We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical tourist town restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurante Narizotas

Restaurante Narizotas
Plaza Medina del Campo 2, 40001 Segovia, Spain
+34 921 46 26 79
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 177 Restaurants in Segovia
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Montana Rose
Top Contributor
609 reviews 609 reviews
263 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 144 cities Reviews in 144 cities
335 helpful votes 335 helpful votes
“Typical tourist town restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

It seems to be a theme in any Spanish city with survives on tourism. Make mediocre food and charge twice what it's worth. The food was fine, the atmosphere and location were great, the service robotic. The croquettas were fair, the seafood risotto was good (not as good as I do at home though), the octopus dish was very good though. We all decided against the "menu del dia" at 25 euro which seemed steep. Looking around, most people were just ordering off the regular menu and sharing.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pguijarro, Manager at Restaurante Narizotas, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Google Translation
El restaurante dispone de dos zonas en el exterior donde se puede ver la carta y consultar los precios antes de acceder al comedor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    70
    35
    13
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Good Dessert and Location, Bad Food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Two fellow foodies and I stopped here for lunch, thinking it had a good menu for 12 Euros at lunch. We were brought upstairs to a nice room, and noticed that we were alone in the restaurant. After spending time looking up every item on the menu in English (no English menus or English-speaking servers), we decided on nice appetizers and dishes, such as salmon with saffron sauce and vegetables and breaded pork cutlets with cheese inside. First, we were given a basket of bread (included), which was great. Then we got our starters, and the shrimp cream soup was too fishy (to the point where I couldn't finish it), and waited a while for the main courses. We were all very disappointed with the quality of our dishes. The salmon was in an unappetizing, overbearing sauce with a spoonful of vegetables chopped up into tiny squares. My friend even thought it was salsa at first. The bacalao (salted cod) dish was overdone, and drenched in the same sauce as the salmon. The breaded pork cutlets were unimpressive, and pretty average. Luckily, the desserts were good. The milhoja (puff pastry), chocolate and orange crepe, and the berry ice cream with mascarpone in white chocolate were all enjoyable. Unfortunately, the slow service, attitudes of the servers, and disappointing dishes all put a damper on our experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The restaurant benefits from a great setting in Plaza Medina del Campo, which is two squares in one. Chose an evening menu of local specialities, which was both a good choice and good value. The cochinillo was delicious, even if the portion was a little on the small side. Service was friendly. The only criticism was that the wine recommended to me from the choice on the card (which was at a fair price and well made) was not a good match with the food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Excellent set menu for a small price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We did not take the baby pig (we don't like it), but took the least expensive three course set menu (20 euros) with duck breast as main course. Simply excellent food, very friendly/fast service. Price/quality of this menu is just perfect.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

The restaurant has a great location in Segovia and also great food and service, waiters do speak English. There are plenty of options in the menu, including fixed ones, so you can chose from a wide range of options. But, since you are in Segovia, try the local dishes such as jamon, beans, and cochinillo (roasted pig). Great experience,

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Narizotas also viewed

Segovia, Province of Segovia
 
Segovia, Province of Segovia
Segovia, Province of Segovia
 

Been to Restaurante Narizotas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurante Narizotas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.