back a couple more times during my stay there. :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    200
    61
    7
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Nice place ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Saved me from random thunder storms while in Barcelona. Very much appreciated. Coffee wasn't bad. Can't say I'm enamored with the whole macarons for tripadvisor trade, but it seems like all restaurants have caught on to bribing for reviews

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Feeling great having breakfast here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Four of us have four different lorraine as breakfast. The food is nice but it could be better if its prepared hot. Nice coffe nice atmosphere. Feeling really enjoyable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing breakfast at Escriba Gran Via”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Staying at the SOHO and decided to have breakfast at the Escriba pasteleria. Beautiful place, friendly service, good music ( playing Nora Jones who I love)....Croissants and pastelerias are delicious and the pastries are beautiful to watch. This is the mecqua of pastries and chocolate and worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I think I'm in love”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

I had never had such an incredible experience in a patisserie before. The great chef Escriba personally guided us through the whole thing. From what started as a random visit to please my baker friend turned into a magical and inspirational view of the sweet side of food. The sculptures, cakes and service are all astounding! DEFINITELY recommended.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pasteleria Escriba Gran Via also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Pasteleria Escriba Gran Via? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pasteleria Escriba Gran Via, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.