We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding, no words” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ABaC Barcelona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added ABaC Barcelona to your Saves list
ABaC Barcelona
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Del Tibidabo, 1, 08022 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding, no words”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

My best experience in an hotel from all the trips i have done, Little but comfortable spa ( the two times we used it there was all of it for us, prívate spa jajaj, I suppose because there are very few rooms) as far as I remember the spa has vapor sauna, cold water pool, jacuzzi hot water( sort of beds inside the jacuzzi, very nice) and great massages, spa out of charge fOr all guests. U got to try the restaurant, its expensive but it totally worths it, creative and delicious food. It is located in residential zone, u have very near tibidabo and it is like u where living in barcelona and just at the entrance of the hotel u got underground starion and taxi station and u will be in the city center in máximum 10 minutes. Absolutely recommendable

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    38
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
26
215
11
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We went there to celebrate New Year's eve and my son's birthday and that was an unforgettable night. The staff was most helpful and courteous, food and drinks were far beyond anything that one could wish, so were the music and the decorations. The hotel is far from the crowded centre and provides an ultimate intimacy and enough space for feeling at home.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

This ultra modern hotel is conveniently located near a metro station (just across the street). Located in a neighborhood, away from the main tourist area which was not a big deal for us since we had a car and with the metro being so close. The neighborhood does not have many restaurants, but there is a nice bakery/cafe across the street that makes excellent cappuccinos, bread, croissants, pastries, and ready made sandwiches. Although the hotel offers breakfast with a nice selection of breakfast items, we preferred the cafe across the street for having coffee, croissants and fresh squeezed OJ every morning. There are also several small markets within a 5 minute walk for picking up fruit, wine, gourmet goodies, etc. I would HIGHLY recommend making a reservation for dinner at the hotel restaurant. It's a bit pricey, but well worth the experience. There is seating available inside or outside on the garden patio. Although the patio garden is a beautiful setting, I would advise sitting inside due to loud traffic noise that somewhat distracted from the whole culinary experience. Also, we did get surprised by a rain shower later in the evening and had to be moved inside to finish our dessert course. Our room was very quiet despite the fact it was facing a busy street. The accommodations are quite modern with tastefully appointed, generously sized rooms and bathrooms. The bed and down filled pillows were very comfortable and dressed in quality bed linens. The hotel is very private and secure with several gated entrances and a gated underground garage. Most importantly the staff was extremely nice and very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Alabama, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Booked 2 rooms, the deluxe and the superior. Superior had a nice size terrace. Upon arrival, we were met by 2 bellmen who took our baggage and escorted us upstairs to check-in. This hotel has only 15 rooms. The staff were personable and worked hard to make sure that we were taken care of. The hotel is housed in the former location of the United States embassy, which is why the location is so secluded. The hotel is not in the center of Barcelona, but Plaça Catalunya and the city center are a 5 minute metro or taxi ride away. Rooms were stylish and neat and the hotel is very contemporary. Breakfast does not have a huge variety, but it does suffice. Everything that comes out of that kitchen is handmade from scratch. Make sure to have dinner at the Restaurant. Having been to Barcelona three times, this hotel has been one the best I've ever had the pleasure of staying in. Their website has many pictures and information that helped us choose it. Amazing Amazing Amazing!

Room Tip: Go for the superior or the deluxe. The superior is smaller than the deluxe but has a large terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Let's get two things out of the way. 1. This hotel is not, by any stretch of the imagination, cheap. 2. It is not in the centre of Barcelona. If you can cope with the short tube or taxi journey, and want to support the Spanish economy, it's a great, stylish choice.

