We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great affordable modern B+B in centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Curious

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Curious to your Saves list
Hotel Curious
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Carrer Carme, 25, 08001 Barcelona, Spain (El Raval)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #28 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great affordable modern B+B in centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I can highly recommend this hotel. It manages to be as central as it's possible to be, just off La Rambla into El Raval, yet be quiet at night. The style is minimalistic and modern, but not in an impractical or uninviting way. All the monochrome also shows up how spotlessly clean Hotel Curious is kept.

The rooms are no frills; for example instead of a wardrobe there are two short racks with hangers and fold-out shelves, so it's perhaps not the place to come if you have a walk-in closet and an obsession with bringing its entire contents on holiday. But for a 5 night stay it was fine. The beds were comfortable, the shower flow nice and powerful and there was also a tiny balcony on the frontage of the old building which the hotel occupies - lovely for standing on late at night watching the world go by or for greeting the sun in the morning as the Catalan flags on the balconies opposite fluttered in the breeze.

The breakfast is your standard continental buffet, not outstanding but still very good. Coffee stronger and tastier than any you'd get in a chain shop in the UK, huge plump fresh croissants, hard boiled eggs, juice, fresh fruit, the rolls/cured meat/cheese combo, jams/honey/Nutella, yoghurts and cereal. It kept us fuelled for trekking round.

Value-wise I've heard Barcelona is fairly dear for hotels, so with this in mind I think we got a decent deal. We paid just over £80 a night for a twin room.

The staff were really nice - I rang ahead to let them know our flight was delayed and they were fine about it, told me not to worry. They passed a message on from home, and swiftly fixed the momentarily broken internet. We were offered maps, recommendations and help with our luggage. Splendid.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, a big thank you from all the team of Hotel Curious.

Hotel Curious is a small one star hotel in the city center where we try to make our guests feel like home. We are so glad that you liked it all, and our breakfast so much! All our products are daily fresh (fruits, pastries, eggs, ham, cheese, bread...).

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review on TripAdvisor about our place and we really look forward to welcoming you soon again!

Our best regards,

Artur Artigas
Hotel Curious Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    337
    64
    5
    3
See reviews for
156
457
115
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Hotel Curious is an amazing centrally located hotel , close enough to Las Ramblas to be convenient , but not too close. Yes it is a simple hotel room , but the important things get a big tick. Great bed , super clean , simple clean bathroom , quiet position and brilliant , helpful and importantly happy staff. It is next door to one of the best fresh food markets in Europe , and you can easily use the two streets back rule and find top food , groovy bars and artisans in their workshops making clothes and jewellry. Just turn left from the hotel and wander you will find real people living their real lives

Room Tip: Get one at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many many thanks for your nice review on TripAdvisor about us, and about Barcelona!
It is easy and clear to see that you enjoyed very much your stay in our city, and we are very proud for that! Barcelona has a magical and special charm and we like that our guests love it and take the most of their stay here with us.

We look forward to welcoming you any time you want to come back to the city!

Best regards,

Artur Artigas
Hotel Curious Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

OK, to be fair, I'll get the good stuff out of the way - the hotel was clean and the free breakfast good value.

Now the bad. I know hotels near Las Ramblas are well known for being small but this room was quite oppressive. It's as if when designing the hotel they measured a bed and 2 bags then gave you the smallest amount of room possible to move around the room. The same in the bathroom - the door would only JUST get past the shower (which meant the door was constantly in the way if open). Would be interested to know the euros charged per square foot.

Anyway could live with that but had a query regarding payment (e-mail from hotel not clear regarding pre-payment) and was dealt with by the most aggressive hotel staff member I've ever seen. Ranting and raving about 'not had a problem in 4 years,' produced a file of customers' bills to demonstrate his point and then mock-bowed. All done with raised voice. Completely spoiled our stay at the hotel.

Anyway, there are plenty of hotels in Barcelona, STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE! If they're all full, DON'T BOTHER GOING

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your review and the gesture of sharing our experience with other travellers on TripAdvisor.

Hotel Curious is a small familiar boutique one-star hotel at the heart of Barcelona and it is something that we have never tried to hide, we were never pretentious. It is pointed our in our website as well as in all our social networks.

