We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE, CLEAN & FREE WIFI¡¡¡ Right in the CENTER of Segovia downtown (lovely city)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hostal Plaza to your Saves list
Hostal Plaza
Cronista Lecea, 11, 40001 Segovia, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 18 Segovia B&B and Inns
Ulm, Germany
1 review
“NICE, CLEAN & FREE WIFI¡¡¡ Right in the CENTER of Segovia downtown (lovely city)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

Young German couple with a little girl, room was OK for the three, price too and we receive a very nice and charm manners with our little girl. We have free WIFI in our room, and it is located only 50 meters away from the incredible cathedral. Breakfast was OK and the Hostal has a BAR were you can try the famous "Tortilla" incredible¡¡¡. We receive kindly information about the city from (I think it was the owner) Paloma, thanks Paloma we will recommend to our friends. Hope to see you again. I forgot to tell that there is also a Parking (not included) a rude but nice man take you to the parking because it is not very near but we try to find a place to leave the car by our own and it was impossible ... because it was holidays season in Spain too.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    15
    12
    4
    13
See reviews for
13
31
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

We stayed in a triple room for one night in October 2010. The Hostal Plaza is in a great location just off Plaza Mayor within easy walking distance of all the main sites in Segovia. The Hostal is part of (and connected to) a small bar adjacent to the hostal. It was not an issue or concern in any way. The bar is relatively quiet. The Hostal is well aged (as might be expected for its location in the old town) but relatively clean. Awkward walk to the rooms up and down a series of steps, strange turns and low ceilings in places. But, perhaps that is what they call character. The room was simple, small and clean. Our needs are basic, a bed and a shower in a good location. This place met our needs. However, I did notice that the staff was very cold and impersonal. Not rude, but not going out of there way to be pleasant or even smile. We spoke Spanish so language was not the issue. But, I guess I did not stay there to make friends. If you are driving to this hostal, be prepared! There is no place to park or even momentarily pull over. The hostal has one reserved parking place for you to unload your bags and check in. Then you have to move the car. They do have a garage (for 10E) but that is quite an adventure too. The garage is a few blocks from the hostal. You will NEVER find it on your own so the older doorman hops in your car to guide you through the absolutely confusing old city streets to the garage. He will not say a word to you other than left, right or straight. Then he walks you back to the hostal (again, without a word). Do it in reverse when it’s time to get your car. Don’t even consider asking them to keep the car in the lot past checkout, ain’t happening. If you are in the mood for a dinner of suckling pig, try Jose Maria next door to the hotel. It may be the best meal I had during our 2 week trip to Spain.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2009

I am a bit late getting round to this but felt compelled to write after reading the review below. I am constantly shocked by reviews on tripadvisor which complain about the lack of gold taps or of a servant to oil their feet as they step out of their perfumed bath when staying at a HOSTEL. You are staying in one of the most beautiful cities in the second most visited countries in the world and you are paying 45 euros a night. What do you expect?
I would hope for a clean, well-run and comfortable place and that is what I got. The owners daughter, who gave us good advice throughout our stay, spoke pretty good English (which means exceptional English for this part of the world) and was very charming with us, even going so far as to take us to her favourite bar in the city (El Ojo).
As for unexpected steps and rickety staircases, clearly the buildings is Segovia are old and have their idiosyncrasies. It is one of the reasons I keep going back.
I should add a rider to this in that at the weekend Segovia is a party town and there is a lot of street noise from which this hostel is not immune. If you are sensitive about this, you might want to try a better insulated hotel - but you will pay at least 20 or 30 euros more.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

Excited to visit the famed Roman Aqueduct and Alcazar, we planned just a single night in Segovia and my mate chose Hostal Plaza. It was a charming little place on the inside, but almost hidden from the outside next to the restaurant/bar. We had a heck of a time navigating our way from the bus station with our luggage, trekking up the enormous cobblestone hill - so a bed to lay in for a break was all we needed.

