We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No 4 star hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gran Hotel Corona Sol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Gran Hotel Corona Sol to your Saves list
Gran Hotel Corona Sol
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Victor Garcia de la Concession | esquina Avenida de Villamayor, 37007 Salamanca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 70 Hotels in Salamanca
Denia, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“No 4 star hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Beautiful, modern hotel within easy walking distance of the Plaza Major and Cathedral. However, although the room was functional and probably OK for a one or two night stay, for any longer it left a lot to be desired. There were no drawers for underwear, t-shirts, etc and just one shelf in the wardrobe. Also only four coat hangers and when we requested more from the surly reception staff we were told there were none!! There was no fridge either which in the summer months would be an essential. Breakfast was fairly good although the scrambled eggs had obviously been cooked a while before the dining room opened at 7.30am. Dinner was awful and don´t bother booking that as there are hundreds of decent restaurants and tapas bars in the city center. The hotel also has no facilities such as a pool or gym which even in a large city is quite important especially for a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    155
    56
    30
    12
See reviews for
49
183
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toulon, France
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

the hotel is modern and cheap. The rooms are large with a good bathroom and keep very clean. The hotel does not have a bar but does have vending machines. It seems to cater for coach trips so check in and out might present problems. The area is good and car parking in the street is safe. There are some good bars on the way the way to the plaza mayor and the coata verde does good tapas as well as cheap lunchs. Price/quality good.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th and 5th floors at the Villamayor end have views to the Cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The room was very large and comfortable, nice and new.
The area where the hotel is is very quite and there is no noise or crowd at night. In walking distance to most places, like the Plaza Mayor (around 10 minutes or less) and San Marcos, and without the noise of that area.
I definately recommend it.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Cork, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Our stay at this hotel was pleasant. The rooms are big and spotless. The staff are friendly and very helpful. It lacks a little atmosphere in the main reception area but for the price it really is fantastic.

Room Tip: Be careful of the showers. They are state of the art but with no instruction so you could get a bla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was good value for money. We were driving to the city and wanted somewhere easy to find with secure parking. It's about 10 mins walk to the centre and suited our needs. The reception staff were helpful, the room was pleasant and clean. Excellent value for money. There didnt appear to be a bar but there are a few places in the streets around the hotel. We didnt have breakfast in the hotel but we had coffee and croissants in the cafe at the end of the road for 3euros for 2 people.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I found this hotel bizarre. We stayed here as part of a tour, and for an apparent 4 star hotel it lacked some pretty basic features. For example, there is no refrigerator in the room, not just no minibar which is fine, but refrigerator at all. There was hardly any furniture, although what was supplied in the room was of good quality. The room was clean, and the shower was excellent.
The design of the building is not guest friendly either, wherein you have to walk for what seems like miles to get to your room from the elevator.
The biggest frustration for us though was that you couldn't dial outside lines from the in-room telephone, and the reception desk wouldn't even patch us through. We were having issues with our global roaming sim card and wanted to contact the company to get it fixed, but the hotel would not allow us to call from the room, or allow us to use any phone within the building. We had to wander out into the Salamanca evening (not a bad place to wander mind you, it's a lovely city!) with a map but no directions as to the potential location of a public phone.
My opinion on the guest service, you can imagine, is pretty poor.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Stayed here for two nights and was not disappointed by the rooms or location. Hotel staff were pleasant and helpful on reception. Secure parking cost 12 Euros per night with direct access to all floors in one of the 4 lifts. Rooms were spacious with excellent air con, comfortable beds and spotlessly clean. Bathroom was large and again spotless, however the shower was a cubicle so no bath. I found the workings of the shower a little baffling but one go at flooding the bathroom was enough and it has to be one of the best showers I have used in a hotel. Yes it would be better if there were places to put personal toiletries and the shower had nowhere to put anything so you are left holding the soap all the time.
The room has no mini bar so keeping water cool or wine from the supermarket below the hotel (The usual use in my book) is not an option. We found breakfast to be quite adequate with a good selection on offer, so no complaints.
The location is very good and as people say just a five minute walk to the old town. Hotel has no bar but in the evening we had a last drink at the bar under the hotel next to the supermarket, so again didn't miss one in the hotel.
Out of the four hotels we stayed in on our trip to Spain this was the best value. I will be staying here again as a two night stay is not enough time to take in all the sights and atmosphere that Salamanca has to offer. I need a comfortable clean place to sleep and relax this hotel offers just that.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gran Hotel Corona Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Corona Sol

Address: Victor Garcia de la Concession | esquina Avenida de Villamayor, 37007 Salamanca, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Salamanca > Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 70 Hotels in Salamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gran Hotel Corona Sol 4.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Gran Hotel Corona Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gran Hotel Corona Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.