We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely area to explore” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Garrotxa Volcanic Natural Park

Garrotxa Volcanic Natural Park
Spain
Improve this listing
Ranked #190 of 794 Attractions in Catalonia
Type: Geologic Formations, Volcanos, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Some of the most interesting volcanic landscape in Europe can be found in the Garrotxa Volcanic Zone, two hours north of Barcelona.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely area to explore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

La Garrotxa National Park has volcanic landscape, Romanesque churches, beautiful flora and fauna, medieval towns and villages with well signposted paths and trails to follow. We followed an easy trail to visit the Croscat volcano which has had a wedge cut out of it by quarrying exposing evidence of how the volcano was formed in two successive eruptions. We also visited the basalt lava flows in Sant Joan les Fonts to see the columns and slabs formed as the lava from different eruptions cooled. On another day we went to the small medieval town of Besalu with its romanesque bridge and picturesque streets followed by a trip to visit a selection of romanesque churches. We were staying in Roses, about an hour's drive away but I think that there is plenty to do in the area to make it worth staying there, I would like to go back. We visited just before Easter and the weather was sunny without being too hot and this helped. I can immagine that it may be a bit hot for walking in the summer.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    11
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A beautiful region of Catalonia to explore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We spent only a couple of nights in this region but would have liked longer. We found several interesting old towns to explore, starting in Olot. The little medieval town of Besalu we particularly enjoyed. This area is full of fascinating geographical features and is a wonderful place to explore by bike or on foot. We stayed at Hotel Can Garay in La Planes D'hostoles which was excellent.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Lovely peaceful area. Siempre es encantador”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

A lovely area to tour around especially walking up to and into the volcanoes. Attractive woodland paths. Many areas too for cycling. We visited the Santa Margarita volcano, which has a CHURCH on crater floor of the volcano. Volcanic cliffs to the rim of the volcano. A safe secure walk,wide paths , very occasionally steep. A place of mysterious beauty. A nearby village had excellent restaurant and shop dedicted to the local speciality beans. Worth buying these and eating the calcots ( a form of long shallot braised in almond sauce: they give you a large overall to eat these tidily.. part of the fun) in local restaurants. We visited while staying in Girona ( about 40 mins away) . Attractive beaches and small resorts also nearby.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russia
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
82 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Olot - a good point to start exploring La Garrotxa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

It was my dream to visit some volcanos in La Garrotxa National Park. Certainly, we have no much time, that is why I tried to plan everything, but unfortunately did not succeded.
By the way.
We stayed in hotel in Girona, and one morning went to Olot with regional bus.
Trip took about 40 minutes. As far as we arrived in Olot, we went to Tourist office - it is not far from bus station.
Our plan was: to rent bicycles, and go for one of 2 routes:
1. Olot - volca del Puig Jorda - volca del Puig de la Costa - volca del Croscat - volca del Puig de Martinya - volca del Puig de la Garsa - then next 3 small volcanos and return to Olot. According information from brochure on Olot official site, it should take about 5 hours (15 km).
2. Olot - volca del Puig Jorda - volca del Puig de la Costa - volca del Croscat - volca de St. Margarida - Santa Pau village. Then return to Olot the same way. Information in brochure on Olot official site was not completely clear, but in my opinion it should take about 6 hours (20 km).

So it should be all-day-long trip.

But girl in Tourist office did not recommend us such trips, because this day unfortunately was too-too HOT. In case we travel with car, it is not problem, but with bicycle or on foot - too difficult.
That is why we broke our plans (our family contains not very strong people - my wife and my daughter) and explored volcanos located in Olot.
We visited Montsacopa (exactly this spelling - many people mix central letters and write "MontAScopa"), and see the Garrinada (this volcano belongs to private property, so we just look on it from Montsacopa).
All other plans we kept for the next visit.
(But this day we succeded to visit Besalu)
Good luck!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downpatrick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lovely. Just lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed in the campsite a walk away from la garrotxa, and found the walk to be lovely. the whole place is extremely well organised, and i found the volcanoes not only very picturesque, but make for a very nice excursion.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garrotxa Volcanic Natural Park also viewed

Olot, Province of Girona
Olot, Province of Girona
 
Mollo, Province of Girona
 

Been to Garrotxa Volcanic Natural Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garrotxa Volcanic Natural Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.