We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Rector

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Rector to your Saves list
Hotel Rector
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo Rector Esperabe, 10, 37008 Salamanca, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 71 Hotels in Salamanca
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This great hotel is the perfect spot to stay in Salamanca. We spent 3 wonderful nights here~ we enjoyed our room, the helpful staff and the good location. I plan to return to Salamanca in Dec. and will be staying here for sure. This hotel is quite a find!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    30
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
63
179
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This must be our 4th or 5th visit to Hotel Rector and we ALWAYS receive such a very genuine warm welcome. When travelling up from the south to Santander for the ferry, Salamanca is a tremendously easy place to overnight for a last taste of Spain. This medieval city is outstanding and one not be missed. Hotel Rector is situated on the edge of the city, is very easy to find, and has invaluable safe parking for a loaded car. The bedrooms are all of a generous size and the bathrooms well appointed. The breakfast provided certainly sets you up for the day - wonderful fresh croissants and pain au chocolate. All the staff are exceptionally friendly and are happy to give any advice when requested. All in all, a fantastic place to put your head down when in Salamanca. TOTALLY recommend - as we have already done to several of our friends!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Hotel Rector was an outstanding find for us. First and foremost, the service is incredible. We were traveling for the first time with our infant and hadn't planned how we were going to get dinner while she was asleep in our room. In asking for places where my husband might go find something to bring back for us, the manager said he could prepare us something as an appetizer and then send someone out for dinner. The appetizer was a plate of the fantastic jamon from the area, and with olives and a bottle of the house wine we were very well taken care of while they went to the restaurant nearby for our tapas and raciones. It was all excellent, and instead of delivering it to us in what I assume were takeaway boxes, they transferred all the ordered food to their plates etc. and served it at our table. This was so far and above what we had expected, but the manager brushed aside our thanks and said he was very glad to learn that the local restaurant would do takeaway for them, so he knew for the next time. He, and everyone who looked after us, were just completely lovely.

But this is not to say that the hotel itself is not worth the five-star review. Our room was roomy and perfectly appointed; the shower and bathroom were great; and they have private parking, which is a real find in Salamanca. We a great experience in all ways and highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly, helpful and informative staff. The only reason I don't give a five star, (would have given 4 1/2 though), is that the hotel is perhaps just a bit quiet side and we like a bit of ambiance, (we went mid-October). We loved the little details which make it a stand out hotel, flowers, nice linen, Bulgari soaps, great books in the lobby etc. The location although not within the walls is located right next to the old town and easy to find. Definetely a great hotel to stay in.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had a very nice stay at the Rector. The rooms were very nice, clean, good bed and nice shower, with a very nice location. Staff were friendly. It has a key amenity, parking (at least it was key for us) but they have only 4 spots, you need to book it in advance. Didn’t love the view of the inside courtyard/window well, my wife in particular prefers exterior rooms with more feeling of space.

Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the wall/cathedral.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vale do Lobo, Portugal
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

What a wonderful welcome we had from the Receptionist she helped us with directions from the map she gave us, to taking our luggage to our room. Which was bright and nicely decorated very comfy beds and a lovely clean bathroom. The hotel was quite small but charming, lovely breakfast each morning. The hotel was just out side the city wall, very easy to walk into the town. Well worth staying at this charming hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Fantastic experience. It was like to be in a friend´s house with a very attenctive and efficient but unobtrusive staff. Salamanca is an extraordinary city and to stay in this hotel is the perfect complement to a memorable trip. I do recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Rector? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rector

Address: Paseo Rector Esperabe, 10, 37008 Salamanca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Salamanca > Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Salamanca
#1 Romantic Hotel in Salamanca
#1 Luxury Hotel in Salamanca
#4 Business Hotel in Salamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Rector 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Escapio, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Rector reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rector Hotel Salamanca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Rector, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.