We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old hotel in great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Condes de Castilla

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Condes de Castilla to your Saves list
Hotel Condes de Castilla
Jose Canalejas, 5, 40001 Segovia, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Segovia
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
305 reviews 305 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Old hotel in great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

GPS brought us right to the hotel, even though partially this is in a pedestrian zone with permitted access for hotel guests. The closer parking with valet service was full, so the receptionist directed us to another parking where they have discounted rates. Rather convoluted way to get there, but via GPS we managed to locate the parking. Friendly reception, they have a cute restaurant in the court of the building, which can be seen from the upper interior passage ways. We had our dinner here, they offer 4 different sets 3 course menus, with prices starting at about 18 euro including wine. We were very happy with the meal, both the food quality, the ambience and the service. Medium size hotel room, clean, well decorated, with wood floors in bedroom and tiles in bath. Bath is well equipped with the customary bathtub/shower with half size glass partition. Good shelf space in the bathroom. Good size desk with one chair, no other chairs in the room. Good wifi reception. Comfortable beds.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    37
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
54
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Trip Advisor pictures and information were helpful in choosing this hotel.
Our sat nav could not find the name of the hotel but we went onto the town restricted driving streets, stopped at the Plaza Major and got a map and advice from the Tourist Office .
The Receptionist was welcoming and helpful and arranged our valet parking to avoid the tow truck!
Our room had a little balcony. There were many t v channels on the flat screen but none in English.
The wi fi worked fine too.
We explored the nearby streets and sights- lots of colourful shops and cafes; great architecture and pretty views. We even saw the snow on the mountains still behind the famous acqueduct .
We ate an evening meal in the hotel unfortunately it lacked atmosphere because we were once again the first to eat at 8.30. My one criticism was the rustic food style. A little more finesse and colour would have been more tempting. We have been spoilt by more modern southern Spanish chefs/ cooks who are used to foreign foibles!
I would recommend the city and hotel.
It was a shame there were coach parties of French teenagers that dominated the narrow streets with their antics and noise.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Idaho
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

A very fine room in a beautiful building...in, of course, one of Spain's most magical towns. Our balcony windows overlooked the 12th century Iglesia San Martin. As an added bonus, we were there to witness Spain celebrating its Eurocup victory. Viva Espana! Others have covered the fine accommodations, so I'll only emphasize the recommendation to avoid driving in. We took the bus in for the night but decided to grab the car and drive up the next morning: huge mistake! We missed the one-way turn just in front of the hotel, assuming we could easily backtrack in another street or two, but we couldn't and wound up driving essentially down and through the old town via the middle of the busiest pedestrian walkway (Calle Juan Bravo). Felt like we were caught in some Fellini-esque farce starring idiot American tourists.... Which I guess we were. Fortunately my Spanish was so bad that the two (very attractive, female) cops just waved us through town with a modicum of disgust. Moral of this story: stick with the bus!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We had a very pleasant stay in this hotel, and so convenient for visiting the old town of Segovia. The arrangement for having the car parked by a very friendly lady was very convenient too. It was a very relaxing and pleasant stay and the staff are very helpful and friendly. The room was comfortable, and the whole hotel was very pleasant and well cared for and clean. All the places of interest can be easily reached on foot and some very pleasant shopping streets are right in front of the hotel plus lots of nice restaurants. The Plaza Mayor, the main square, is just around the corner from the hotel with lots of nice terraces, the cathedral and a very pleasant market on Saturday morning. In short, both Segovia and this hotel are highly recommendable for a couple of days' visit. Betty and Henk

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

The hotel is comfortable, friendly, and well located in the center of the historic city. We visited all the historic sites, as well as fine restaurants and tapa sites, all on foot. Well recommended to anyone needing a few days of relaxation.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights, €55, per night plus €17 per day valet parking. A private arrangement with a very nice lady. No problems with that. Room spacious, spotless, comfortable. Close to everything. No view but didn't mind as very quiet. Reception staff extremely helpful printing out bus and very fast train timetable . Went to Madrid in under 30 min by train. Would recommend .

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

I have been to this hotel last weekend and I had a really nice time. Location great; bedroom cosy and clean; bathroom fine; and the price reasonable. The staff were very helpful as well. I did not eat at the hotels restaurant, however it looks incredible! Just bear in mind that in Segovia downtown normally the hotels do not have their own private parking! and the nearest car park its 10 minutes away from the hotel (walking distances). All the hotels have good deals with them, so ask in the reception.

Un hotel estupendo! La ubicacion perfecta, la habitacion muy acogedora y muy limpia, y el bano bastante bien. El restaurante, aunque no lo utilizamos, en cuanto a decoracion es precioso. El unico inconveniente quiza el parking, ya que como le pasa a muchos hoteles del centro de Segovia, no tiene parking privado. El hotel te ofrece la opcion de utilizar uno que esta como a diez minutos, preguntar al personal del hotel que tienen algun acuerdo con ellos.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Condes de Castilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Condes de Castilla

Address: Jose Canalejas, 5, 40001 Segovia, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Segovia > Segovia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Segovia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Condes de Castilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Condes de Castilla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.