We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence Confused?!?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nectari Restaurant

Nectari Restaurant
c/ Valencia 28, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
932 268 718
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Nectari Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,605 of 5,883 restaurants in Barcelona
Price range: $34 - $68
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Continental
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Casablanca, Morocco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellence Confused?!?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Before leaving for the restaurant I decided to read a few reviews on Nectarine and was worried to see many negative reviews. This place was a gem! I had one of the most yummy and innovative. entrees I have had in a while. Prawn Ravioli sounded pretty basic but was wonderful with the most amazing texture and taste and totally different to what you may expect. We opted for a la carte and not the degustation menu as we thought it would be too filling. Three courses for us was perfect. Complimentary appetisers, broths and and chocolates added to the ambience and decadence of the evening! This is a really lovely place. We are 'foodie' kind of people and love a dining experience. This was one.
The staff, though confronted by Australian English, were helpful and very efficient and the wine list was broad and reasonably priced for a good product. If you are wanting a cheap night out maybe not here, but at 70 Euro ( approx.) a head including drinks this place is a must go!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    40
    11
    9
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Hordaland, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Why a Michelin star?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

This is the weakest Michelin star I have experienced.
I recognize the need for training waiters, but putting two trainees on a four person table is pushing the patience of your clients.
The food was of the kind that most people, interested enough in fine dining, to spend 150€ pro person one a meal could put together at home. Among the dishes were an oversalted pumpkin soup and chewie lamb racks the biggest disappointments.
On the positive side the sea bass was perfectly cooked. I alson find the price of 104€ for menu with wine pairing favourable.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olesa de Montserrat, Spain
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Despite having read some negative reviews, we gave it a try, only to confirm that unfortunately it is not worth at all the price you pay, by far. Needs to improve

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good catalan gourmet food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

A little over hyped - but the food was very good. Perhaps a bit overpriced for Barcelona - but the cuisine is innovative and very fresh. Service was friendly and prompt. We were put into a back room which was initially closed off from the rest of the restaurant where there was a very large group of tourists, but more guests arrived and were seated in our room - which made the ambiance more interesting.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Really enjoyed this place we stumbled upon because it is close to our hotel. The younger of the waitpersons was super helpful, and the food was excellent. We had the tasting menu, plus several decent red wines, and that included many delicious things, like a small but excellent piece of salmon, a fried tuna-like fish, lamb, many delicious tidbits (lobster, i.e. langoustine) in garbanzo, small piece of chicken with breadcrumbs and artichoke, followed by cheeses and chocolates. It was quiet and efficiently run. Very pleased.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nectari Restaurant also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Nectari Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nectari Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.