We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute little place in downtown Salamanca” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Microtel Placentinos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Microtel Placentinos to your Saves list
Microtel Placentinos
Placentinos 9, 37008 Salamanca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 71 Hotels in Salamanca
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Cute little place in downtown Salamanca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

The Microtel Placentinos really is pretty micro, but quite nice and good value for the money. It's just a couple blocks from the plaza mayor (kinda hard to find) and the rest of the sights in town. The rooms have a combination lock instead of a key which was good, I suppose, we didn't have to carry a key with us. Breakfast was fine, nothing special, but did the trick. If you're driving there's no parking, but we found parking on the street a couple blocks down that was free at least.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    33
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
47
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

Microtel Placentinos is a perfect small hotel. The staf spoke extremely limited English and I speak extremely limited Spanish, but there were no problems (other than my blowing the fuse with my blowdryer and adapter and trying to explain it with my hands!) and the staff is extremely pleasant. It is in a great location convienently located near the University and the Plaza. I stayed in 3 other more expensive hotels while in Spain and the Placentinos was by far my favorite!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

We spent 3 nights at Placentinos in October. It's a great little hotel. If you're looking for a cute, small (only 7 rooms I think) and personal hotel this one is for you. The room itself was very comfortable, the bathroom clean and well appointed. The breakfast, which was included, was better than most, with cheese and meat, juice coffee, bread and pastries. All in all, a really good choice.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

Cute boutique hotel, beautiful room and nice bathrooms. The hotel is on a side street and our room overlooked an interior courtyard, so there wasn't much noise from the street. However our room was on the same floor as the reception desk (literally ten paces away) so we did get noise from people coming in and out of the hotel, who had to pass our room to get to the breakfast area downstairs. This was more of an issue in the morning, but if you plan to be up by 8 or 9 it shouldn't be a problem. We asked for an extra bed to be put in our room, so they set up a cot which promptly collapsed when someone sat on it. We just folded the legs down so the mattress lay flat on the floor, and it was fine. The exposed stone walls and subdued lighting give the room a lot of atmosphere, but also make it kind of dark. This is a room to sleep in, not to hang out and read in. Our bathroom was very nice--had a tub that looked like it could have been a mini jacuzzi, and came with little tea candles. Breakfast is included, and we were impressed with the selection. Staff is friendly. I liked this place and would return here, but would probably book a room on a different floor and avoid the cot.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

A beautifully and tastefully renovated townhouse, everything is like new but in classic-rustic style, with touches of modern interior design (a glass elevator is clearly an addition). Staff is kind and polite. Rooms are beautiful and clean, with laminated parquet floors (so much cleaner and elegant than carpet !). This is a very small hotel with less than a dozen rooms, and most rooms are tiny. Really tiny. I saw several and they were all small; perhaps there are a couple of bigger rooms, but I did not see them. If this is a concern, avoid this hotel. Otherwise, the location is remarkable, in a quiet small street in the historic center and an easy walk to all the monuments. Caution: "quiet" in Salamanca does not mean you are not going to have groups of students passing by at night, singing and yelling. If you are on the first floor on the street side, shutting the windows makes the noise marginally more bearable. But better yet, ask for a room at the back (which is what I did the second day). The small breakfast area is unremarkable, but breakfast is decent (no fancy buffet here, just your basic continental breakfast). Everything immaculately clean. Service is limited - remember that this is a small hotel and in theory, I believe, a 2* (although decoration and style are very superior to anything you would normally associate with this category). It is a beautiful little hotel.

Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2009

I stayed with my partner in this nice little hotel at the begining of june '09 for two nights. We got a warm welcom from a smily receptionist. After the first formalities were done we had a chance to explore the room, take a shower and relax on a comfortable bed. Room wasn't very big but very cosy and clean. Bathroom was to a very high standard with hydromassage shover!
We had breakfast inclusive and again no disappoitment on this side either. There was choice of bread,pastries, salamies,cheese,jams,cereals,jogurts,juices,snacks and coffee was very nice (we had our favorite one 'café con leche').
Salamanca is pretty little town with more than few universities and cathedrals. There seems to be a lot going on when we were there - but that's seems to be everywhere we went in Spain before and after being in Salamanca. I really liked the Art Deco museum building - we saw Mucha's exhibiton while there.
Overall we had a very pleasant stay here. And the hotel is a bargain for the service and location!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2008

We stayed here in the past weekend and we loved this little and lovely 2 stars hotel. My boyfriend who travels a lot said that it didn't look like a 2 stars hotel but as 4 stars.
Our room was not very big but it was beautifully decorated. I love the walls and the white curtains. Simple but gorgeous.
The bathroom is nice and it has jacuzzi.
Everything was very clean.

The breakfast was very complete and the receptionist was nothing but gentle and helpful.
The location is wonderful because it is in the historical center but in a very quite street.
The only thing bad we have to say about Placentinos is that we can easily hear the people of the other rooms. Except this and the hotel was perfect.
I recommend it without any reservations for a romantic getaway.

  • Liked — The rooms
  • Disliked — We can hear people in other rooms
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Microtel Placentinos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Placentinos

Address: Placentinos 9, 37008 Salamanca, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Salamanca > Salamanca
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Salamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Microtel Placentinos is located in a privileged setting in the heart of Salamanca. It lies within walking distance to the Plaza Mayor, the University, the Old Cathedral and just a few meters away from the Palace of Congress. With only 2 single rooms and 7 double rooms. Services and amenities: - Bath/sauna-hydro-massage shower – WIFI - Satellite TV - Jacuzzi in terrace - Laundry service - Air-conditioning/heating - In room private bar and safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Microtel Placentinos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Salamanca
Salamanca Microtel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Microtel Placentinos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.