We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not What Was Promised” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hospedaje Bar El Gato

Save Saved
You added Hospedaje Bar El Gato to your Saves list
Hospedaje Bar El Gato
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hospedaje Bar El Gato
Plaza del Salvador 10, 40001 Segovia, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 18 Segovia B&B and Inns
Sparks, Nevada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not What Was Promised”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

I am having a hard time writing this review, because there were things that were wonderful about this place and things that were awful. First of all, the air conditioner worked very well, which is necessary in Segovia in the summer. The room was VERY clean, and tidy.

However, the bar next door was closed all day and night when we arrived, even though they advertised it as being open late; the rooms were small, and the bathroom was even smaller, with the toilet and shower located at a very odd angle; the parking was literally a fiasco and although they said they spoke English, the hosts spoke not a word of English.

Let me give you some advice: if you need parking, go to a different hotel. They very seriously DID NOT want us to park in their parking, even though we had reserved a spot. When we finally found the garage, which is about a block away, we couldn't get into it, and then when we finally did, the spot she assigned was so tiny that our car couldn't fit. In other words, a fiasco.

We were there on a Sunday night, which apparently was NOT the night to be there. Nothing is open and there is nothing to do.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    18
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
4
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Had a lovely double room here, which had a balcony looking out onto the square (and the Storks nesting on top of the church opposite!) Room exceptionally clean, and AC and fridge were welcome in the heat.

Not too far from the main street, less than 10 mins but a bit of an uphill trek in the heat. Some noise from the bar, but not too bad.

Excellent price.

Slightly disappointed as we missed the last bus/train home to Madrid, and phoned to see if they had a room for another night, but my Spanish must have not been up to much as they put the phone down. They'd mentioned they'd been full the previous night, so couldn't bear to drag bags all the way back up in case they were full, so we stayed the second night in a really lovely hostal in the centre.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

This place is incredibly difficult to find. Locals we asked said you can walk but it is very difficult to drive there. It took us 30 minutes and driving the wrong way up a street to get there.There is no lift and when you have to carry suitcases up to the third floor with a bad back and no help it is a challenge.The rooms are not soundproof, the Wi-fi only works intermittently, the TV is at ceiling level and impossible to watch. There is no room to put suitcases, the bathroom is tiny and the toilet difficult to access. The room we had had no table and chair. The reception desk is not manned - the owner is more interested in running the Bar. We booked parking but he told us to use the public parking and told us it was free on Saturdays. It wasn't - we got a 60Euro fine. He did not argue when we left after one night.It is easy walking access to the centre of town. The rooms were clean.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

This is a unique experience: a great little hotel situated over a totally buzzing Spanish bar. This has all the atmosphere - great tapas with your drinks, great bar food and, surprisingly, quiet rooms. I don't know how they do it but this ticked all our boxes after a long day on the road. The hotel is right beside the famous aqueduct and has parking right outside which is free overnight and only costs €4.0 for the whole morning. The only problem we had was in finding the place as the street names which are supposed to provide orientation are not overly clear.

Room Tip: If you want to be sure to park the evening you arrive you can pre-book with Bar El Gato or you can t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We stayed here for two nights. The guy who checked us in also ran the bar so he was very rushed doing so but, no big deal; he later gave me free ice. The double rooms are pretty small for 50E and have either two singles or one queen/double (smallish) and an extremely small shower in the equally small bathroom. So, we are clear that it's a small place but, it was very quiet with the sound-proof windows and hallway door and the beds were very comfortable. Considering you are right above a bar and we were there on a Fri and Sat night, I was pretty impressed and I'm a light sleeper.
The start of the aquaduct is right behind the hotel and continues on down to the main square (3 min walk) for the grand finale view. The bar does not open until around 8:30ish in the morning but is worth the wait for the great coffee. No breakfast but, plenty of spots to eat in the square. Parking is right across from the hotel and you have to pay for it but it's not much. Wierd hit or miss WIFI signal.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hospedaje Bar El Gato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hospedaje Bar El Gato

Address: Plaza del Salvador 10, 40001 Segovia, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Segovia > Segovia
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Segovia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hospedaje Bar El Gato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hospedaje Bar El Gato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.