We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Barcelona” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Born

El Born
Passeig del Born, 26, 08003 Barcelona, Spain (El Born / La Ribera)
933195333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #600 of 6,679 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Fondue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: El Born / La Ribera
Bolton , England
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“True Barcelona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Avoid the "Irish Bar" crowd and go where the locals go. An authentic little bar in the trendy El Born district. Marble bar , tiled floors and dark wood. Great tunes and a good selection of local beers. I could have stayed here all night !

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    35
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Lovely Old Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Only popped in for a beer and a snack. Great old style decor and friendly service. A lovely place for a coffee and a snack whilst exploring one of the best parts of Barcelona.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Nice Lunch Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

My wife and I were in El Born and we were looking for a nice lunch spot. We saw El Born, looked it up on our TA app, and we decided to try it. They had Empanadas and Quilmes beer (Argentine beer), so we knew it was going to be good!!! It was nice to find a spot that felt like you were in Argentina. The food was perfect for that late lunch, and the ice cold Quilmes is always perfect. Especially on a hot day, like it was when we were there. Have fun going up the tiny super windy staircase to the toilet. One of the smallest staircases I have seen, and I'm thin!!! The sandwiches my wife ordered were very good as well. It was the perfect spot in El Born for that late lunch.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albinyana, Spain
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“rejuventated & raring to go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This area has been upgraded over the past few years and now with the reopening of the old market as a cultural centre it is definitely a place of interest. Great selection of small boutique type shops and also lots of choice for places to eat and drink both during the day and late at night.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Cool and relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

A lovely place to stop by and imagine the old days in El Born. This place oozes atmosphere and the service was fast and friendly with no twaddle. We just had drinks but the food looked very appetising.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Born also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to El Born? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Born, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.