The hotel is in a modern, apparently purpose-built building, in 2 distinct blocks, and also houses a Michelin starred restaurant. This review refers to the hotel only and not the restaurant. We had a warm welcome from the staff (who appeared slightly amazed we didn't need help with our luggae; clearly we were under-baggaged by their well-heeled standards, but really, who needs more than a rucksack for a sunny weekend away?). There was a welcome glass of Cava while they explained a little about the city and gave us a map, making recommendations about where we should go when they heard it was our first time in Barcelona. All of their recommendations that we had time to try, e.g. where to get good paella, were worthwhile. One especially good piece of service was that they recommended booking online for La Sagrada Familia (i.e. the Gaudi church) and even booked online for us and printed out the tickets at no cost. We were able to waltz past the enormous queue and go straight in. It would have beenworth going just for the pleasure of walking past the queue!

We were walked up to our room and the lighting system was explained to us (valuable; saved us that game of "hunt the lightswitch" which you often end up having to play at bedtime in hotels). The room was spacious, stylish and comfortable, with lovely Hermes toiletries and a funky square sink that was actually functional. The one-way mirrored glass in the toilet door was a bit disconcerting, mind. Although the hotel is in quite a noisy location, by a major roundabout, the glazing and curtains were effective, giving us a quiet, dark room and a very comfortable two night's sleep.

Breakfast was delicious; we got fresh orange juice, a really nice bowl of fruit with basil granita, posh yoghurts, breads & pastries, a Jamon Iberico sandwich and a wonderful slow-poached egg (with a tiny bit of parmesan-y mashed potato; cheffy, but nicer for breakfast than you'd think). It did seem to be one of those hotels where you worry they are fattening you up for medical experimentation - two full-sized chocolate bars each placed on the pillow wasn't quite what I was after as a bed time snack after the 7 course tasting menu (we took 'em home though).

There is a cavernous bar in the basement where they do a good range of cocktails and spirits; there's also a walled garden area for drinks or breakfast, which is a luxury, albeit a traffic-noise-disturbed luxury, in a city hotel.

Room Tip: If you're staying for more than a weekend you may like to ask about the rooms with private terra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We visited this beautiful boutique hotel last Sept and I am sorry this review was not written sooner. We arrived around 8.00am and we were upgraded to a larger room than we had booked and our room was ready for us straight away and no need to wait around for checkin so this was greatly appreciated. Staff were friendly and helpful in explaining the features of the hotel. The hotel was quiet and we did not experience any noise with regards to traffic or within the hotel itself. The wow factor for us was the rainshower, bathroom, bang &olfsen and in general everything about the room. Breakfast was amazingly good with handmade breads, sweet pastries and an unusual take on bacon and eggs. No one does hams and bacon better than the Spanish. Location was perfect for us as the tourist bus stop was right out the front and we used this everyday while in Barcelona. Taxis are always available but beware as we were stung with an excessive taxi fare from the port to the hotel. If in doubt about the fare ask for a reciept! We did not use the spa as we were limited to only a few days here. The only big disppointment for us was that coming all the way from Australia we missed out on dining at the main restaurant as this was closed on both our nights there. We would have loved to see that restaurant open 7 nights a week, but we had the meal of our lives at Montiels Restaurant located very close to the Picasso museum. The grounds at the ABAC are beautiful and a serene place to sit and sip a glass of very good Spanish wines after the maddening crowds at La Rambla. Overall we loved our a time at this brilliant little gem and the fantastic staff and for a good price too made our trip to Barcelona memorable.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

We spent 2 nighs and were upgrated to a room with a terrace. very nice room very quiet inside but no way to spend time in the lovelly terrace...far too noisy because of cars. The hotel is a bit far from the center but in Barcelona you find taxis anytime everywhere. worst thing was the breakfeast. in a hotel with a 2 michelin restaurant you expect more than some terrible Danish pastries and croissants obviously industrial. the service was extremely helpfull very nice decoration and confortanle bed and a top diner at the restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to ABaC Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABaC Barcelona

