We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meets world standards for new, medium-sized 3 or 4 star hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Confortel Barcelona

Save Saved
You added Confortel Barcelona to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Confortel Barcelona
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Esquina Llacuna, Ramon Turro, 196-198 | C Eix Llacuna, 08005 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #201 of 517 hotels in Barcelona
Panama City, Panama
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Meets world standards for new, medium-sized 3 or 4 star hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Clean, new, modern, very decent.

Their basic, rectangular rooftop pool opens after May.

Internet works in the rooms, if you have a problem with reception, try asking for a change of rooms. It seems to me to be at a decent speed, but everything is relative. The computer's internet in their lobbies are painstakingly, can I emphasize: painfully, boringly slow. If you are a person who needs internet do not depend on their lobby computers.

If you don't mind taking a 10-minute metro or bus ride into the heart of town it is well-located. Bus #6 drops you off at the door. Llacuna metro stop is 2-3 very short blocks away.

Many of the reviews say the reception desk isn't very helpful and while they didn't seem to know much about Barcelona, they were pleasant. Many reviews also complain about the neighborhood, which is a bit deserted, but doesn't seem menacing. In fact, they have their own pedestrian zone where locals walk their dogs and eat (much better food than in the famous Ramblas). Confortel is als are within walking distance of a nice, long stretch of beach with running/cycling paths, for fitness freaks.

Breakfast is very expensive: why not try out the cheaper cafés one block away and people-watch?

Room Tip: Above the fourth floor you can get a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    195
    308
    90
    24
    18
See reviews for
110
296
31
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a 3 night stay in this hotel overall a great few days!

Location:

We booked a transfer and it took about an hour from the airport after 2 drop offs. We did begin to get a bit concerned when we drove out of the city centre into what looked like a really run down area and then were dropped off outside the hotel in what appeared to be the middle of of a ghost town. However over the next few days we discovered that this was actually a great area once the shops and bars were open, and the hotel is just round the corner from the Rambla de Poblenou, a long, tree-lined street with numerous bars, restaurants and shops.

We had the best Paella of the trip in small place up here, and also some amazing tapas (plus a few sangrias!). We didn't use the metro / taxis at all and decided to walk into the centre each time - this does take long time, probably an hour to get to La Ramblas which is at the far end of the seafront, however it's a really nice walk, either along the seafront stopping off at the various bars, or along the Av Diagonal (Rambla de Poblenou meets this at the top - turn left onto the Rambla from near the hotel (right for the beach)).

The hotel is also really close to Port Olimpic, around 15 mins walk, where there are some great looking bars and restaurants. If you turn right here and head straight up the road between the two towers, you'll get to the Sagrada Familia around 15 mins later.

I wouldn't have chosen this hotel if I had realised how far out it was beforehand, however we really enjoyed the location as we felt we got to see parts of the city we wouldn't have otherwise seen, and saw areas other than the traditional tourist parts. Lots of work was going on and I expect in another year or two it will be even better round here.

Hotel:

The hotel looked new and modern, really clean and minimalist decor. We were on the 7th floor with a sea view, we could also see the edge of the Port Olimpic. While this was great, I'd opt for a city view next time, the Torre Agbar looks amazing lit up at night, as does the rest of the city.

We had the breakfast in the hotel which was buffet style, loads of choice and the staff were friendly.

The pool was open (early May) but cold! The terrace was lovely.

Hotel felt safe, you need to use your key card to operate the lift.

Be aware that on check out you may have to pay City tax - I wasn't aware of this although it may have been in the small print - this was circa €7.

The City:

Amazing place, we walked around it a lot but also took the Bus Tourisme on the first day to get our bearings. This wasn't cheap at €26 each, however we saw parts of the city we wouldn't have walked to inc the Olympic Park and montjuic with fantastic views. We ate and drank a lot, anywhere on La Rambla is pricey, but it was nice, also pricey for a drink around the major attractions. Plan well what you want to see! So much to see and do there's always something you'll miss.

Weather fantastic, generally felt safe, and it is a beautiful place.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, with a city view if poss - Torre Agbar and La Sagrada Familia are well within...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a bit late.

Traveled in April 2012. Clean, comfortable beds. Nice bathroom. Desk service great.

The thing that makes it a good location is that it is just 4 (fairly long if not used to walking) blocks from the beach. Close to tour bus stops and also close to subway station. It is also close to walking to the clubs on the beach.

We went for 4 days and it rained the entire 4 days so that put a huge damper on things..No Pun intended.

Grocery stores close by.

Nice little restaurant around the corner (can't remember the name). But we ate there all 4 nights.

