We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic business hotel - breakfast very average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/Pallars 203, 08005 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #285 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Basic business hotel - breakfast very average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

First all the elevators of this hotel are a bit scary, even though the hotel is new. The rooms are fine and quiet, typical Holiday Inn Express. Breakfast is a huge room with a rather average selection- no eggs, bacon, etc (or at least none that I could find) and there could be a queue.

The location is about 15 minutes walk to the beach, otherwise you would need to take a cab to Olympic port area, etc.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City22, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear JTF Brussels ,

Thanks for taking the time to share your comments regarding your last stay with us.
We are really sorry to know about the issues you encountered with our lifts. We understand that our panoramic lifts might not be of everybody's liking but we hope that this 1 floor lift ( which can be swapped for our welcoming wooden stairs ) will not deter you from visiting us again.

On the other hand please let me clarify that we do not provide hot breakfast ( spanish potato omelette only) , the Holiday Inn Express standard is a Complimentary Continental Buffet.
Regarding our location, please note that we are 5 minutes away from Llacuna metro station which takes you to the Olympic Port in 3 stops/10 minutes and 5 stops/20 min to the city centre.

Though we would prefer you had a better experience, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts, and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Myriam Sánchez
Guest Service Manager
Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22@
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    350
    211
    37
    19
See reviews for
321
199
29
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
worldwide
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Jordi gave a brilliant welcome and helped with all the local information which was very much welcome. The hotel was clean and friendly and the room was a very good size. My partner lives in Barcelona so knew the area well, we needed a night away as our Air Conditioning had stopped working so the Holiday Inn Express came to our rescue.

The room had perfect air conditioning, excellent size of both room and bathroom. Mattress was firm which I like and linen crisp and clean. Shower was super powerful and water lovely and hot.

Would recommend easily for 1 night or even more. Excellent location and fab local amenities and only a short walk from the beach.

Breakfast was very busy and we opted to go outside, but then we did arrive at what is most likely their peak breakfast time.

Would stay again and definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City22, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Flyingboy77,

Thanks so much for such a wonderful review of our house. We are so glad to know you really enjoyed your stay with us.
It is truly rewarding when a guest takes his time to share his delightful experience at our hotel and say thank you to one or more members of our staff members. I am sure your comments will reinforce Jordi to keep working in making our house a leader of excellence.

Once again thank you for sharing your comments. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely,

Myriam Sánchez
Guest Service Manager
Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22@
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I had stayed with my family in 2 double rooms. It is close to beach but far away from the city.The best part is its closeness to metro station ,super market and restaurants. The rooms are good in all aspects comparable to any business hotel. It offer free breakfast and is OK in all respects. The hotel staff is very cooperative and always eager to help. The worst part is NO FREE WIFI and paid is very expansive.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City22, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear
Dear drparmod ,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your experience during your recent stay. We are glad to know you enjoyed your room, breakfast and our service.
It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations and your comments are very important to us.
The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.
Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose Holiday Inn Express for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Myriam Sánchez
Guest Service Manager
Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22@
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

The facility itself is alright; room was clean although bed mattress was so hard, I felt like I was sleeping on the floor, pillows not so comfortable. There was breakfast included that was pretty good, I just wished they had eggs. My big complaint is that I had to pay for internet access!! Why couldn't they provide that for free, starbucks offers theirs free! As far as location, not good at all. It's far from the tourists spots, set you back several €s if taking taxi. I wished I had known, I would have stayed in the Las Ramblas Catalunya area. The only good thing about it's location is being close to a catholic church, 2-3 blocks walk when we wanted to attend a Sunday mass, church was so close. But this being Spain, we probably would have found a church nearby anywhere we stayed. I also did not feel safe walking to the hotel when we came home late one night. I must mention that staff at the desk were very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear M I,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that you found our hotel staff commendable and appreciate your kind comments regarding breakfast served. On the other hand, it is truly regrettable that our beds and pillow fell below your expectations.

As for the internet service provided, it is not our intent to inconvenience our valued guest with the rates instead provide you with options that are sensible. Nevertheless, this point is also taken into account and will be considered when making future pricing strategies.

