We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent but not perfect.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ABaC Barcelona

Save Saved
You added ABaC Barcelona to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ABaC Barcelona
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Tibidado 1, 08022 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #12 of 516 hotels in Barcelona
Povoa de Varzim, Portugal
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Excelent but not perfect.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The idea of an ipad at the room was very good. The arrival was not excelent. Our luggage was not picked up at the entrance and the service level was not as good as other same level hotels.
The restaurant was excellent and deserves the 2 stars.

The Lady at breakfast was a little strange. Trying to be friendly but a little professionalism more should improve overall quality.

The room was very confortable and silent. A enormous giratory Bang & Olufsen tv is opulent but not very user friendly. The remote control is confusing as well as the tv's software.

The toilet zone at the bathroom has extremely low light.

The material used in the bathroom construction or lighting when cooling makes some sound (a little disturbing cliks)

As you can see my comments are small things which are easily solved. Anyway the hotel was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    180
    34
    6
    3
    2
See reviews for
19
148
8
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We were in the Restaurant in a party of 50 for a pre wedding dinner.
From the moment we arrived the understated service confidence and professionalism of all involved was immediately apparent. We loved the stylish garden and enjoyed a per dinner drink.
The restaurant itself is a joy with well spaced tables allowing plenty of space for audible conversation.
The meal was an absolute delight with culinary surprises, tastes that challenged and lifted the pallet. Course upon course served quietly, efficiently and professionally.
I have no idea of cost. Style confidence and stunning food and service. Highly recommended, the only other restaurant where i have dined that could hold a candle to it is Le Petit Nice in Marseilles. Both well worth visiting.

Room Tip: We did not sleep there
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stouffville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We chose this hotel because of the reputation of it's restaurant. We were not disappointed. The 14 course tasting dinner was phenomenal. The wait staff were so attentive. Ratio of staff to guests is nearly 1:1. Front desk staff knew who we were by name and were very helpful at all times. There was a fire in the hotel 48 hrs before our arrival. The smell of smoke was noticeable in our room, but the hotel provided us with a filter which worked exceptionally well.
Bathroom was a bit of a disappointment. Shower was small with unusual drain which did leak onto the bathroom floor, however the rooms are well appointed and soundproof.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Excellent hotel, location, staff, spa, and service! Oh, and Jordi Cruz runs the restaurant! We will return to Barcelona and when we do, we will return to the ABaC. Our meal at the restaurant was a memory, indeed. Go there and do that!

Room Tip: We had a terrace and would ask for the same room again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed here for 5 days in September, and was extremely impressed; great staff, rooms, and food.

Stayed in a deluxe room, spacious, quiet and modern. Excellent huge bathroom, with great rain shower. Very impressed that manager showed us to our room, and explained all the quirks of the lighting, curtains etc.

Staff overall were exceptional, great attention to detail. On check in, we were given a map, and guided through all the sites of the city and how to get there. Really impressed also by the lady in charge of breakfast. She was very warm, and almost motherly, and i have to say she served the best breakfast/brunch i have had in a long time. The egg speciality is pretty impressive.

Ate in the restaurant one of the nights, and it was spectacular, well worth a detour! Again, great personal service, explanation of the courses and good wine. Chef here worth at least two stars.

Location is ideal if you want a hotel in city centre, but slightly away from crowds of tourists. It's about 10-15 mins by metro/rail to placa de catalunya. Also there are some great eateries near the hotel, and some unusual ones!

Overall, i couldn't recommend this hotel enough, ideal for short to long breaks, and you should definitely eat at the restaurant once. It is an experience not to be missed

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
genova
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Well, we had chosen this hotel because we thought we wanted to have a treat before to head back home,with it's michelin fame,it's location,and it's sleek design,it's sounded perfect,but
A.
A Gourmet Treat
With it's 12courses ABaC menu,seem like a joke,it's all served in what we called a spirit house portion,too small of a portion,and not so good of what you've expected as for the level of the restaurant of this fame and categories.
The waiter are not very professional,I mean ,they just slide the dishes on to your table just like they did when they return the empty dishes back to the kitchen,perhaps it's a sunday night and they wanted to get it done as soon as possible.
B.
Being born as a restaurant
They seem to understand also the need of accommodation,but on doing so,it should be automatically give a priority to the guests who've booked the room there,doesn't matter if they going to spend the evening there or not,but considered the fact that it's some distance from the centre and the michelin fame,it would be enough to underline the fact that 's why we've chosen to stay there.
For us ,it's been a few hours before the table is confirmed,and only in the outside terrace,which perhaps is supposed to be for the waiting listed or un important guested?Of the way the waiter treated us,we guess it is.
aC
I must say the breakfast is very good(my husband got sicked,after the famous 12courses menu,and taking only immodium in the next 2 days,so it's only me for breakfast)and as well as the club sandwich,it's the most delicious I ever had,So,you started to think it could be a mistake or sadly a mis management ? I mean,the room are comfortable and functional,as well as the sleek designed,well located,for someone who look for a tranquility, the restaurant have to aCt differently in order to keep up with the good reviews that they've got and with them good intention and understanding they will reach only to the top!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnhout, Antwerpen, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I stayed here for my 40th birthday and loved every minute of it. Friendly staff, michelin restaurant, wonderful room equiped with the latest high tech, amazing bedding slept like a princess. We had breakfast just across the street (bakery) with lovely bread, cakes, ,,,, sweet and savoury. Bus stop in front of the door. If you like strolling around during the night time there is little to see ... So we combined this hotel with hotel ohm .... Location ohm hotel but overall comfort and food experience 10/10 for Abac.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ABaC Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABaC Barcelona