The woman at the front desk was pretty friendly. We checked in very quickly and were met with having to carry our luggage up an incredibly narrow and steep flight of stairs [slippery stairs, at that] to the second floor. One of the downfalls of our particular visit was the constant maintenance going on and one of the maids kept leaving an open ladder in the staircase area, blocking any way of getting in or out while she was having a smoke out back.

The room was tiny, much like the rest of the hostal. As soon as you enter the room, you're greeted with a bathroom that is a step higher than the living portion of the room. To get into the bathroom, you cannot be a wide person as you have to squeeze past the door and bathtub just to close yourself in. Also be very careful not to forget there is a step down as you're leaving. I ended up spraining my ankle due to that.

The bedroom had a little desk and t.v., two beds and a window. Nothing spectacular, but nothing bad. Until we tried sleeping that night. My mate slept through the night, but complained of back problems the following morning. I, on the other hand, could not sleep a wink. The bed was horrible amounts of stiff. I would have been better off sleeping on the floor, now that I think of it. I ended up ripping off all the blankets and sheets, balling them up to make a person sized mattress and slept on them with my back to the wall on the bed and managed an hour of rest before having to get up and travel out of town again.

  • Liked — the location the main plaza
  • Disliked — the beds and bathroom
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2008

I wish I could say I had the same experience as the travelers below, whose experiences with Hostal Plaza sound great, unfortuntately my husband and I had a nightmarish experience. Perhaps it was just an off-night, but we had read that the management is quite strict, which we were fine with as we assumed it would mean a nice quiet night's sleep, which didn't happen.

First of all, our room was extremely small and located at the hallway entrance, which meant that we were treated to slamming doors and popping light switches (there is only one switch that guests must press to light the hallway to their room) all night long! There was also a group of very rowdy students that made their entrance from partying around 2:30AM and proceeded to congregate in the hallway and yell to each other for a good 20 minutes until someone broke them up, although this "gathering" took place several other times throughout the early morning. Noise carrys well throughout the hotel.

The bathroom had a shower with a showerhead that was not attached to the wall, which made it difficult trying to maneuver washing. Spaces are very tight and cramped. The only positive about this hotel was the location, period.

  • Liked — Very close to the key sights in Segovia
  • Disliked — Noise, room size, overall accommodations
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canadian Rockies
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2008

The location for this property is fantastic, right in the heart of Segovia. About a 10 minute walk from the Aqueduct, 1 minute from the main square, 5 minutes from the Cathedral, and 15 minutes from the Alcazar. Once at the hotel, you can walk to any of the main attractions easily. Some staff spoke English.

The room was not too fancy but was spacious and very comfortable. The service was excellent. The hotel staff went out of their way to make us feel at home. The bed was very comfortable, firmer than many we had at Spanish hotels. We were particularly happy at the value for money.

The little bar ajoining the hotel is basic and filled with friendly local clients. The staff there does everything possible to make guests feel at welcome and at ease.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severn, Maryland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2006

Stayed at the Hostel Plaza (really a small hotel) in Segovia, Spain over a long weekend. We had reserved a triple room, but were offered the opportunity to opt for an off-property apartment owned by the hotel proprietors instead, at the same price. The apartment was very nice, had one bedroom with two single beds, and then another single bed out in the living room area. Full bath, kitchen, etc. Much more private than a hotel, and at 56 Euro per night, was quite a deal. Within two blocks of the central walking district of old Segovia: we parked our car in the hotel garage and didn't touch it until we left.

The restaurant next door to the main hotel is the Jose Maria and is the best restaurant in Segovia: great wine, great tapas, what more do you need? We enjoyed the wine and tapas so much that we never made it into the main dining room to try the local suckling pig! Oh well, next trip.

I would highly recommend this hotel. Very little English spoken, but that wasn't a problem.

  • Liked — Great prices, great service, great location
  • Tips/Secrets — Call the hotel directly, it's hard to find info about it online
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Plaza

Address: Cronista Lecea, 11, 40001 Segovia, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Segovia > Segovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Segovia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hostal Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.