We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but far from locations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/Pallars 203, 08005 Barcelona, Spain (Poblenou)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #292 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Tehran, Iran
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but far from locations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

It is a clean and nice hotel but you should walk about 20 minutes to seaside which is one of the best of barca.
Staffs were freindly .
Back room has no view and front the street.
Overall you should visit barca .
It is really a beautiful city.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    387
    219
    42
    22
See reviews for
343
216
30
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Checked in on 28/11/2012 and out on 02/11/2012.Stayed with my wife and two teenage sons and they all enjoyed their stay.Staff were so helpful and pleasant.One member of staff at reception desk called Miguel was very courteous and helpful.Helped with directions to train station and other local stores.
Rooms were clean and bathroom spotless.Every day chamber maids cleaned rooms and changed linen and towels.
Breakfast was continental buffet and was from 7am till 10.30am.You could have as much as you want and it fills you throughout the day.The only negative is this hotel does not have a restaurant for lunch or dinner,but it is not a problem because just five minutes walk away is a row of restaurants.
I recommend this hotel to everyone going to Barcelona.You will surely love it.

Room Tip: Was in a room with a Queen bed and it was brilliant.I am sure all other rooms will be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I visited Barcelona with 3 children, aged 14, 17 and 17. The room we were given had a queen sized bed and a sofa bed. The bed was great, the sofa bed was not. If you are booking a room for 4, I would say that the sofa bed won't be suitable for anyone older than 12. We were only there for 2 nights, so I think it was bearable. This aside, the hotel was really very good. Bathroom big, clean and new. Breakfast buffet facilities were good, but beware the hotel is deceptively large and there can be a lot of people at breakfast. Reception staff very pleasant. The area is interesting, in that it is being developed and so you do get a feel for a real, old (and rather neglected), neighbourhood. If booking Barcelona again, I would not return to this area, as it is off the "beaten track" - though perfectly easy to get around on the metro, it is often nicer to be able to step out of your hotel into the centre of town - though if you are looking for a quiet area, this hotel fits the bill.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in middle of October 2012. We had no problems with the hotel whatsoever. The hotel is only 2 blocks from the main metro into the city and one block to the local rambla street, which is full of small shops, bars,restaurants etc. This street also goes down to the beach front which is only a nice 10 min walk. We walked along the beach front into the centre and there are loads to see as you walk along the front. We found the hotel staff to be very helpful and the breakfast each morning to be more than enough choice. We would certainly stay here again. Tip - must buy the T10 card to travel on the local transport, bus, metro, train, tram. Each journey would cost 2 euros but T10 card gets you 10 journeys for less than 10 euros. We even got from the hotel to the airport using the card, which meant that the complete journey cost us 1 euro each with the T10 card.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I stayed here for the weekend in December 2011 for the weekend. I enjoyed my stay. The breakfast was great. There's a wide variety of things to choose from. The hotel is not centrally located to the touristy parts of Barcelona but there are cafes, bars, restaurants and shops within the immediate vicinity of the hotel. I had a nice ice cream from an ice cream parlour down the road. To get to the touristy area of Barcelona its just a shorttrip on the metro. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Just come back from holiday inn city 22.are flight was delayed out of heathrow,by many hours,so we also missed our transfers,from airport to hotel.so we had to make our own way to hotel,we got train,no one had heard of this hotel at the station,also cab driver did not know this hotel ever.make sure you get take full address of hotel,not just holiday inn city 22 barcelona,get full address as on trip advisor.also hotel can be noisy.as traffic lights directly outside hotel,so traffic builds up,and is noisy

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Handy for both Llacuna and Poble Nou metro stations, and the restaurants on Rambla de Poble Nou, it is worth staying there just for the location. However, the service is poor. Ask for an iron and ironing board and you'll probably be told there aren't any - or have to wait a day and a half. Ask for an umbrella, and you'll be told it (the only one) is out on loan. Disappointing, given the reputation of the brand.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express

Address: C/Pallars 203, 08005 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Poblenou
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#180 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22@opened in May 2008.A privileged location within the new architectural project 'Barcelona 22@' with easy access makes the hotel an ideal choice for both business and leisure travellers.The Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22@ is located at few minutes away from the Barcelona International Convention Centre (CCIB), Forum Area and the beach of 'Mar Bella'. The Sagrada Familia, the Barceloneta area, Plaza Catalunya, las Ramblas and all the major modernist Gaudi's buildings such as La Pedrera & Casa Batlló are located just at few metro stops away and the Barcelona`s stadium 'Camp Nou' is located 6 km away.Our 186 bedrooms offer a refreshing modern decor, tea & coffee making facilities free of charge, internet access (WIFI in all rooms as well as public areas), flat screen TV with satellite and pay TV available. We offer a delicious complimentary continental buffet breakfast to all our guests!! We are looking forward to welcome you to the 'Hotel Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22@'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Barcelona
Holiday Inn Express Barcelona, Catalonia
Holiday Inn Barcelona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.