Address: Avenida Tibidado 1, 08022 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#11 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#33 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#74 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — ABaC Barcelona 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GASTRONOMY, ARCHITECTURE AND DESIGN... A UNIQUE GOURMET EXPERIENCE ABaC Restaurant Hotel Monument 5* GL is located in Sarria-Sant Gervasi, the upper zone of Barcelona, with views to the Kennedy square and surrounded with the vegetation of La Tamarita gardens. Close to the most important points of the city. Work of the architect Antoni de Moragas, consists of two buildings integrated in a garden. The centennial building was refurbished due to its historical value and it was the old residence of Dona Madronita, an intellectual of the born Catalan bourgeoisie at the end of XIX century. She was the daughter of the famous pharmacist Dr. Andreu, and she was the wife of the North American Max Klein (president of the Chamber of Commerce of the United States and one of the introducers of the basketball in Spain). On the other hand, the new crystal pavilion is covered of lattices of wood and joined the garden. Landscape and architecture give themselves the hand in a space of pure lines. ROOMS The hotel offers 15 luxurious rooms completely soundproof, with a vanguardist decoration, the greater comfort and technical advances. Room facilities: • Totally soundproof. • Parquet flooring and exotic wood. • Independent air conditioning & heating. • Wireless high Speed internet connection. • Bang & Olufsen telephon • Bang & Olufsen 32", 42" & 50" television. • DVD. • Direct telephone line. • "Merten" remote control for lights and blinds. • "Nespresso" coffee machine. • Mini-bar. • Safety box. • 2x2 Mattress "Treca de Paris" • Linen yarn. • Gaston & Daniela textiles. • Working desk. • Jacuzzi with chromo therapy. • 40x40, Rain effect shower. • Welcome amenities: Hermes • Hairdryer. DINING In 2000 ABaC Restaurant opened its doors in his first location, Carrer del Rec 79 in Barcelona. In May 2008 changed to his new address in Avenida Tibidabo, 1. The gastronomy is the fundamental axis of the project. The restaurant awarded with 2** Michelin, and nominated by The Best Restaurant 2011 in Catalonia by the Catalan Academy of Gastronomy, can seat up to 56 diners. Located in the newly constructed pavilion in direct contact with the garden, the interior and the exterior are found through large windows. It is a caprice of whites, in all tones. In a calm, neutral and elegant atmosphere, the sense of sophistication is shaped by the small details and the materials used, as well as a sophisticated combination of lights. The kitchen of 200 m2 has been designed by Joaquim Casademont. It is a black container, in which stainless steel furniture takes all leadership, an effect that has been reinforced by the lighting, a route marked by leds serves as a guide and allows the guests to cross it. Rooms for private events with a capacity of 20 to 60 diners respectively, complete its restoration facilities. The "Lounge Bar", which opens until 2.00 p.m. and where the music, light and color of the room subtly change;There is also an extensive cellar, offering near 1000 references, and from which you can select your perfect wine. Chef Jordi Cruz and his team of young professionals develop a creative cusine of superb technique, based on the product and which meets both creativity and tradition. In addition, our attentive yet friendly service create a professional but relaxed atmosphere, which makes ABaC holder of 2** Michelin. MEETING-ROOMS Conference and events meeting rooms, from 2 to 60 people, equipped with the most modern technology. For whatever event you may wish to undertake, our highly qualified personnel will take care of every detail and will work with you in all aspects regarding organisation to guarantee a memorable experience for all present and successful outcome to your meeting. SPA - ELEMIS Located in a private area of the ABaC Hotel, this is the place to find the most personalised gift for our customers: Their Wellbeing. • Jacuzzi with underwater sunbeds • Cold pool • Hammam • Two treatment cabins Room 1: Water bed with sea waves effect and adjustable temperature. Chromo therapy Room 2: Double room. (Bed and tatami) • Cleopatras (Heated sunbeds) • Manual therapies. • Facial treatments. • Asiatic therapies. OTHER SERVICES: • 24 hrs. room service. • 24 hrs. concierge service. • Laundry and valet service. • Multilingual personnel. • Closed Circuit TV. • Fire extinguishing system. • Wireless high speed internet connection. • Parking. • Valet. • Limousine service and luxury car service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your ABaC Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abac Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
ABaC Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ABaC Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.