We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Italian Treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Donizetti

Donizetti
Diputacio 137, 08011 Barcelona, Spain
+34 934 51 42 87
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #68 of 6,002 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $20 - $39
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Thanks called to reserve a table kitchen open 13:00 15:30 / 19:30 22:30
plano, texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Wonderful Italian Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Our party of six made reservations at this small quaint restaurant on Carrer Disputacio. It is run by a husband and wife team, she in the front and he in the kitchen. The menu is limited but the food is the star. We started with a burrata salad which was absolutely wonderful. It could have fed a small army. We also tried the goat cheese salad which was also terrific. The goat cheese was grilled and melted in your mouth. Entrees we tasted were spaghetti the Bolognese and the spaghetti carbonara. Both were exceptional and plentiful. The richness of the carbonara made you feel you were dining in Rome at Abruzzi's. It was that good. The wine choices are limited but there is a wine for everyone. And don't miss the frozen lemoncello. I've never seen it presented like this before for dessert and it is a fitting ending to a wonderful dinner.You will be treated like royalty by the owners who are very gracious and humble. When you need a break from tapas you can't go wrong with Donizetti's.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donizettibcn, Propietario at Donizetti, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Hello I read your opinion, thanks for recommending us on TripAdvisor. Yours faithfully, Marcello, and Bernadette ristorante Donizetti

Ciao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    49
    11
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A slice of heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This small Italian restaurant was one of our favorites in Barcelona. We didn't have reservations but luckily they squeezed us in with a smile and warm welcome. We feasted on complimentary salami appetizers and then enjoyed a pasta dinner. Afterwards, we were given glasses of Limoncello as a gift. Our server was wonderful! Please don't miss this little gem!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donizettibcn, Propietario at Donizetti, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind comment on our Restaurant, about our food and our hostess. We also liked your title, and we are ready to offer you more slices of this kind whenever you happen to visit Barcelona again. Marcelllo Di Prinzio - Ristorante Donizetti.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“family owned italian restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This restaurant belongs to the category of small and family owned.

All dishes are done with care and are tasty. I tried two out of the menu.
I regret not to have pizzas or fish dishes but overall was happy with the food.

The service is very good - they swaped the dessert to something I really liked.

Very happy would advice this restaurant to friends.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donizettibcn, Propietario at Donizetti, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Hello I read your opinion, thanks for recommending us on TripAdvisor. Yours faithfully, Marcello, and Bernadette Ristorante Donizetti Ciao
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good restaurant with a nice environment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

the restaurant was really good and the attention was outstanding (the waitress was really nice with us and very sorry about the delay we had) however, I must say the carbonara was really bland and tasteless. Everything else was really good and tasted home made (we order gnocci and quadronis as well as the carpaccio di manzo and the provolone with prosciutto)I would recommend expanding the wine list (specially the whites) because they have like 3 or 4 wines to choose from (reservations recommended as well)

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donizettibcn, Propietario at Donizetti, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Tanks for your comments,sorry for the mistake thad had the carbonaramay have forgotten to put salt
sincerely .Marcello di prinzio,(ristorante Donizetti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Very nice place. Small and intimate, quite quiet and low on staff, but with cordial service and tasty, fresh food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
donizettibcn, Propietario at Donizetti, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thanks for your comment and for your time you hope for when you want to.
Marcello
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Donizetti also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Donizetti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Donizetti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.