We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable but sterile” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Confortel Barcelona

Save Saved
You added Confortel Barcelona to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Confortel Barcelona
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Esquina Llacuna, Ramon Turro, 196-198 | C Eix Llacuna, 08005 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #183 of 517 hotels in Barcelona
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable but sterile”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Plus points about hotel:
Near beach and metro stop
Clean and comfortable
Nice roof top terrace with v small pool
Lots of restaurants nearby

Negatives:
Sterile hotel and lacks atmosphere
No actual bar, just restaurant that doesn't look welcoming

Booked as a last minute deal and nice enough but wouldn't stay again. Last time we stayed at H10 Barcelona marina which probably a better location and much nicer hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
confortelhoteles, Gerente at Confortel Barcelona, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you very much for your comments. We are sorry if the atmosphere of our hotel was not what you expected.

We truly appreciate all reviews from our guests, your comments hold greater value for us and will help our hotel in providing our guests with service excellence.

We are really glad to know that you found our location and cleanliness of your liking.

Best regards,
Elena Salas, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    187
    297
    86
    23
    14
See reviews for
106
281
30
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here in June 2013 for three nights. We were hesitant at first because it was a little out of the way. When we arrived we were impressed with the hotel overall. It was new and clean. Had a pool on the top floor overlooking the ocean. Small gym but newer machines to get the job done. There was a metro station (Llacuna) two blocks away (5min walk) which connected you with the entire city. Very convenient. Also, the beach was only a few blocks away. We walked all the way to barceloneta beach is about a 15 min walk so we did it one day but found that the area near the hotel was better. Less crowded and flatter.

We never ate at the restaurant because there were a lot of restaurants on a long strip close by.

Oh and the hotel provides 4 small bottles of water each day free of charge. The wifi is free and worked very well.

If you need to wash clothes while in this area, "Tintoreria" is a few blocks away. We were at the end of our trip so we had two loads of clothes washes, dried and folded for 20E. It's open from 9-8pm with a drop off/pick up.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights to attend a conference at CCIB. The room was dusty and not clean. We had problems with shower. Asked for a different room, we couldn't get it. The staff at reception was not helpful and very adamant. The linens were not changed every morning, we had to sleep with the same linen for 3 days before we complained. The breakfast was very expensive and not of good standard. The breakfast buffet was very limited and was charged 15 euros per person. I certainly would not recommend this hotel for stay.

Room Tip: Please do not go for triple rooms. Worst and depressive views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
confortelhoteles, Gerente at Confortel Barcelona, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Client,

Thank you very much for your comments. We are sorry if the atmosphere of our hotel was not what you expected.

We truly appreciate all reviews from our guests, your comments hold greater value for us and will help our hotel in providing our guests with service excellence.

We are really glad to know that you found our location and cleanliness of your liking.

Best regards,
Elena Salas, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The Confortel is a short walk to the beaches of Barcelona and the Poblenou Rambla. The hotel is clean and very modern if somewhat spartan in decor, grey wood veneer furniture with bits of red formica remind one of a 70s coffee bar.

It is a pleasant 3Km walk along the beaches to the Conference Centre (which I was attending) and an equally interesting walk in the other direction downtown or you can take the metro which is an easy 10 minute walk. The actual area around the hotel other than Poblenou Rambla is of little interest. There was quite a lively street party there on the Saturday night!

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, but my phone didn't work so ordering room service meant a trip to reception which was worth it because the food was good,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Clean, new, modern, very decent.

Their basic, rectangular rooftop pool opens after May.

Internet works in the rooms, if you have a problem with reception, try asking for a change of rooms. It seems to me to be at a decent speed, but everything is relative. The computer's internet in their lobbies are painstakingly, can I emphasize: painfully, boringly slow. If you are a person who needs internet do not depend on their lobby computers.

If you don't mind taking a 10-minute metro or bus ride into the heart of town it is well-located. Bus #6 drops you off at the door. Llacuna metro stop is 2-3 very short blocks away.

