We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rector

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Rector to your Saves list
Hotel Rector
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Rector Esperabe, 10, 37008 Salamanca, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 71 Hotels in Salamanca
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“What a fantastic place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I have been staying at the Hotel Rector on and off for several years now, and when travelling through this this area of Spain I simply wouldn't stay elsewhere. It is of course luxurious, and the bedrooms, bathrooms and breakfast are about as perfect as you are likely to find.
But what sets this establishment apart is their approach to customers and their attitude in dealing with any problems. I have to say that I have only had one very minor issue recently and it may well be that it was either my fault or that of the booking company. But in typical calm quiet fashion they have resolved it efficiently without fuss or drama. A holiday or business trip isn't only about the decor. It's about reducing the stress and hassle. If you feel that going away has any of that element in it, (and with three children I do), then do yourself a favour and stay here!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    30
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
63
179
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

At first sight the hotel might be a bit difficult to find as they have no flags, just a small sign but once found, the door opens and one welcomes you like the have a new permanent resident. Just splendid how they try to take care of you! As I was forced to leave for 1 night (family matter) and only returned the day later after midnight, a plate with nice cheese & ham and glasses of wine were waiting for me in the room!
Room beautiful appointed with more than sufficient space, comfy bed, proper bathroom with all, at the edge of the old town (which started just across the street). Breakfast was great too, though one does not have a restaurant (which though are available nearby). It even is nice and relaxing just to have a glas of wine or a cup of tea/coffee in one of the sitting lounges and flick to one of the many books one has.
When you ask me what was not top I seriously can only bring up 2 points, I did not like the small shower head and the number of international television channels were too limited (mainly because the free-Spanish TV did not broadcast enough of the World Cup but other then that, would would like to stay in anyhow?
In short a wonderful stay and, when I get back in the area, I certainly would love to go back!

Room Tip: an upgrade is advisable for space but everybody is treated equally with attention for detail!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We spent a night here on our way to Cordoba, we found the hotel on a Rough Guides listing and were not expecting much given the 'cheap' price we were quoted. How wrong we were!! The boutique hotel is everything that a boutique hotel should be: Charming, discreet, fanatical attention to detail, top drawer service, tasteful decor - I could go on. The staff used our names from the moment we arrived and went out of their way to help us and give us tips on where to go and what to see during our short stay in Salamanca. Our only regret is that we did not stay long enough, and will have to make a return trip one day.
Well Run Hotel Well Done!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This is the third time we have stayed in this excellent boutique hotel, en route from the UK to our home in southern Spain. The service is very friendly and personal and the guests are treated as individuals. It is well located, just 10 minutes walk from the old town and the magnificent Plaza Mayor. The rooms are clean, modern and tastefully decorated with a good size bathroom (no bath) but a very large walk in shower with rain head. The toiletries are Bulgari and high quality. The hotel does not serve dinner, but there are numerous restaurants in the Plaza Mayor. The hotel does serve an excellent breakfast with freshly cooked food. At 150€ a night it is excellent value! but there is an additional charge for breakfast and garaging a car. It thoroughly deserves its 4 star rating and we have no hesitation in recommending it.

Room Tip: Ignore the rating for swimming pool, as there isn't one. The rating was put on in error and I c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

A very professionally run hotel. All the staff seem to know you the minute you step through the door. Service happens instantly, so unlike the experience in large 5 star hotels. Room very quiet thanks to acoustic double glazing even though it had a view across the street to the cathedral. Good secure parking. Hotel is easy to drive to, but is as well located as any for the prime sights.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ealing
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We stayed two nights to visit Salamanca. The hotel is located just outside part of the old city wall and within easy walking distance of all the main sights. On arrival the friendly and helpful receptionist provided us with a complimentary beer, a city map and precise directions to all the main sights and the location of some (excellent) recommended restaurants. Our hire car was parked in a secure garage which we had pre-booked and we were shown to our large deluxe room which overlooked the street but was quiet due to the excellent sound proofing. That combined with the blackout blinds and comfortable bed caused us to sleep in next morning and we only just made it to the breakfast buffer. The choice was excellent and included eggs cooked to your liking. Do stay here when you visit Salamanca.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston, tx
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Salamanca is a great city and Hotel Rector is a perfect way to enjoy it. DH and I were there for 2 nights in May and we were wowed by the friendliness of the staff. By the time we left, Silvia seemed like an old friend and the entire staff did everything they could to make our stay a pleasant one. Our superior double room overlooked the street and old wall, but noise was not an issue. The room was quite comfortable and spacious. Great marble bath with all the amenities. The walk to the old town is rather steep for those with mobility issues, but great exercise for us. Highly recommend this boutique hotel as well as a stay in beautiful Salamanca!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rector? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rector

Address: Paseo Rector Esperabe, 10, 37008 Salamanca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Salamanca > Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Salamanca
#1 Family Hotel in Salamanca
#1 Luxury Hotel in Salamanca
#4 Business Hotel in Salamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rector 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Escapio, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Rector reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rector Hotel Salamanca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rector, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.