We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top-notch pintxos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maitea Taberna

Maitea Taberna
Casanova, 155 (Entre Paris y Corsega), 08036 Barcelona, Spain
+34 934 39 51 07
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #231 of 6,406 Restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $6 - $30
Cuisines: Spanish, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Buffet, Late Night, Dessert
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Top-notch pintxos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Great restaurant, excellent selection of pintxos on offer and really friendly bar staff who helped us choose wines and spoke excellent English (to make up for our woeful Spanish).

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    166
    48
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“An Auspicious First Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Hit this neighborhood joint right after a transatlantic flight with a 4-hour delay. Needless to say we were hungry but grumpy. This place turned it all around. Wonderful presentation of a great variety of reasonably priced tapas - both hot and cold. Go for the bacon-wrapped dates! Some of the more flavorful sausages and fish did not appeal to the teenagers, but nothing was less than high quality. Great, inexpensive wine options. And a really nice, "this is where we eat on Saturdays with our friends" kind of feel. Lots of very hospitable locals and unobtrusive but kind service. We plan to become regulars before we leave.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverell
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Tapas delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We were in Barcelona for five nights and went to this restaurant three times. We have not really experienced tapas before and found that the staff, food and service was excellent. It was a short walk from our hotel which was even better, after spending most of the days on our feet. The selection of tapas was ample and one night we went way too far and had 21 between us!! Excellent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A bit disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We went there based on the reviews and there wasn't really a choice of cold tapas on the display. We ordered hot tapas - there was a huge choice of those and English menu available. They were OK but all of us found them too greasy. We had much better tapas on the first day in Ciudad Condal.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Great Tapas Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Last week when we were in Barcelona we wanted to do a Tapas tour. Rather than book an expensive tour, we decided to find a few Tapas bars and do it our self’s! The first place we stopped at was Maitea Taberna, ad it was a fantastic tapas bar!

We really enjoyed the food and it really had a nice atmosphere and looks like a favourite place with the locals.

We have never been to a Tapas bar before, so the lady at the counter explained to us how it works… We pick the food from the counter whenever we want (there was a very large selection), and keep the toothpicks! At the end of the evening they count the toothpick and charge you accordingly. All the tapas were priced the same 1.60 Euros!

I would definitely visit them again when in Barcelona!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maitea Taberna also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Maitea Taberna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maitea Taberna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.