We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and poor.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/Pallars 203, 08005 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #286 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
Ottestad, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Cheap and poor.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We chose this hotel mainly because of the price. The neighbourhood is quiet. The nearest Metro is 5 minutes walk from the hotel. The breakfast was poor, the room was small, and paid WiFi is rare nowadays. Not recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City22, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear theSirraf ,

We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. Nevertheless, we’re sorry for any inconvenience you experienced because we did not live up to your expectations. Though we would prefer you had a better experience, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts, and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Myriam Sánchez
Guest Service Manager
Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22@
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    345
    208
    37
    19
See reviews for
316
198
29
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights prior to our Mediterranean Cruise in June 2014.

The location is a little far from the tourists spots in Barcelona. However, there are 2 metro stops a short walk away (Llacuna and Poblenou) which was convenient for sightseeing. We had no difficulty with accessing the Barcelona sites using the metro.

Accommodation is quite basic..but acceptable for a Holiday Inn Express.
Breakfast was included...continental style breakfast with a good choice. However, the breakfast room tends to be very crowded with many families, so try to be early if you do not want to wait in line at the buffet. There are only 2 coffee machines and so there were always long queues for coffee.

We were given free Wi-fi and a welcome drink because of our IHG Gold Elite status, so we did not have to pay for the Wi-fi service. However, for other guests, they provide free internet services at the lobby.

This hotel is also conveniently situated (a short stroll away) from the Rambla de Polbenou, where there are numerous restaurants serving good food. We dined at the Rambla de Poblenou every night, instead of dining at the overpriced touristy restaurants in the heart of Barcelona.

There is a taxi stand immediately outside the hotel, and on most days, there are taxis parked at the taxi stand. Therefore, it was very convenient for us on our last day. We took a taxi to the Cruise Terminal.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for two nights in July, it was convenient, clean and value for money.
The location was very quiet which is great in a big city and the staff were very attentive to our needs and helpful.
Our first room, the air conditioning did not work, however they did let us swap rooms as it was very hot and the second room was fine. I really do need to comment that the beds are very hard - this was in both rooms we had.
Breakfast was convenient, hot drinks, cereals, yogurt, cold meats/cheese and pastries. This was okay, satisfied the stomach, but do not expect gourmet food.
Lots of families seemed to be staying here, I think this would be a good priced hotel option for room size and suitable breakfast for families.
Location was good near a metro station and whilst it is quiet in the immediate vicinity, one block away there is a variety of food options and a supermarket. If you are willing to walk two blocks (5 mins maximum) we discovered a great restaurant that wasn't crowded, was family owned and had the BEST sangria I have ever tasted - Nou Trinquet located at 180 C/ Ramon Turro - they have tapas, pizza and other menu items which were all delicious, especially the meatball tapas.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City22, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Ness333,

Thanks for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay with us. We are glad to know you enjoyed the overall of your stay and our location, breakfast and service liked you the most.
We would like to thank you too for your Restaurant recommendation since it was not yet discovered by our house.
Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose Holiday Inn Express for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Myriam Sánchez
Guest Service Manager
Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22@
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

First all the elevators of this hotel are a bit scary, even though the hotel is new. The rooms are fine and quiet, typical Holiday Inn Express. Breakfast is a huge room with a rather average selection- no eggs, bacon, etc (or at least none that I could find) and there could be a queue.

The location is about 15 minutes walk to the beach, otherwise you would need to take a cab to Olympic port area, etc.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City22, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear JTF Brussels ,

Thanks for taking the time to share your comments regarding your last stay with us.
We are really sorry to know about the issues you encountered with our lifts. We understand that our panoramic lifts might not be of everybody's liking but we hope that this 1 floor lift ( which can be swapped for our welcoming wooden stairs ) will not deter you from visiting us again.

On the other hand please let me clarify that we do not provide hot breakfast ( spanish potato omelette only) , the Holiday Inn Express standard is a Complimentary Continental Buffet.
Regarding our location, please note that we are 5 minutes away from Llacuna metro station which takes you to the Olympic Port in 3 stops/10 minutes and 5 stops/20 min to the city centre.

