We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Boutique Gareus

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Boutique Gareus to your Saves list
Hotel Boutique Gareus
Colmenares 2, 47004 Valladolid, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Valladolid
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“What a surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We found this hotel on the Internet at booking.com, we needed an hotel in the centre of the city. We were in our own car and also needed parking. Our sat nav took us straight to the hotel and its secure underground car park. It is in the centre of the city yet very quiet. The rooms are superb, immaculate, new decorations, great bed. It was so convenient that we opted to stay a further night thus giving us time to fully explore the city. The hotel does not have a dining room which it not unusual in the centre of a city in Spain. Plenty of good restaurants within easy walking distance.
Breakfast was very good and the staff extremely helpful.

Room Tip: We took pot luck but if our standard room was anything to go by the better rooms must be fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    74
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
102
3
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We have just returned from a 12 night stay in Valladolid. The hotel Gareus was a perfect choice for us. The room we had was extremely spacious, with a large entrance lobby area housing a safe, mini bar and wardrobe. There were 2 doors off this, one led into a very large bathroom with double sinks, toilet (of course!) bidet and a bath with an extremely powerful shower over. The other door led into the bedroom area, with a massive and wonderfully comfortable bed, 2 armchairs a table and desk area with a flatscreen TV. There were also 2 floor to ceiling double French doors opening onto Juliet balconies with a view over a side street. The soundproofing was very efficient, and whils't there is nothing you can do about street noise, there were very heavy curtains hanging and we never found it to be a problem. We were so happy with our room that all was good!. The location was fantastic. Just 5 minutes to the train station, which was very clean and well served to visit many of the surrounding cities in the region and so helpful. The bus station is about 10 minutes walk away again with excellent services on many routes. The main centre was 5-10 minutes walk with great tapas bars and restaurants very contained and accessible.....a happy place to return to after many daily trips out on the trains and buses. I conclude with previous comments that for a longer stay it is essential to have some Spanish spoken to enjoy all that is available, as there is very little English spoken...if at all! That said, my efforts to make myself understood with my Spanish were met with understanding and interest...if you make an effort people respond as always in life.We have travelled most of Spain, trying to visit areas of interest for it's culture, food and wine. We are most fond of the North/ NW of Spain for testing all of these (including our Spanish) and this region is an absolute gem. I wondered if a 12 night stay would be too long....as it turned out we felt we needed a couple more days just to complete outr travels around and would quite happily have spent more time in Valladolid. We now would like to go back...something we don't normally do due to there being so many other places to visit, however for us this turned out to be a perfect place in more ways than one!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Brook, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Inconspicuous from the front but as soon as you enter you are treated a very nice lobby area. Staff spoke English and was very friendly always there to help. I was exceptionally please when I entered the room which was a junior suite. It was very spacious, not junior at all, a large seating area with desk, an extremely nice bathroom with two sinks, and a nice sized bedroom with (most importantly) a very comfortable bed.

I stayed 2 nights and then after traveling around northern Spain a bit another 3 nights. The room the second stay was just as nice, if not a bit nicer with 3 small balconies, with a slightly different layout. I can only assume all their rooms are actually this nice! The street was quite loud, but they have great windows that block out just about all the noise if you choose to turn in early.

Breakfast was about 8 euros a day prepaid per person, and I felt it was worth it. A couple pastries per person, some fruit, yogurt, cafe solor or con letche, toast, and jelly. Parking was 15 euros a day. Couple minute walk to Campo Grande, 10 or so minutes along a nice pedestrian street to Plaza Mayor and all the wonderful tapas and bars in the area.

Loved my stay in Valladoild at Hotel Gareus.

Room Tip: 2nd floor and above have nice little balconies while the 1st does not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We were a group of seven who stayed three nights at the Boutique Gareus and everyone in the group had only good things to say about the place. The location is very nice, across the street on one side from a huge park called Campo Grande which has many walking trails fountains and peacocks.
The hotel is also a few minutes walk from the train station. There is no subway system in town.
The rooms are a good size and the bathrooms are very nice. Most of them have a huge shower and toiletries in case you forget yours. I might add that they offer you a new sponge instead of a washcloth so you might want to bring your own washcloth.
The room price includes a very nice continental breakfast of fresh juice, rolls, croissants, cut fruit and ham and cheese sandwiches and coffee. You can order more for additional money.
The desk staff speaks a little English unlike most of the rest of the city but here and there you will find someone who does.
While we were there the weather was perfect and cool in the evening. It's nice that the windows open so you can let in fresh air. Most people walk instead of drive so the area around the hotel is fairly quite unless there is a fiesta going on as there was while we stayed there but I don't remember being bothered by it.
The room prices for this hotel are very reasonable and I would certainly stay there again or recommend it to anyone who is going to Valladolid.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Just arrived!!! The Hotel is very nice and stylish, but not too much! Very clean with a great parking for the car, this is a really Boutique Hotel with a fantastic pricing, excellent Value for the Money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I really like the hotel, from the first talk to reception, they were so helpful.
The room was big and really nicely decorated, a place to relax. The only thing was no English tv chanels ( that I could find )... but no big deal.
For the price the hotel is a find, would defiantly stay when returning to Valladolid.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We received excellent service. We left our iPad charger at home and a member of staff let us borrow the hotel's overnight. The well lit room and the bathroom (with two basins) were a good size for a four star hotel. It is well located about ten minutes walk from railway station and fifteen from the bus station. We paid 80 euros a night for bed and breakfast for two which is fair value. The standard breakfast was OKwithout being exceptional. You had to ask for a second cup of coffee. We looked out over the street but our second floor room was quiet. The only negative was that there was no WiFi in the room and the WiFi in the communal areas was a bit hit and miss.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Boutique Gareus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boutique Gareus

Address: Colmenares 2, 47004 Valladolid, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Valladolid > Valladolid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Valladolid
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Boutique Gareus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Boutique Gareus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.