We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful hotel spoiled by an inexperienced reception manager” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Marques de la Ensenada

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Marques de la Ensenada to your Saves list
Hotel Marques de la Ensenada
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda. de Gijon 1, 47009 Valladolid, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Valladolid
Blueys Beach, Australia
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“A Beautiful hotel spoiled by an inexperienced reception manager”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

We stayed here overnight during a three week driving tour around Spain. The hotel is beautiful and is a restored 19th century flour mill built over the Canal de Castilla. The building has been lavishly decorated and features portraits of well known people from the 18th century. The rooms are almost like guest rooms in a stately manor. Every detail has been tastefully reproduced and the result is a delightful luxury hotel. Breakfast was served a la carte with a generous array of delicious courses.

We were feeling very positive about our stay and then it "all went pear shaped". I had booked a non-refundable rate (on the hotel's own website) some months prior to our trip. I had requested parking and 12 euros had been added to our bill but when we arrived we found a park near the hotel on the street. The very pleasant young man on the desk told us that our payment had not yet been charged and if we preferred not to use the hotel's parking he would remove the charge.

When we checked out the Reception Manager refused to remove the parking charge. We speak no Spanish and her English was limited. She told us it was impossible to remove the 12 euro charge because we had a non-refundable rate. I explained that we did not consider the parking part of this rate and in any case the hotel had already offered to remove the charge. We stood at the desk of a five star hotel and argued with her for at least half an hour over 12 euros. To us it was a breach of faith to withdraw an offer that had been made the previous day on behalf of the hotel. If we had known we would be charged we would have taken advantage of the valet parking.

In the end we gave up and left. That evening I received an email from the reception manager apologising and saying the hotel had refunded the parking charge. Although it gave us some satisfaction this apology could not repair the damage made by an inexperienced, inflexible hotel staff member who needs to learn how to treat guests.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    29
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
19
91
2
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Although the hotel is very nice, with individual decorated rooms and easy located just outside the city center, it lacks to my opinion of several services to rate this a 5 stars hotel.

We have to take the luggage trolley our self to carry our luggage to the room :(

Overall good price for value and for sure a recommendation.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel Sep 25 & 26. From the moment we were met by Mercedes and Ines at the front desk, we felt the warmest and friendliest welcome you can ever receive at a hotel. Then, the recently converted flour factory to this lovely facility, gave us surprise after surprise, the rooms were very comfortable and well-equipped, breakfast service was great, and everyone was very helpful and kind.
Without being in the middle of all the downtown noise, you are within walking distance of the main points of interest. our trip was 3 weeks long, stayed at 8 different hotels, my group unanimously described this as the best experience of all of them, and we did not have any bad ones!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranciscoCap, Director of Sales at Hotel Marques de la Ensenada, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

First of all, thanking you for your wonderful review. It is allways a pleasure knowing that our guests are satisfied with treatment received in our hotel.

We invite you to visit us again during your next trip to Valladolid.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in September and could not have been happier. The hotel is extremely clean and has wonderful amenities. Shower had the power of Niagara falls, (while a shower at Avenida Palace in Barcelona ran like something from the 1800s). Staff was very kind and helpful. Amazing ala carte breakfast at very reasonable prices. The room itself was only 80euro a night. A steal. Free parking around the corner. Short walk to all the sites. Quiet as the wilderness due to thick windows. I would return in a heartbeat. Valladolid is a beautiful and friendly city as well. Perfect for evening strolls.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranciscoCap, Director Comercial at Hotel Marques de la Ensenada, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Sir,

We are very greatful for such a wonderful comment.

It is a pleasure knowing you enjoy the stay at your stay at our hotel and we hope you decide to join us again during your next visit to Valladolid.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a wedding and found extraordinary food & great service.
The rooms are nice, lately renovated with a beautiful ambience.
The prices are very fair.
We will stay again if we are around!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Spain
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have just finished our road trip around northern Spain staying at 5 hotels. All the hotels were good in their own way but Hotel Marques de la Ensenada was special.

The location is good, on the river with the city just on the other side. Access by car is therefore very easy and the reception staff will then park your car. The river has its own beach and promenade and so it doesn't seem to take long to get into the centre.

The staff were very helpful, the rooms were comfortable and the breakfast was remarkable, so different from the usual buffet: fresh food served at the table.

Valladolid was the surprise of our tour. Lovely place to be and we found an amazing Tapas bar.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranciscoCap, Director Comercial at Hotel Marques de la Ensenada, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear RhodH,

Thank you very much for leaving such a nice comment. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and in the city.

We hope we see you again during your next visit to Valladolid.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed one night in the hotel during our trip in Spain. The hotel is grat, nice big rooms with a very good working airconditionning ( pleasant in summer with outside temp above 30°C).
Np breakfast buffet, but served at your table, great and a big change from the big hotel chains.
Take into account that you will need a 30 min walk tot the city center.

Room Tip: We had room 106 on the first floor, with view on the city side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FranciscoCap, Director Comercial at Hotel Marques de la Ensenada, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Chris V.,

Thank you very much for publishing your opinion. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to cover your expectations.

The breakfast service is truly one of the highest points in our hotel, and our team is happy to receive such a nice comment from you.

We invite you to join us during your next visit to Valladolid,

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Marques de la Ensenada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marques de la Ensenada

Address: Avda. de Gijon 1, 47009 Valladolid, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Valladolid > Valladolid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Valladolid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Marques de la Ensenada 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Marques de la Ensenada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Marques de la Ensenada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.