We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent! Excelent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Meson de Candido

Meson de Candido
Plaza del Azoguejo, 5, 40001 Segovia, Spain
+34 921 42 59 11
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 177 Restaurants in Segovia
Price range: $43 - $72
Cuisines: Spanish, Grill, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: An old Spanish inn, which dates back to 1786. The building has been declared as one of city?S historic monuments. El Meson is located next to the Roman Aqueduct. Candido, from the fourth generation of the same family, preserves one of the most famous culinary heritages in Spain. In 2004, the Candido Mesonero Mayor de Castilla Foundation gave its first awards to the promotion of Castilla y Leon, the gastronomic innovation and the commitment and social work.
LA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excelent! Excelent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My god, this restaurant must be a 5 stars one... Went with my couple and really enjoyed the meal. First of all, the building. Outside is pretty nice, looks like a really ancient building. And it is, from the 1800's. But when you are coming inside, is like wow, tipical spanish culture all around. No idea of what to eat here, so they recommend us a very tasty dishes: something with big beans, lamb and suckling pig. Really homemade. Their service is very good, always taking care of us. Price is very good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meson_Candido, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Meson de Candido, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear sir,

Thanks so much for choosing Mesón de Cándido, and for enjoy your experience in our restaurant. It is pretty important for us that you have shared your opinion through this plattform as this helps us to improve. We have been taking care of our customers from last century, and comments like this prove us that we are in the right way.

Waiting for your next visit! Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    470
    300
    122
    79
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“History, tradition and very good food all toghether!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Over 100 years of history are enclosed within the walls of the Meson de Candido, and not only for its architecture but also for its cuisine and culinary tradition, the mighty Family ancestry Candido and because, actually, all the walls are full of history.

The most interesting of the national and international political pass throught this place, but also actors, football players, kings and queens, and ordinary people like us who occasionally enjoy this environment with a real history.

The friendly service is incomparable ... well, yes, it can only be compared with the quality of their food or the warm of the restaurant.

In the letter you can find modern dishes along with the traditional gastronomya. For second dish, you can choose between chicken, meat, turkey and fish, all very good! And desserts, very rich and tasty.

Don't miss a very good and real Spanish wine. They have tons of options, but I do recommend to ask the sommelier, so he can recommend you the best for your food order.

The photos, embellishments, details, diplomas, reports and trophies ... all that is canceled when you look at their views: the Aqueduct, majestic, undaunted, spectacular stone.

Call before you go or book through their web as his fame precedes him and everyone wants to try the food at the Meson de Candido, the traditional Castilian style.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meson_Candido, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Meson de Candido, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear sir/madam,

Thanks so much for visiting us and for sharing your honest opinion throught this plattform. It is very important for us your point of view of our business, considering all the angles you mentioned at your comment.

We are taking your opinions very seriously, as this helps us to improve on a daily basics.

We will be waiting your next visit. Best Regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Segovian suckling pig”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

According to the guide book, suckling pig was originated from Segovia. Candido was highly recommended by the book. Just next to the famous Roman aquaduct. The atmosphere is good. However, the food is just average! The cod in garlic sauce is quite disappointing! Mushroom in Segovian style tastes weird. The steak is difficult to cut! The famous suckling pig is the best amongst all other food.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meson_Candido, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Meson de Candido, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear PiaHonkKong,

First of all, thanks so much for choosing us for getting lunch at Segovia. It is very important your opinion for us. We are taking note of you dissapointings trying to improve everything. By the way, thanks for sharing your honest opinion.

Hope that you will come back very shortly and that you will enjoy of all of our dishes next time.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

If you want to enjoy a real well-done traditional Castilla style, no doubts: go to this restaurant. Of course there are so many more in the city, but when you are entering and you can smell their food, you will never forget this place. The building seems to be like the Middle Edge: too romantic, with many details in all their dinning-room. People there is very kind with everybody: it doesn't matter where you are coming from, as you will share your food with people coming from Germany, UK, China, Japan, of course Spain... They are doing always their best in order to give you the correct service. Price really worths: you will pay around 30-35 € per person for a guarantee tipical Spanish food very well cooked. Maybe you will see something that will ring the bells to you like the old Theather acts: they say something in Spanish and just afterwards, they throw away a white blank against the floor. It is like a traditional history that gives the correct context to the correct quality in food and service. It is really very nice.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meson_Candido, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Meson de Candido, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear JMBrizu,

Thanks so much for visiting us. It is a great pleasure that our customer are satisfied with our service and our products.

Hoping you will come back very soon!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Cordero”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

It may have become a bit touristy, but the four of us all ordered the Cordero and we thought it was excellent. A real treat, and something that I have never had before this trip to Spain. Also, given its central location (right next to the aqueduct)in a major tourist town, I do not think that the prices were unreasonable. The crush of people was a bit off-putting, but the waitresses worked very hard to keep things moving, and by and large were successful.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meson_Candido, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Meson de Candido, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear customer,

First of all, thank you very much for visiting us. It is a pleasure for us to wellcome new visitors to our restaurant. Second of all, we are very happy for your positive experience, as well as for sharing your honest opinion using this plattform. You opinion is very important for ust, a it allow us to improve our service and processes on a daily basics. We will be more than glad receiving you again at our restaurant in the near future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meson de Candido also viewed

Segovia, Province of Segovia
Segovia, Province of Segovia
 

Been to Meson de Candido? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Meson de Candido, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.