Many of the reviews say the reception desk isn't very helpful and while they didn't seem to know much about Barcelona, they were pleasant. Many reviews also complain about the neighborhood, which is a bit deserted, but doesn't seem menacing. In fact, they have their own pedestrian zone where locals walk their dogs and eat (much better food than in the famous Ramblas). Confortel is als are within walking distance of a nice, long stretch of beach with running/cycling paths, for fitness freaks.

Breakfast is very expensive: why not try out the cheaper cafés one block away and people-watch?

Room Tip: Above the fourth floor you can get a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a 3 night stay in this hotel overall a great few days!

Location:

We booked a transfer and it took about an hour from the airport after 2 drop offs. We did begin to get a bit concerned when we drove out of the city centre into what looked like a really run down area and then were dropped off outside the hotel in what appeared to be the middle of of a ghost town. However over the next few days we discovered that this was actually a great area once the shops and bars were open, and the hotel is just round the corner from the Rambla de Poblenou, a long, tree-lined street with numerous bars, restaurants and shops.

We had the best Paella of the trip in small place up here, and also some amazing tapas (plus a few sangrias!). We didn't use the metro / taxis at all and decided to walk into the centre each time - this does take long time, probably an hour to get to La Ramblas which is at the far end of the seafront, however it's a really nice walk, either along the seafront stopping off at the various bars, or along the Av Diagonal (Rambla de Poblenou meets this at the top - turn left onto the Rambla from near the hotel (right for the beach)).

The hotel is also really close to Port Olimpic, around 15 mins walk, where there are some great looking bars and restaurants. If you turn right here and head straight up the road between the two towers, you'll get to the Sagrada Familia around 15 mins later.

I wouldn't have chosen this hotel if I had realised how far out it was beforehand, however we really enjoyed the location as we felt we got to see parts of the city we wouldn't have otherwise seen, and saw areas other than the traditional tourist parts. Lots of work was going on and I expect in another year or two it will be even better round here.

Hotel:

The hotel looked new and modern, really clean and minimalist decor. We were on the 7th floor with a sea view, we could also see the edge of the Port Olimpic. While this was great, I'd opt for a city view next time, the Torre Agbar looks amazing lit up at night, as does the rest of the city.

We had the breakfast in the hotel which was buffet style, loads of choice and the staff were friendly.

The pool was open (early May) but cold! The terrace was lovely.

Hotel felt safe, you need to use your key card to operate the lift.

Be aware that on check out you may have to pay City tax - I wasn't aware of this although it may have been in the small print - this was circa €7.

The City:

Amazing place, we walked around it a lot but also took the Bus Tourisme on the first day to get our bearings. This wasn't cheap at €26 each, however we saw parts of the city we wouldn't have walked to inc the Olympic Park and montjuic with fantastic views. We ate and drank a lot, anywhere on La Rambla is pricey, but it was nice, also pricey for a drink around the major attractions. Plan well what you want to see! So much to see and do there's always something you'll miss.

Weather fantastic, generally felt safe, and it is a beautiful place.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, with a city view if poss - Torre Agbar and La Sagrada Familia are well within...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a bit late.

Traveled in April 2012. Clean, comfortable beds. Nice bathroom. Desk service great.

The thing that makes it a good location is that it is just 4 (fairly long if not used to walking) blocks from the beach. Close to tour bus stops and also close to subway station. It is also close to walking to the clubs on the beach.

We went for 4 days and it rained the entire 4 days so that put a huge damper on things..No Pun intended.

Grocery stores close by.

Nice little restaurant around the corner (can't remember the name). But we ate there all 4 nights.

Nice rooftop pool but it was raining.

Very nice Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Confortel Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Confortel Barcelona

Address: Esquina Llacuna, Ramon Turro, 196-198 | C Eix Llacuna, 08005 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#111 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#129 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#165 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Confortel Barcelona 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Confortel Barcelona is situated in a triangle formed by the Forum area, Puerto Olímpico and Plaza de las Glorias, only 10 minutes walk from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your Confortel Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Confortel Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Confortel Hotel Barcelona
Barcelona Confortel Hotel
Confortel Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Confortel Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.