We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top shelf” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sensi

Sensi
calle ample 26, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic))
932 9565 88
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #195 of 6,672 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business, Bar scene, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Description: Sensi is located in the emblematic Gothic district of Barcelona, from which it takes its inspiration. It is a romantic and cosy restaurant with stone walls, exposed beams and handcrafted lighting, which, combined with the carefully selected soundtrack, creates a friendly and informal atmosphere. The menu is based on Mediterranean cuisine using the freshest seasonal ingredients, designed to delight the senses. Typical dishes include a duck pastry with potato and a port reduction; grilled king prawns with mango chutney and fine noodles, vegetable and sweet chilli; or marinated tuna tartar with sesame oil and crispy leeks. Its modern menu together with professional and attentive service makes Sensi the ideal place for any kind of evening out.
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Top shelf”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Have eaten at Sensi many times and will continue to go back. The place is hectic and busy, indeed, but for great reason; excellent product, excellent service, excellent location, excellent price. The Duck Timbale is sublime, the artichokes with romesco superb and the versatility of the menu a credit to the chef. From local classics, to French influenced dishes to innovative oriental style tapas, it's all good. Get in and have a go, but book ahead.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    590
    196
    52
    26
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great service, excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Ate here twice during visit to Barca last week. Both times had a tasting menu, and the food was really excellent. Iberian ham, duck timbale w/ potato parmesan, sautéed mussels with red curry and fresh basil, and cheesecake w/ dulce de leche where just a few of the top items we had. Great wine selections too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great tapas, not bad price but chaotic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We ate at sensi tonight and weren't disappointed as friends had recommended it but it has a down side. Mainly the food and drink is great and that's all that matters. It's always manic as it is a very popular place. The portions aren't stingy either so that's great. Service quick too but the tax wasn't included in the price so I was nearly caught out as only had €55 on me(left my card in the hotel as was worried about pick pockets) and it came to €53 which is a shame as I'd liked to have tipped 10%. Other than that it really is worth going here!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delightful and compact tapas bar/bistro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Good food and good service for small amount of money (prix fixe menu) including a (large) glass of rioja. Recommended for simple and representative Catalonian offering. Not number 74 out of 4,800+ restaurants for nothing! In the historic heart of Barcelona.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fun, friendly tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We booked here based on the reviews it had received on TripAdvisor and we were not disappointed. We had a reservation, and you definitely do need to book as the place was full by 8.30pm and there were disappointed diners turned away at the door. We ordered two types of croquette, pat as bravas, the duck, tuna, paella and had ordered the monkfish but they had run out so we were recommended the mussels by our waiter, and we are so very glad for that recommendation as they were probably the highlight, although the whole meal was delicious. The staff are very fun and attentive, and the courses are brought to you as they are ready. We really enjoyed it, and had we been in Barcelona for longer would probably have booked for a second night. The mojitos were also excellent! We would recommend to anyone visiting Barcelona.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sensi also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Sensi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sensi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.