Though we would prefer you had a better experience, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts, and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Myriam Sánchez
Guest Service Manager
Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22@
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worldwide
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Jordi gave a brilliant welcome and helped with all the local information which was very much welcome. The hotel was clean and friendly and the room was a very good size. My partner lives in Barcelona so knew the area well, we needed a night away as our Air Conditioning had stopped working so the Holiday Inn Express came to our rescue.

The room had perfect air conditioning, excellent size of both room and bathroom. Mattress was firm which I like and linen crisp and clean. Shower was super powerful and water lovely and hot.

Would recommend easily for 1 night or even more. Excellent location and fab local amenities and only a short walk from the beach.

Breakfast was very busy and we opted to go outside, but then we did arrive at what is most likely their peak breakfast time.

Would stay again and definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City22, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Flyingboy77,

Thanks so much for such a wonderful review of our house. We are so glad to know you really enjoyed your stay with us.
It is truly rewarding when a guest takes his time to share his delightful experience at our hotel and say thank you to one or more members of our staff members. I am sure your comments will reinforce Jordi to keep working in making our house a leader of excellence.

Once again thank you for sharing your comments. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely,

Myriam Sánchez
Guest Service Manager
Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22@
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I had stayed with my family in 2 double rooms. It is close to beach but far away from the city.The best part is its closeness to metro station ,super market and restaurants. The rooms are good in all aspects comparable to any business hotel. It offer free breakfast and is OK in all respects. The hotel staff is very cooperative and always eager to help. The worst part is NO FREE WIFI and paid is very expansive.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City22, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear
Dear drparmod ,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your experience during your recent stay. We are glad to know you enjoyed your room, breakfast and our service.
It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us.
The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.
Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose Holiday Inn Express for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Myriam Sánchez
Guest Service Manager
Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22@
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

The facility itself is alright; room was clean although bed mattress was so hard, I felt like I was sleeping on the floor, pillows not so comfortable. There was breakfast included that was pretty good, I just wished they had eggs. My big complaint is that I had to pay for internet access!! Why couldn't they provide that for free, starbucks offers theirs free! As far as location, not good at all. It's far from the tourists spots, set you back several €s if taking taxi. I wished I had known, I would have stayed in the Las Ramblas Catalunya area. The only good thing about it's location is being close to a catholic church, 2-3 blocks walk when we wanted to attend a Sunday mass, church was so close. But this being Spain, we probably would have found a church nearby anywhere we stayed. I also did not feel safe walking to the hotel when we came home late one night. I must mention that staff at the desk were very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear M I,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that you found our hotel staff commendable and appreciate your kind comments regarding breakfast served. On the other hand, it is truly regrettable that our beds and pillow fell below your expectations.

As for the internet service provided, it is not our intent to inconvenience our valued guest with the rates instead provide you with options that are sensible. Nevertheless, this point is also taken into account and will be considered when making future pricing strategies.

I hope that you give us another chance to host you again next time you visit the area.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express

Address: C/Pallars 203, 08005 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#175 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22@opened in May 2008.A privileged location within the new architectural project 'Barcelona 22@' with easy access makes the hotel an ideal choice for both business and leisure travellers.The Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22@ is located at few minutes away from the Barcelona International Convention Centre (CCIB), Forum Area and the beach of 'Mar Bella'. The Sagrada Familia, the Barceloneta area, Plaza Catalunya, las Ramblas and all the major modernist Gaudi's buildings such as La Pedrera & Casa Batlló are located just at few metro stops away and the Barcelona`s stadium 'Camp Nou' is located 6 km away.Our 186 bedrooms offer a refreshing modern decor, tea & coffee making facilities free of charge, internet access (WIFI in all rooms as well as public areas), flat screen TV with satellite and pay TV available. We offer a delicious complimentary continental buffet breakfast to all our guests!! We are looking forward to welcome you to the 'Hotel Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22@'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Barcelona
Holiday Inn Express Barcelona, Catalonia
Holiday Inn Barcelona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.