We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing customer service and lovely breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/Pallars 203, 08005 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #285 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“amazing customer service and lovely breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

staff always helpful we were given directions to the local attractions, maps i was recognised as IHG member. lovely rooms . just one thing was a bit ackward. We were told at breakfast to hurry up, but i guess this was because of the breakfast schedule. I really enjoyed the stay. Thank you !

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    350
    211
    37
    19
See reviews for
321
199
29
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Great location near the beach. It was also very roomy and clean and the staff was very pleasant and helpful. The reservation included breakfast which was European style. It included corsaints, rolls, cheeses and hams, fresh fruit and yogurt and NUTELLA to put on everything. It also included juice and all the coffee you can drink - cafe solo, cafe latte, cafe grande, and so on. This was a great start to the day and held us over until late in the day before we had to eat or drink again.

If you are a Holiday Inn member you will get free wifi so it is a good idea to become a member before you go.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSP
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The staff is nice, the breakfast is good, the hot is clean. Walk NE for two blocks and you are in a wonderful street in Pablenou. There is a grocery store the with reasonable prices. Walk four blocks towards he sea and you are there dipping your toes in it! Metro stop is only two blocks away as well.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

for the price we paid the hotel is great the breakfast is good and fast the only thing that I would add is some signs to show the direction to the hotel from the metro as most of the streets are all the same The best way is to use the Liacuna metro

Room Tip: a had a room on the 2nd floor and it was ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Let's be clear that average does not mean bad but also means not great.
The good:
- staff is hepfull and speaks English
- located very close to the beach...just 5 min walking
- lots of options to eat great "typical Spanish food" very close at "little ramblas" ( poble nou )
- well connected via metro to the center just 15 min, metro station is close as well
The not so good:
- beds are not comfortable feels like you are sleeping on springs!
- rooms are not very spacious
- cleaningness could be better
- was very busy with large groups
- something that bug me too is that the tv does not angle tors the bed it's fixed to wall!


Well that's my review pick was important to you and decide.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City22, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Ynotforsure,

Thanks for taking the time to share your review about your stay with us. We are glad to know you enjoyed our service and location the most. We are proud to offer an smart hotel away from the busy area of Barcelona but close enough for tourist purposes (4 metro stops to the city centre). La Rambla del Poblenou (next to the hotel) is a very known street by the citizens. It is famous by it’s day and night life (restaurants, pubs, supermarkets & shops ) and provide a nice walk of 10 minutes to the “Playa de la Mar Bella” (Mar Bella beach).

On the other hand, I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you found with your mattress and cleanliness. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose Holiday Inn Express for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,
Myriam Sánchez
Guest Service Manager
Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22@
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottestad, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We chose this hotel mainly because of the price. The neighbourhood is quiet. The nearest Metro is 5 minutes walk from the hotel. The breakfast was poor, the room was small, and paid WiFi is rare nowadays. Not recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City22, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear theSirraf ,

We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. Nevertheless, we’re sorry for any inconvenience you experienced because we did not live up to your expectations. Though we would prefer you had a better experience, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts, and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Myriam Sánchez
Guest Service Manager
Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22@
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights prior to our Mediterranean Cruise in June 2014.

The location is a little far from the tourists spots in Barcelona. However, there are 2 metro stops a short walk away (Llacuna and Poblenou) which was convenient for sightseeing. We had no difficulty with accessing the Barcelona sites using the metro.

Accommodation is quite basic..but acceptable for a Holiday Inn Express.
Breakfast was included...continental style breakfast with a good choice. However, the breakfast room tends to be very crowded with many families, so try to be early if you do not want to wait in line at the buffet. There are only 2 coffee machines and so there were always long queues for coffee.

We were given free Wi-fi and a welcome drink because of our IHG Gold Elite status, so we did not have to pay for the Wi-fi service. However, for other guests, they provide free internet services at the lobby.

This hotel is also conveniently situated (a short stroll away) from the Rambla de Polbenou, where there are numerous restaurants serving good food. We dined at the Rambla de Poblenou every night, instead of dining at the overpriced touristy restaurants in the heart of Barcelona.

There is a taxi stand immediately outside the hotel, and on most days, there are taxis parked at the taxi stand. Therefore, it was very convenient for us on our last day. We took a taxi to the Cruise Terminal.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express

Address: C/Pallars 203, 08005 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#178 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22@opened in May 2008.A privileged location within the new architectural project 'Barcelona 22@' with easy access makes the hotel an ideal choice for both business and leisure travellers.The Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22@ is located at few minutes away from the Barcelona International Convention Centre (CCIB), Forum Area and the beach of 'Mar Bella'. The Sagrada Familia, the Barceloneta area, Plaza Catalunya, las Ramblas and all the major modernist Gaudi's buildings such as La Pedrera & Casa Batlló are located just at few metro stops away and the Barcelona`s stadium 'Camp Nou' is located 6 km away.Our 186 bedrooms offer a refreshing modern decor, tea & coffee making facilities free of charge, internet access (WIFI in all rooms as well as public areas), flat screen TV with satellite and pay TV available. We offer a delicious complimentary continental buffet breakfast to all our guests!! We are looking forward to welcome you to the 'Hotel Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22@'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Barcelona
Holiday Inn Express Barcelona, Catalonia
Holiday Inn Barcelona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.