Address: Av. Del Tibidabo, 1, 08022 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#5 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#27 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#55 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — ABaC Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GASTRONOMY, ARCHITECTURE AND DESIGN... A UNIQUE GOURMET EXPERIENCE ABaC Restaurant Hotel Monument 5* GL is located in Sarria-Sant Gervasi, the upper zone of Barcelona, with views to the Kennedy square and surrounded with the vegetation of La Tamarita gardens. Close to the most important points of the city. Work of the architect Antoni de Moragas, consists of two buildings integrated in a garden. The centennial building was refurbished due to its historical value and it was the old residence of Dona Madronita, an intellectual of the born Catalan bourgeoisie at the end of XIX century. She was the daughter of the famous pharmacist Dr. Andreu, and she was the wife of the North American Max Klein (president of the Chamber of Commerce of the United States and one of the introducers of the basketball in Spain). On the other hand, the new crystal pavilion is covered of lattices of wood and joined the garden. Landscape and architecture give themselves the hand in a space of pure lines. ROOMS The hotel offers 15 luxurious rooms completely soundproof, with a vanguardist decoration, the greater comfort and technical advances. Room facilities: • Totally soundproof. • Parquet flooring and exotic wood. • Independent air conditioning & heating. • Wireless high Speed internet connection. • Bang & Olufsen telephon • Bang & Olufsen 32", 42" & 50" television. • DVD. • Direct telephone line. • "Merten" remote control for lights and blinds. • "Nespresso" coffee machine. • Mini-bar. • Safety box. • 2X2 Mattress "Treca de Paris" • Linen yarn. • Gaston & Daniela textiles. • Working desk. • Jacuzzi with chromo therapy. • 40X40, Rain effect shower. • Welcome amenities: Hermes • Hairdryer. DINING In 2000 ABaC Restaurant opened its doors in his first location, Carrer del Rec 79 in Barcelona. In May 2008 changed to his new address in Avenida Tibidabo, 1. The gastronomy is the fundamental axis of the project. The restaurant awarded with 2** Michelin, and nominated by The Best Restaurant 2011 in Catalonia by the Catalan Academy of Gastronomy, can seat up to 56 diners. Located in the newly constructed pavilion in direct contact with the garden, the interior and the exterior are found through large windows. It is a caprice of whites, in all tones. In a calm, neutral and elegant atmosphere, the sense of sophistication is shaped by the small details and the materials used, as well as a sophisticated combination of lights. The kitchen of 200 m2 has been designed by Joaquim Casademont. It is a black container, in which stainless steel furniture takes all leadership, an effect that has been reinforced by the lighting, a route marked by leds serves as a guide and allows the guests to cross it. Rooms for private events with a capacity of 20 to 60 diners respectively, complete its restoration facilities. The "Lounge Bar", which opens until 2.00 P.M. And where the music, light and color of the room subtly change;There is also an extensive cellar, offering near 1000 references, and from which you can select your perfect wine. Chef Jordi Cruz and his team of young professionals develop a creative cusine of superb technique, based on the product and which meets both creativity and tradition. In addition, our attentive yet friendly service create a professional but relaxed atmosphere, which makes ABaC holder of 2** Michelin. MEETING-ROOMS Conference and events meeting rooms, from 2 to 60 people, equipped with the most modern technology. For whatever event you may wish to undertake, our highly qualified personnel will take care of every detail and will work with you in all aspects regarding organisation to guarantee a memorable experience for all present and successful outcome to your meeting. SPA - ELEMIS Located in a private area of the ABaC Hotel, this is the place to find the most personalised gift for our customers: Their Wellbeing. • Jacuzzi with underwater sunbeds • Cold pool • Hammam • Two treatment cabins Room 1: Water bed with sea waves effect and adjustable temperature. Chromo therapy Room 2: Double room. (Bed and tatami) • Cleopatras (Heated sunbeds) • Manual therapies. • Facial treatments. • Asiatic therapies. OTHER SERVICES: • 24 hrs. Room service. • 24 Hrs. Concierge service. • Laundry and valet service. • Multilingual personnel. • Closed Circuit TV. • Fire extinguishing system. • Wireless high speed internet connection. • Parking. • Valet. • Limousine service and luxury car service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Venere, Splendia, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your ABaC Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abac Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
ABaC Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ABaC Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.