We are aware that it is impossible to be loved by everyone, but we are specially sad about your words. We hope that you give us another chance and let us show you that our guests satisfaction in our small hotel has always been our main priority and we guess that this is why our service is so much appreciated, valued and prized.

Our best regards from Barcelona,

Artur Artigas
Director Hotel Curious
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The right price, the right location (a short block off the Ramblas) ...an excellent breakfast, and with the window closed - quiet in a noisy city. my husband would have liked an extra shelf for his toiletries and better reading lights. i was happy just the way it was - except for the elevator which was so tiny, i walked up six flights to avoid riding in it. I'd book here again, if we are lucky enough to return to Barcelona.

Room Tip: we liked ours - overlooking the street on the 6th floor - it was spacious and fun to look out the wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor! We all are very happy to hear that you had a great stay at Hotel Curious.

We take good note aout the shelves and about the reading lights. We consider your suggestions. Thank you very much. With our guests comments we can improve our services. Your satisfaction is a priority for us.

Thank you so much and we look forward to welcoming you soon!

Best regards,

Artur Artigas
Hotel Curious Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights on a short break to Barcelona. Really cannot fault the hotel at all - location is excelent, rooms are clean, shower and bathroom - exactly what you need, rooms aren't too small either. Breakfast is fine too - self service buffet as you'd expect on the continent. Woudn't hestiate to recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

WOW! Thank you very much for your great review on TripAdvisor. We celebrate that you had such a nice stay with us!

From all Hotel Curious staff, many thanks, and we really hope to welcoming you soon!

Our best regards,

Artur Artigas
Hotel Curious Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consett, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Just got back from 3 nights here, clean and excellent location, friendly staff and would highly recommend.
Minutes away from Las Ramblas and easy to find from the bus and metro stations. Staff more than happy to help and to make suggestions where to eat and drink. Maids thoroughly cleaned rooms every day and replaced bedding and towels each day. Breakfast was a simple buffet style affair, well stocked and served till 11. Would definitely come back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your sweet review on TripAdvisor about our place. Happy to read that you enjoyed our Hotel, our breakfast and our staff.

As you mention, we clean the hotel daily, change towels, serve breakfast from 8 until 11am (there's no need to wake up very early if you are on holidays!). We would like to add that we offer free WIFI and breakfast in all rates.

From all members of Hotel Curious team, we would like to thank you so much, and look forward to welcoming you soon again at Hotel Curious!

Kind regards,

Artur Artigas
Hotel Curious Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, UK
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

Very nice modern hotel in a great location just off la rambla, ideal for making the most of Barcelona's nightlife. Was a little worried when i saw the "one star" rating on the wall outside, but the friendly welcome, decent sized room which was newly decorated, new bathroom and small terrace were much better than one star! Only downsides were thin walls and breakfast was only so-so (eg fresh orange juice was extra and there was no-one to ask for this).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Artur29, Gerente at Hotel Curious, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Guest,

We want to thank for your nice review on TripAdvisor. It is so nice to know that everything regarding your saty in Barcelona was so great, as well as regarding our place. Ours is a small, friendly and familiar boutique hotel with no luxuries but very comfy for a short stay in Barcelona city center, that's why our hotel is just one star. Thank you for the five stars! :)

Thank you very much! We are very looking forward to welcoming you any other time soon!

Our best regards from Barcelona!

Artur Artigas
Hotel Curious Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Curious? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Curious

Address: C/ Carrer Carme, 25, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#25 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#128 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Curious 1*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Curious is your new Hotel in Barcelona city center. A completely new and comfortable hotel in the center of Barcelona where you can live an experience both outside and inside the hotel. You will see that the walls of the rooms are decorated with large pictures of places and monuments of Barcelona. Its design is inspired by the four elements: Water, Earth, Fire and Air. A cheap, unique and familiar hotel at once.Our rooms are fully equipped: WI-FI, Air-conditioning, flat screen TV satellite, radio... Reached on foot from downtown Barcelona very near Las Ramblas, Plaza Catalunya, the Cathedral, the Gothic Quarter, the Port, the Mercat de la Boqueria and many other sights and tourist attractions, also thanks to the wide availability of public transport, with which you can move easily from the center of Barcelona to all parts of the city. Hotel Curious will make you discover the most interesting and innovative sites of Barcelona. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Curious reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Curious Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Curious, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.