Nice rooftop pool but it was raining.

Very nice Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Our stay started very pleasantly - we were given a room at the end of the 7th floor with views to the Mediterranean.
The hotel is quite "funky" in decor, and appears to cater to a younginsh crowd. While I say that,this was not a problem. The hotel was extremely quiet.
Our room was spotlessly clean, very well maintained and quite large - and this was one of the regular sized rooms. The decor is quite minimalist - a sort of "IKEA" simplicity with timber laminate flooring and comtemporary furnture. As a style, it is not for me - I certainly prefer plush carpets and more opulence, but it was nice to have something different.
A major plus - it is 1 block awayfrom Rambla del Poblenou - a great local pedestrian friendly street full of cafes, restaurants and bars which seem to be focussed on local residents. The food was good, and very reasonably priced. Our first meal with 5 tapas selections and a very enjoyable bottle of house red cost under 30 Euros for 2 - about what I pay for one plate of food at home (in Perth, Australia).
It is also very conveniently located to the Bus Turistic (City Sightseeing) Red route - about a 10 minute walk to the nearest stop. Great for catching the bus, but not so for getting back home. Because of the nature of the bus's circuit, it takes about an hour to get back from the city centre on that bus.
Another plus - free wifi throughout.
A warning, though, if you like to use soap in the shower - bring your own. The one tiny bar of glycerine soap provided lasted for one very quick shower.
Would I stay here again? Probably not. Now that I have a feel for the city, I would prefer somewhere close to La Rambla.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel on the higher floors will give you views of the Meditarranean. You may get charge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

PROS: This is a business hotel close to the beach. The staff was frıendly and the decoration was decent. There is a bus station in front of the hotel and the buses are super clean and comfortable in BCN.

CONS: But I was especially dissappointed about the rooms. There are basically the cheapest metal-framed squeeky, noisy beds in the rooms with the thinnest matresses. Instead of using comforters, they wrap up a gross wool blanket inside a bedsheet, accompanied by really bad pillows, which is so old fashioned. It doesn't make sense with the modern design of the hotel. The towels were VERY old, gray and stained. Breakfast was mediocre.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

THE BAD
* No irons provided in rooms.
* Room was too warm, maybe 24C or so (we visited in April when it was around 19C outside). There was air-con, but you could only turn it on when in the room, or at least with a door-card in the slot.
* Buffet breakfast expensive (for Barcelona). Would have cost us €10/person/day extra when booking, or €15 if you pay as you go. We breakfasted instead in nearby cafes.
* There was no plug in the bath - we asked once at reception for one to be put in the bath, but it wasn't. Also, bathroom door was noisy, needed oiling (Room 225)

THE GOOD
* Area is not "touristy", a bit run down, but felt safe. Only 100m from the Rambla de Poblenou, which has shops, cafes, restaurants.
* Near metro stations (Llacuna or Poblenou), both on yellow line. Metro system is efficient and clean, a great way to get around the city quickly.
* Room had small fridge with 4 small bottles of water (around 200ml), replaced daily.
* Complementary wi-fi worked well in the room, though I lost connection a few times.
* Free safe in the room.
* Room was spacious, not cramped at all
* My wife liked the hotel, and if she's happy, I'm happy!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

If you're looking for a hotel in Barcelona, this is definitely the one to go for! I have recommended it to all my friends aswell. It really was lovely, very clean, staff exceptionally friendly and helpful. Weather was fantastic, our room was on the top floor a couple of rooms away from the roof top pool (with amazing views) Loved the fact we got 4 free bottles of water everyday in our room minibar. We visited the confortel Barcelona 12th-15th April 2013. However wish we would have booked our trip for atleast a week! Barcelona is huge, and we didn't even see half of it. 5 minute walk from the beach, would recommend the beach restaurants to eat at.
If you're planning on going to Barcelona i would advise taking a lot of money, everything costs a fair bit. However we were on a budget but still had a fantastic time.
Our trip was a couples trip, although if we visited again we would take our daughter, its a great place for all ages.

Room Tip: Try and ask for a room on the 8th floor if possible. We didn't but luckily got put up there anyw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Confortel Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Confortel Barcelona

Address: Esquina Llacuna, Ramon Turro, 196-198 | C Eix Llacuna, 08005 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#118 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#133 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Confortel Barcelona 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Confortel Barcelona is situated in a triangle formed by the Forum area, Puerto Olímpico and Plaza de las Glorias, only 10 minutes walk from the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Confortel Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Confortel Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Confortel Hotel Barcelona
Barcelona Confortel Hotel
Confortel Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Confortel Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.