I hope that you give us another chance to host you again next time you visit the area.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All over Europe
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

What exactly was Holiday Inn thinking with the daft 'express' concept? As far as I can tell Express basically means reducing any and all service and amenities with little benefit to the price charged. The hotel is far from the town and though there is a subway a few blocks off there is really not much in terms of things to see or restaurants to visit. Further, the hotel is full of thieves. One fellow guest had his suitcase stolen in a nice little bait-and-switch with a falling billboard right in front of the check in desk! They even have signs in the elevators warning you not to bring your valuables into the breakfast room. Though I use the term 'breakfast' loosely - which I would compare more to a wretched round up of the cheapest fare from the nearest careffour. Rooms are a shambles and look like they haven't been painted since this little box was built. it gives me great happiness to never, ever, have to come near this place ever again in my life.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
City22, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear TripTestDummy,

Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your experience during your recent stay.
We would like to apologize for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced during your stay with us. It is certainly not our intent to inconvenience our valued customers, but to instead provide good value, comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Your feedback is of great importance to us and allows us to monitor and improve our service continually.
We are really sorry to know that our concept of a 3* limited service hotel were not of your liking.
The Holiday Inn Express brand, offer simple but smart and clean rooms ( free up to 2 children sharing the rooms with 2 adults) and Complimentary Continental Breakfast for a good value.
Our hotel although it is not located in the very city centre, it is close enough for tourist purposes (4 metro stops to the city centre). La Rambla del Poblenou (one block from the hotel) is a very known street by the citizens. It is famous by its day and night life (restaurants, pubs, supermarkets & shops ) and provide a nice walk of 10 minutes to the “Playa de la Mar Bella” (Mar Bella beach).
Unfortunately, it is true that we receive the bad consequences of being in a very touristic city. The pick pockets in public areas and public transportation are a sad reality common in all big touristic cities around the world. Our efforts to fight these inconveniences are focus in our in-house security and preventing our guests about all the situations that can occur inside or outside our doors.

Once again, thank you for sharing your comments. We hope that our clarifications can give you a more accurate idea about our brand concept and you can give us the opportunity of serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Myriam Sánchez
Guest Service Manager
Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22@
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

The best advantage of the hotel is its location. In terms of cleanliness and maintenance - not satisfactory. The rooms are okay but look poorly maintained and need improvement on cleanliness standards. Breakfast is good (provided it's included in the price).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Darena C,

Thank you for your recent stay with us. It is nice to know that our location was suitable during your visit to the area and that you enjoyed our breakfast selections. Conversely, it is regrettable that the overall condition and cleanliness of the hotel did not live up to your expectations. I apologize for any inconvenience these aspects have caused.

Please know that we take all guest reviews very seriously, and that appropriate action will be taken to improve the quality and service that we provide. We would definitely like for you to come back and give us another try.

Sincerely,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Just the right place to crash out at the end of the day, wake up to a functional loo and shower and a decent breakfast ( wish they had eggs to order/ or just any way)...
Please do not expect anything much as it's an Express Hotel.
Minus points: Far from Rambla Catalunia.. The taxi ride sets you back by €20
Underground metro by €4.
Plus points: You are at a 15 min walk from a clean clear beach far from the madding crowd. There is a look alike/ make belief Rambla at a 4-5 min walk.
Ice vending machine (complimentary)
Wish I could add more.... There is honestly nothing more to add....
PS. it's a good idea to book the Ho Ho bus through them as they genuinely offer a €2 or €3 discount per person.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear Raman V,

Thank you for writing a candid review. It is nice to know that you that you liked our location and amenities. As a valued guest, we appreciate you sharing your feedback as this is our best resource for improvement. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay with us more enjoyable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Barcelona.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express

Address: C/Pallars 203, 08005 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#178 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22@opened in May 2008.A privileged location within the new architectural project 'Barcelona 22@' with easy access makes the hotel an ideal choice for both business and leisure travellers.The Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22@ is located at few minutes away from the Barcelona International Convention Centre (CCIB), Forum Area and the beach of 'Mar Bella'. The Sagrada Familia, the Barceloneta area, Plaza Catalunya, las Ramblas and all the major modernist Gaudi's buildings such as La Pedrera & Casa Batlló are located just at few metro stops away and the Barcelona`s stadium 'Camp Nou' is located 6 km away.Our 186 bedrooms offer a refreshing modern decor, tea & coffee making facilities free of charge, internet access (WIFI in all rooms as well as public areas), flat screen TV with satellite and pay TV available. We offer a delicious complimentary continental buffet breakfast to all our guests!! We are looking forward to welcome you to the 'Hotel Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22@'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Barcelona
Holiday Inn Express Barcelona, Catalonia
Holiday Inn Barcelona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.