We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Abba Fonseca Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Abba Fonseca Hotel to your Saves list
Abba Fonseca Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza San Blas 2, 37007 Salamanca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 70 Hotels in Salamanca
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Location!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Very good location within the city walls, walking distance to the main tourist attractions, nice views of the cathedral and the university. It's anti-boutique: large, old-looking, unsmiling staff. Breakfast was okay but not included in the rate. Parking a bit expensive. Large room, good beds. Air conditioning not working properly and a bad smell coming from the bathroom. Free wifi in the room but the signal wasn't strong enough for an IPhone. A bit pricey for what it offered.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    149
    37
    2
    5
See reviews for
47
156
8
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ellsworth, Maine, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I enjoyed my first visit to Salamanca while staying at the Abba Fonseca. The front desk and restaurant staff were very helpful and made my stay very pleasant. The room was large with views of the cathedral, especially lovely at night. The hotel was quiet. Breakfast was extensive. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Just, Rhone-Alpes, France
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Beautiful hotel, near from the beautiful center of Salamanca. Chamber well organised, with good sonority. The breakfast is fresh and delicious. The service is of high quality, with Internet access by wifi. Sure, I will go back !

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MT
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

A short walk to the Plaza Mayor, cathedral and other top tourist sights, the Abba Fonseca is a comfortable, quiet hotel. My room on the second floor had great views of the cathedral and old part of the city, especially beautiful when everything is lit up at night. (I gather rooms on the first floor are too low to see over the adjacent building(s), and interior rooms obviously don't have a view. I'm not sure what is in the view from the other side of the hotel but suspect it isn't as good) The room includes a fridge/minibar, blackout curtains, plenty of wardrobe space, an in-room safe, comfortable beds, and an above average selection of toiletries. The fitness room has a bike and a treadmill as well as some weights, but I was lucky to not run into more than one other person using it when I went up. There is also a jacuzzi and sauna that I did not use. You have to get a new card key to access the facilities each day, which was a little inconvenient. The staff are friendly and helpful. The free wifi is OK but the connection was not good enough for me to be able to access a couple of more "secure" sites (although I was able to connect to them using the computer in the lobby and may have been able to do so from my room if I'd been willing to pay extra for the more secure/faster wifi service). You have to get a new username and password from the front desk every 24h; again, a little inconvenient. Breakfast was included and it was a lovely buffet with dry cereal, fresh fruit, yogurt, meats, eggs, pastries, etc. as well as a variety of juices, water, coffee, tea, hot cocoa, etc. Overall, I highly recommend the Abba Fonseca.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor, facing the cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
308 reviews 308 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
257 helpful votes 257 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed here for four nights during our trip to Salamanca. It's an easy 15 minute walk from the bus station, although it's the other side of the town from the train station.

We were tremendously pleased to discover that our room (212) was a corner room facing the best views in Salamanca - looking right over to the Pontifical University and the Cathedral. Immediately in front of us was another old church, complete with stork nest and to the other side was the Abba Fonseca College. It really did seem like the best possible collection of views, especially at night, when the university and the cathedral are light up.

The room itself was huge, with a big bed, separate table and chairs, desk and endless windows. There was a small hall, where the wardrobe abd bathroom were located. It's one of the biggest rooms we ever stayed it.

The whole arrangement were very comfortable. The location was nice and quiet, but with a few shops and restaurants on the Paseo San Vicente, the Avenida Filiberto Villalobos (a really good bakery there) and a Dia supermarket on Calle Velles. Very handy if you wanted somewhere away from the main tourist areas in town.

You had to get a code every 24 hours for the wifi, which was pain, but it worked fine. The staff were friendly enough and there's a small tourist desk in the foyer too. All said, this was a great hotel, great location, very comfortable and an excellent bargain at the price. We didn't have breakfast, but they did seem to do a menu del dia too. It's an easy walk by several routes to all the main sights and you have the benefit of the proximity without the noise. Definitely happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: Try for a corner room on the second or third floors facing the town. 212, 312 would be ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed here for three nights during our stay in Salamanca. We choose the hotel due to its proximity to all the sightseeing we wanted to do and were not disappointed with the location. The hotel did have on site parking - a bit tricky to find but once found it is secure. The hotel has a modern feel to it, a little souless but it is clean and the rooms were comfortable. We stayed on a B & B basis. The buffet breakfast had the usual ham, cheese, cooked eggs, bacon together with a varied selection of pastries and fruit. The bar area always seemed to be empty, we had a drink there one evening only for the bar steward to start clearing up at around eleven we got the impression he wanted us to leave so we did.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My partner is severely disabled - no use of legs - so although we booked for 4 nights, due to a communications rift regarding the meaning of "wheelchair accessible" we only stayed for a single night. According to the hotel, wheelchair accessible means that they have a lift and doors wide enough for a wheelchair to negotiate (just!). According to us, wheelchair accessible means being able to get into, or near a shower on level ground and get ones wheelchair foot rests far enough under a sink to clean teeth etc. It also means having a lavatory with arm supports on both sides, not just on the side with a wall just 4 inches from the arm support but no support at all on the other side so that a severely disabled person has great difficulty getting on the loo and has to be held whilst using it. Furthermore, there isn't a single room in the hotel with a shower stall and chair. Every room has a bath with a shower attachment which is inaccessible to a paraplegic, without a hoist - which the hotel does not possess and which apparently cannot be hired. That having been said, the hotel staff - front of house personnel Francisco and Xavier in particular - were helpful above and beyond the call of duty. They researched a suitable room in another hotel, sorted out the booking at no extra cost to us and arranged the transfer. The city's architecture and historic centre is absolutely captivating and the hotel is admirably placed within easy walking, (or pushing!), distance. We also found Salamancans generally to be friendly and eager to share their city's rich history. The room we had for our single night was comfortable and spacious and would have been more than adequate for able-bodied visitors. In the hotel's own feedback, I described the breakfast as "very poor by international hotel standards" - I now regret not adding the caveat "but absolutely magnificent by local hotel standards". It is still overpriced and limited in scope, and there are many cafes within a minute or two which will provide much more reasonably priced and palatable fare. Internet access, whilst free, was a bit of a chore to connect and severely limited as to data transfer limits.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Abba Fonseca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abba Fonseca Hotel

Address: Plaza San Blas 2, 37007 Salamanca, Spain
Location: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Salamanca > Salamanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Salamanca
#7 Luxury Hotel in Salamanca
#8 Romantic Hotel in Salamanca
#9 Family Hotel in Salamanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Abba Fonseca Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historic centre of this city, Abba Fonseca is a contemporary-style hotel with an old stone façade, providing spacious and cheerful bedrooms. Providing views of the magnificent cathedral in Salamanca, this is the perfect hotel from which to admire this historical city. With an on-site gym, in Abba Fonseca you can get active in this hotel. After some exercise you can unwind in the small spa facility, with sauna and hot tub. Return to the hotel in the evening for a light snack or a 3-course meal with friends or colleagues. Then head to the bar, terrace or café for a drink and a chat. Parking is available on site for an additional cost. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Abba Fonseca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abba Fonseca Salamanca
Hotel Abba Fonseca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abba Fonseca Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.