We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hated it” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Merendero de la Mari

Merendero de la Mari
Placa Pau Vila 1 Port Vell, 08039 Barcelona, Spain (La Barceloneta)
932213141
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Merendero de la Mari is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,808 of 5,878 restaurants in Barcelona
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: La Barceloneta
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Hated it”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The only good thing about this restaurant was the view. There was not one thing we ordered that we were satisfied with. The calamari appetizer was rubbery. The fried peppers were indelible. The paella tasted like no other one I ever had. We left without eating dessert because we could not get out fast enough.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    60
    107
    51
    29
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Shellfish Cocktail and Paella”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

When some tourist friend drops by in Barcelona, I usually take him/her here. Our menu is often the same: Shellfish cocktail and paella or fideua. The wine: Blanc Pescador Premium. Having dinner in the terrace by the port completes a nperfect dinner

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Seaside Dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This seaside restaurant is a lovely way to escape the summer heat of Barcelona. It is a rare opportunity for al fresco dining in this very warm city. The menu is very straight forward, with selections by cold, fried, rice and pasta dishes, seafood and meat. Preparations are simple and the ingredients very fresh and delicious. Service is effecient, if not the cheeriest. Nice wine list with many local producers.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Really disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

Hi travelers !! I went to this restaurant with my girlfriend and we took on appetizer some shellfish, it wasn't not amazing !!! Then I took pasta with garlic and prawns... Well, the quantity and quality were dis casting, only 9 or 10 pasta in my plate !! All of these for 23€ :( My girlfriend took a paella... Looks like a frozen food .... So if you want to save your money keep walking in front of this "restaurant"

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Black Paella”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We ate Black Paella -which is my favourite- and Paella with Seafood and I can advise them both. The price is appropriate for a sea-side restaurant and the food & wines are great. You can listen to the waiters' advices about wine, they were really great

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merendero de la Mari also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Merendero de la Mari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merendero de la Mari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.