We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/Pallars 203, 08005 Barcelona, Spain (Poblenou)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #290 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2009

Stayed here for two nights, ( Thurs & Friday), before leaving for a cruise. Took the airport bus to the city centre at 4.50 euro each, then a taxi for 20 euro. ( included 2 heavy cases).
The hotel is situated on the fringe of the city centre, in the area called Poblenou. Its a mixed residential/commercial area, with a lot of redevelopment work going on.

The hotel & facilities are classic Holiday Inn Express. Totally functional. Bar, breakfast room, & reception are on the first floor. There is an additional seating area on the ground floor. The building is modern, I would guess only a few years old.
Our room was a standard double, with ensuite shower & wc, ac, tv, hospitality tray, desk, couch & adequate storage. It was comfortable & clean, & being at the side of the building, very quiet..
One minor drawback is no in-room safe.

Receptionists were very friendly, & gave us directions to the metro & shops. We also purchased our Bus Turistic tickets from them at a small discount over the set price.
Continental Breakfast is included in the room rate, & is presented buffet style. There was a good choice. Timing is everything here as It can get very busy. We took breakfast at about 8.30 & took our trays into the bar area which was always quiet.
Free internet access up to 20 minutes is available from 2 PCs in reception. Very useful.

The walk to the nearest metro station at Llacuna is about 10 minutes. Its an interesting stroll, as the area is a hive of activity. Small workshops, all manor of retail shops, modern offices & residential blocks. We did this walk a total of 4 times, including twice at night, & it felt safe. Never experienced any problems & found local people to be very friendly. We purchased single tickets from the machines at about 1.50 euro each. Instructions were in english & easy to follow. Trains were every few minutes, & clean, & it took about 15/20 minutes to the centre. We found it incredibly convenient & easier to navigate the metro than we thought it would be.

Turn left out of the hotel, & in less than 5 minutes you are on the Rambla del Poblenou.
This is a lovely tree lined street, with a supermarket, shops, bars & restaurants. You can follow it to the sea & beaches, taking around 15 minutes. This appears to be where the locals hang out. We walked down here on a Saturday morning, & it crowded with shoppers & the pavement cafes busy with breakfasts & coffees
.
All in all, we were pleased with this hotel. Its funtional, good value for money, & although the location away from the city centre may put some people off, we found that by using the metro, or a taxi, you could be at the Placa de Catalunya in no time.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    388
    219
    42
    22
See reviews for
344
217
30
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, Uk
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2009

The hotel itself is new and very well maintained. The staff are generally very helpful (except the one who told me to 'look on the internet' when I asked for advice about an attraction!!) and the rooms are a good size and very clean. As in all Holiday Inn Express a buffet breakfast is inlcuded in the price and there is a good choice of food in a well appointed room. The problem with this hotel is the location, I guess it could be called 'up and coming' as there is clearly a lot of development/building work going on arounfd the hotel (starting at 7am ever day, including Saturday, so keep your windows closed if you are a light sleeper!!). However, at the moment there is a lot of run down properties in the area and some very dubious people hanging around, including one who followed us from the Metro to the hotel and women who looked very much like prostitutes hanging around the Metro entrance in the evening. There is also an awful lot of dog mess on the streets which is not always easy to avoid! If I was a single women there is no way I would want to walk from the Metro to the hotel at night, even though it is only a five minute walk.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2009

The room was very good, comfortable bed, satellite TV with English Movies that you had to pay a small supplement for. It is a great hotel if all you want from a hotel is somewhere to sleep. It is in a very unpretty area but the metro is only a couple of blocks away that will take you straight into the centre.

Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shore, Quebec
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

We were quite anxious to find a good hotel for our first ever week-long visit to Barcelona and we settled on this Holiday Inn Express primarily because info we had gleaned said that it provided free breakfast. After a long and dreary flight, we arrived to a greeting that made us feel welcome - the room was bright and airy, with a very large window that we could open sufficiently to about 6 inches. The bathroom was modern, with a nice bath and shower. There was a nice liquid soap dispenser for the sink and a shower gel dispenser for the tub. When came time for breakfast...WOW! Juice and coffee at profusion, cereals a plenty, and croissants were the best we ever had anywhere! What a great way to start the day in view of the long walks in this beatiful city. At the end of the day, we were able to check our email for a free 15 min. period at one of the two desktops provided by the hotel, take a nice glass of Catalan wine at the bar before going to a nice restaurant on the Poblenou Ramblas, a block away from the hotel. We must add that all the personnel were very courteous and helpful to all our requests. all in all, what a find this hotel was. We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2009

This was our honeymoon trip and first time to Europe. We were catching a cruise 2 days after we arrived, and stayed at this hotel. The staff at check in was great, even though we got in very early and our room wasn't quite ready yet. When we did get our room shortly after, it was very clean, well stocked and comfortable....but a bit warm. The location on the hotel is perfect. There is a grocery store a block away that has everything you need, and on the same block, an entire area of great resteraunts, shops and stores. The Metro is just a few blocks away, and we easily found our way to Las Ramblas and the other tourist sites. As far as the staff at the hotel, they were VERY helpful even though the hotel was extremely busy. Jordi was the best!! He gave us so much help finding our way around, and getting us resteraunt recommendations, ect. He always had a great attitude and an enthusiasm for helping us, as we were newbies to the whole European experience.
It is a bit of a ride from the airport, but the cab ride only cost us about 20 Euro, and the cab to the cruise terminal was painless and not costly either.
Highly recommended hotel....we will definetly be back.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hale, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

A new hotel offering basic but adequate Holiday Inn Express type facilities. The staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms typical of this type of hotel - clean but functional. Breakfast is a plentiful cold buffet of pastries, cold meats and cheeses - but was overly busy at 09:00 during the autumn school holiday period. The hotel itself is a short metro ride away from the city centre itself on the L4 line from which you can alight at the Barceolneta stop for the port and beach or a couple of stops further to Urquinaona for Placa Catalunya and Las Ramblas. This is nore more than a 10 minute ride from the local Llancuna metro stop but don't be fooled that this is a city centre hotel as it isn't. The hotel is in the upcoming 22@ district which has a feel of urban regeneration about it but seemed to be perfect;lu safe even late at night.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILLINOIS
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

The location is not the best, but the subway is three blocks away. The location is remote and not many people on the street; especially in the evening. It was not an unsafe feeling, just remote.

The hotel was clean and quiet. The rooms were very, very small. The breakfast was great. It had everything you could want. Nothing was cooked to order, but there was an outstanding variety of food.

The lobby had free internet service. The desk clerks were very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express

Address: C/Pallars 203, 08005 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Poblenou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#181 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22@opened in May 2008.A privileged location within the new architectural project 'Barcelona 22@' with easy access makes the hotel an ideal choice for both business and leisure travellers.The Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22@ is located at few minutes away from the Barcelona International Convention Centre (CCIB), Forum Area and the beach of 'Mar Bella'. The Sagrada Familia, the Barceloneta area, Plaza Catalunya, las Ramblas and all the major modernist Gaudi's buildings such as La Pedrera & Casa Batlló are located just at few metro stops away and the Barcelona`s stadium 'Camp Nou' is located 6 km away.Our 186 bedrooms offer a refreshing modern decor, tea & coffee making facilities free of charge, internet access (WIFI in all rooms as well as public areas), flat screen TV with satellite and pay TV available. We offer a delicious complimentary continental buffet breakfast to all our guests!! We are looking forward to welcome you to the 'Hotel Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22@'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Barcelona
Holiday Inn Express Barcelona, Catalonia
Holiday Inn Barcelona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.